Show ratings & reviews for

4.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

19 People found this comment helpful

I have been on so so so many different meds for my anxiety and ocd. Never has anything worked for me like this medication. 7.5 mg and it works so very well with absolutely no side effects. I cannot say enough good things about this med. No feeling like you are spaced out, no headaches, sick stomach, feeling dizzy...... It just plain works. I am so thankful for this med... Thank You Lord!

Most voted negative review

4 People found this comment helpful

The following day I experience crying and deep depression,it is not a drug for me I have a very sensitive nervous system an I have to be careful with what I take. I'm glad it works for others, but it is on a list of 34 medications that I can not take.

Shared reviews and ratings

Arthur Liccione | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
8/11/2021
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken anti anxiety medications for 30 years. 10 mg valium, 3 mg Xanax, 2 mg Ativan. The most effective for me has been tranxene 15 mg twice a day. NO SIDE EFFECTS. This is an older medication and few doctors will prescribe it. A shame because it works.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
rosie the riveter | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
11/26/2019
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My mother took this at 7.5 milligrams every night for almost ten years. She began the medication at about 80 years old (tip top mental condition) At 89 she abrutly developed severe tardive dyskinesia and memory loss. It has been a nightmare. Be warned

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tina | 55-64 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
5/11/2017
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take 3.75 mg twice daily but it has not done much for my anxiety. It takes too long to act. Xanax worked much better for my anxiety and especially my panic attacks. I took Xanax for about 18 years

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Patient1234 | 65-74 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
3/25/2016
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am 68. I have life-long GAD and treatment resistant dysthymia. I have taken this drug for 5 years, sometimes routinely each day, much more often only at need, and always at modest doses (3.75 to 11.25 mg 1 time per day is typical), I do not currently take it every day. I have never become addicted, and I have never needed increased dose to produce the same effect. This is a miracle drug for me. It reduces both anxiety and its concomitant depression. At the higher dose, taken regularly, it does exacerbate my essential tremor slightly, slightly impacts my balance, and may very mildly impact my cognition. For those reasons I do not take it continuously. These side effects disappear when I discontinue use. In 40 years of treatment I have taken almost every anti-depressant, with and without adjunctive meds. None has ever been effective, and all have had hard-to-bear side effects. Everyone has different reactions to meds, and everyone has different propensity for addiction. Talk to your doctor if you have a similar profile.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
AuntMimi | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
10/26/2015
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been more than satisfied with this medication. I take it with Mitazaprin for depression and anxiety. I thought I was going to go crazy as they tried out different meds on me, like, Xanax, Librium and valium to name a few. They started me on this at a low dose and gradually increased it until ALL my anxiety is GONE. Like the one reviewer said, like magic. I am thankful to the Lord everyday for it. Other drugs in this class, especially the newer ones seems to make me more nervous. I'm glad it's an old and established drug. Also, I've had no side effects from tranxene. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ScottDawg | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/31/2015
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is THE miracle drug for so many, I'm not sure why it isn't better known. After a BAD experience with both Xanax and Klonopin (neither did a thing for me and Xanax made things worse) I asked to try this drug. Within 2 weeks, TWO YEARS of high anxiety (PTSD levels) and insomnia had melted away. NEVER any desire to up my dosage from 15mg due to the long half-life, and in fact after a year on it I've reduced my dosage to 3.75mg nightly. It leaves you so calm and peaceful - even things that used to bring normal anxiety are easy-peasy. Truly a miracle - and I've had zero side effects.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/18/2015
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug is OLD. It should be cheaper. Shame on drug companies.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Barb | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/18/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

When I was in my 30's, my children were small, my husband was raging all the time, cows getting in the garden, etc. I was very stressed out. A friend gave me a few sample pills and they were wonderful. The effects of one pill lasted two or three days, I totally chilled out. Nothing bothered me. Kids, cows, husband, no problem. Made life happier and bearable. I asked to try Tranxene on my elderly mother, who has always been unhappy and "difficult". She has some ill health and dementia. I thought Tranxene might make her less resistant to things that need to be done. Haven't had any luck getting any, so far. Guess if I were a dope head, I wouldn't have trouble getting anything. Shame. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
1/31/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am very, very, sensitive to all medications. But, Thank You God.... This one works. I have ocd and gad and nothing, but nothing, works like this drug. I am so thankful. It does not make my head hurt, or I don't get dizzy, or my stomach does not hurt, I don't feel spaced out... IT JUST PLAIN AND SIMPLE, WORKS !!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
koalablue | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
8/15/2014
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It is the best drug my PTST-anxiety. I have been on it for 20 years. I have never had to increase my dosage.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
5/15/2014
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on so so so many different meds for my anxiety and ocd. Never has anything worked for me like this medication. 7.5 mg and it works so very well with absolutely no side effects. I cannot say enough good things about this med. No feeling like you are spaced out, no headaches, sick stomach, feeling dizzy...... It just plain works. I am so thankful for this med... Thank You Lord!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | Patient
4/1/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

anxiety

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
charles | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
12/2/2013
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

works well have taken it over 30 years 2 to 3 a day.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Grateful Patient | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/6/2013
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am a 65-yo female with life-long GAD and depression ranging from mild to severe. No antidepressant or combination of medications significantly impacted these conditions until my psychiatrist (with whom I had already worked for over 3 years in a 40-yr history of treatment and meds trials) prescribed Tranxene 7.5 mg 3x/day for unusually extreme situational anxiety. We tried non-generic Tranxene because it's 1 of only 2 anxiolytics without corn (I'm corn intolerant). It worked within days to resolve the situational anxiety and has significantly reduced my long-term GAD and depression. I have taken 3.25 to 10.75 mg 1 to 3x/day depending on my psychological status for more than 2 years. I have never needed to increase the original dosage, and most frequently take 7.5 mg 2x/day. I experience very mild increases in essential tremors and word-finding at the higher/more frequent dose, so I work to keep the dose low. Fortunately my insurer (FedBlue) covers the Rx (quoted at $450/mo sans insurance). Tranxene is a miracle for me; my doctor says the experience has made him reconsider his attitude about the early benzodiazepenes. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ms.me | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
1/16/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug is the ONLY drug that I am not afraid to take. I am deathly afraid of medication. This drug is like a miracle for me. I have been on it for yrs. My ocd and generalized anxiety are under control. No side effects, no zoned out feelings.... It works !!!! I thank God every day.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
candy | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
9/4/2012
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I been on tranxene 7.5mg for 35 years,this is the only medication.I very satisfied with it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lyndal | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/9/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am a recovering alcoholic. I was given this medicine in rehab. My findings were, blurred vision, trouble waking sometimes, dizziness. The positive side effect is it helps with sleep. Once I fall asleep on this medicne, I sleep completely through the night. I have been taking this med on and off for over a month.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
maximus640 | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/2/2012
Condition: Epileptic Seizure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a head injury during basic training 1972, after completing my military service during the Viet Nam War 6 months after my discharge I began to have seizures for no reason, I was told I had epilepsy but we recently found out that my head injury might have been a consussion and I had returned to duty too soon. I have been on dilantin since and tranxene which helps greatly, especially when I feel a seizure comming on sometimes I can take tranxene and ward off the seizure. Lately I have been on atavin but it doesn't work as well for seizures.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
9/7/2011
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
2brn2b | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/28/2011
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was on 3.75 MG for mild anxitey and to help lower blood pressure. After 3 0r 4 days I began to feel depressed and sad this was followed by days of crying jags as though the worst thing in the world had happened. It took three weeks before my son suggested he noticed the change beginning after I had started the medication. Discussed with my dr., he said this is an unusual, but reported side effect for some. Quit medication have slowly returned to my "normal" anxious state.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More