Show ratings & reviews for

3.2 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

20 People found this comment helpful

This drug was great at preventing the motion sickness however the side effects that my wife had isn't worth using it again. She has been off the drug for 7 days now and continues to experience nausea, headaches and a slight dizzyness, which she completely avoided on the cruise?. She hasn't felt good since we came off the cruise.

Most voted negative review

6 People found this comment helpful

Horrible, horrible drug. Took it for a cruise.started getting dizzy after removal the day after removing patch. Have been dizzy, nauseous and vomiting , blurry vision for 6days now. Feel awful. Went to dr. but he said he had never heard of anyone getting these symptoms. I hope this goes away soon. Don't know what to do. Please everybody stay away from this drug.

Shared reviews and ratings

BAD EXPERIENCE | 75 or over | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/11/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

80 year old female was given this for vertigo, after 23 days on the patch after experiencing dryness I took it off.... I have been nauseous and confused EVERY morning... somebody please tell me how long these symptoms going to last ? I DO NOT WANT TO SEE THIS MEDICINE ANYMORE !!! Bad experience and still going through ... please don’t take it!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
RobS | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/5/2021
Condition: Motion Sickness
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

If I could rate this stuff 20 stars, I would!!! My wife and I both are very susceptible to sea sickness and we like to scuba dive from boats. Historically, we would tough it out, or just give up and have them take us back to shore if the water wasn't glass smooth. Dramamine/Bonine helped, but after three or four of them, if we managed to stay awake, we wished we were asleep and it was just a bad dream...didn't do much for us. Recently we spoke with our doctor about it and he recommended Scopolamine, so we tried it. We put the patch on in the morning and went on an afternoon and night dive. In Hawaii at the time they were experiencing what the news called "the surge of the decade"...10 foot plus swells. 50' surf at Pipeline, it was impressive! The boat was mid-sized about 30'-40' and was bobbing around pretty good. Neither my wife or I felt any motion sickness at all. None. We were incredulous. After the first dive they gave us snacks...we were hungry and ate the sandwiches. Historically, if we were managing to hang on to this point, there's no way we would have eaten anything without sending it over the leeward side almost immediately. After the second dive, the swells were really strong and you had to hang on to something to not get pitched overboard. I could feel the motion at this point, but not enough to even concern me the slightest. There were a couple side effects worth mentioning, though it would not deter me from using it every time we go out on a boat. The most noticeable for both of us was a dry mouth. Really dry mouth, but we just kept sipping water frequently and it was completely manageable. The other side effect I felt was being a bit loopy. It too was completely manageable. I was cognizant of the effect and it did not deter me from diving, or driving a vehicle, because I did not deem it to be enough to be concerned about. If you're prone to motion sickness...this is the solution!!!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MJasyd | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/6/2020
Condition: Prevention of Motion Sickness
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

These things are awesome, my doctor gave me a script prior to going on a cruise since I tend to get motion sickness. The first night of the cruise the people I was with mentioned how rough the sea had been and I had no idea. These worked a charm. No nausea or side effects worth discontinuing.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kjo | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/9/2020
Condition: Prevent Nausea and Vomiting After Surgery
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I vomited 5 times post surgery, DID NOT WORK

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Maggie | 19-24 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/13/2020
Condition: Motion Sickness
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I tried the patch out for the first time on the water to prevent motion sickness. While it worked in the way that I didn't get sick, I felt a whole lot of other symptoms. For example, Hallucinations, confusion, and delirium were present for 10 straight hours. I was seeing many different colors and things that weren't there. I have never done acid in my life or shrooms but I'd imagine it would feel something like what I experienced with the Scopolamine patch. I was high and very uncomfortable, talking to myself and making comments to people who weren't actually talking to me. I found it very hard to concentrate and my vision was completely blurred. I am a SCUBA diver and I am so glad this didn't happen while I was 100 ft down because the effects could have been potentially fatal. Overall, I would not recommend this patch for motion sickness because it made me feel paranoid and unsafe. STAY AWAY unless you wanna trip really hard. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
rokn1500 | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
3/29/2020
Condition: Motion Sickness
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

works great. first day, i get dry mouth and feel a little funny. that does away after a first night sleep and this thing works thereafter. i often just use half a patch.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
terry120953 | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/22/2020
Condition: Prevent Nausea and Vomiting After Surgery
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

A week ago I had gallbladder surgery. My 1st surgery in 66 years. I didn't want to wake up sick, so my surgeon suggested scopolamine patch. I also took emend (pill) and zofran in the IV. I read horror stories before the surgery and after. Thank God I felt perfectly fine when I awoke and days later. It did work for me, but...I wore the patch for 68 hrs. The first few days very dry mouth and chapped lips, cleared up immediately after the patch was removed. On the 2nd day, Tues, I could hardly pee and it burned. This went away by Wed. afternoon. Wed. morning the patch was removed, I had warm tingling under the skin of my right arm, blurred vision that came on Tues night, left by Thurs, back on Friday afternoon, by Friday night it was gone again. I had a 'less common' side effect from Mon night till last night which was the entire bottom of my left foot (same side as the patch) was numb, felt like neuropathy. This was gone late last night, Saturday. From Tues till Thurs I was a little lightheaded and wasn't walking too good, along with confusion. I think I would have done ok with the Emend and Zofran. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/15/2020
Condition: Prevent Nausea and Vomiting After Surgery
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed a patch to use the night before my surgery, as I usually throw up quite a bit. I put the patch on the night before my surgery, as directed. The next morning, I felt dizzy, and was unbalanced, bumping into walls, and almost slipping on our stairs. Even standing still I would lose my balance. My vision also became blurry - I could not read papers or anything close up. After calling a nurse in the morning, I decided to take the patch off. I will never use this patch again. I was told is was safe, and that it is even used on children. This proved not to be true. I shudder to think this is used on children. I think I would rather throw up at surgery than go through these awful side-effects. I do not feel this drug is safe. My vision is still blurry, and I hope it comes back soon.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/24/2019
Condition: Motion Sickness
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I went on a 7 day cruise and am prone to motion sickness so used the patch as directed. By the middle of the week I had an extremely dry mouth, blurred vision/large pupils and worst of all could not even hold a cup of water in my hand. I also did not feel like myself. After removing the patch I felt nauseous and like I was in another world. In addition, I am extremely fatigued and keep feeling like my body is moving in different directions while sitting. Oddly, if I move around I feel slightly better. It has been almost a week and I am really hoping I can feel like myself sometime soon.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month |
5/19/2019
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a scary and miserable experience on the scopolamine.. I wasnâ??t prepared how strong he affects could be. I woke up with an extremely dry mouth and feeling really dizzy slurred speech and blurred vision.. didnâ??t know what hit me...I took it off itâ??s now 48 hrs later and my vision is still blurry.... itâ??s frustrating and scary . I really hope to get back to myself soon

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month |
5/19/2019
Condition: Motion Sickness
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a scary and miserable experience on the scopolamine.. I wasnâ??t prepared how strong he affects could be. I woke up with an extremely dry mouth and feeling really dizzy slurred speech and blurred vision.. didnâ??t know what hit me...I took it off itâ??s now 48 hrs later and my vision is still blurry.... itâ??s frustrating and scary . I really hope to get back to myself soon

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kacee | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/19/2018
Condition: Prevention of Motion Sickness
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have used this patch 3 times. First was at an amusement park. I was able to go to the swirly rides with no sickness. Second was for the same reason. 3rd was for a boat trip. It worked wonderfully. That boat was rocking like crazy and I did not feel any ill effects at all!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/28/2018
Condition: Motion Sickness
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have used this patch on four different occasions for motion sickness related to flying as well as car travel while winding around mountains. Although I was not motion sick, I had EXTREME dry mouth, migraine style headache and blurred vision due to pupil dilation in one eye. The first time I used it, the dry mouth was the only side effect until I removed the patch. After the removal I thought I caught the flu from my daughter but it was actually side effects from the patch. The second use was when the pupil enlargedment happend. The third and fourth time I experienced all the side effects during the use as well as all of them after. I know it sounds dumb to keep using the patches even with experiencing the side effects, but Iâ??m the only person in our family (10 other people) that gets motion sick and no other medication has worked for me. So, if I want to fly for family vacation I had to use something. With that being said- I am researching different options. This last experience did me in and I donâ??t plan on using the patches ever again. Even if that means I drive three days and meet my family at the airport when they arrive. I am a large woman, 6 feet tall 220 lbs so I would use extreme caution if you are a smaller person. Itâ??s good to know Iâ??m not the only person who has experienced these side effects. I was beginning to think I was just crazy! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mv | 25-34 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/23/2017
Condition: Motion Sickness
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have use the patch a few times over the last few years when I traveled. I felt this was the best medication since it prevented all the typical nausea and vomiting from motion sickness and i had no side effects. That is until this last time. The day after applying the patch I noticed slight vision changes but didnt associate it with the patch so left it on. after having it on 2.5 days one of my pupils were largely dilated and everything within arms reach was a solid blur. I took the patch off and slowly my vision has come back. It has been 3 weeks since I used the patch and today is the first day I feel im back to my normal vision. I love the effectiveness of the patch but scared to ever try it again.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/21/2016
Condition: Prevention of Motion Sickness
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

While on a 7 day cruise and flying. The path worked great. Upon my return and removing the patch, i've felt several bouts of nausea during the last few days (4 so far). I've used this patch in the past and had no after affects such as these before.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/25/2016
Condition: Prevention of Motion Sickness
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had not tried the patch before and heard mixed reviews, but I thought since I get sea sick so easily and I dive, I would give it a try. I put it on the night before the dive just to see how I felt, hoping I wouldn't experience the side effects others have talked about. When I got up the next morning I was so disoriented I had to hold onto things to walk around. I immediately took the patch off since I couldn't dive like that. It took several hours for the unsteadiness to go away. It also caused my hands to shake and my pupils to dilate which made it hard to see things closely. I also experienced a short time of nausea as well as a headache after I removed the patch. It also acted as a diuretic as I was in the bathroom urinating ever 5 minutes. I really wanted it to work, but I guess I will stick with Bonine and ginger cookies. I can't say anything about the effectiveness, since I took it off so soon, but I cannot imagine it would have worked on a boat if it already caused me to feel ill. Maybe cutting it in half to reduce the dosage might work, but I am not willing to give it a try again.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
2/3/2016
Condition: Prevention of Motion Sickness
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have used it for two cruises maybe three and it has worked great for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MT Girl | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/21/2016
Condition: Motion Sickness
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took this while on a 7 night cruise. I had extreme dry mouth, I couldn't read anything, and was disoriented. Once I stopped the medication, my vision returned to normal, but I was still feeling strange. Hopefully, I will feel better in a day or two.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mk | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/1/2015
Condition: Motion Sickness
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used this patch for a cruise with my two daughters last weekend. My friends had used it and said it was effective for sea sickness. I was effective for seas sickness but I was completely high and had every side effect during the cruise (except for hallucinations but I did think that people looked very familiar...like I would say to myself...oh there is so and so, but quickly realizing it wasn't them, it was very weird), but even with the side effects I kept it on for we had rough seas and thought since they were listed side effects I would be fine and I was able to enjoy the cruise, I was just very high the entire time. I took the patch off when we got back to port and prior to heading off ship. Within 1-2 hours I was very ill and I am still very ill over a week later. I have really bad dizziness and cannot get out of bed. I have visited my doctor and an ENT and have been told that I have had a reaction to this patch and the ENT said that this medicine is a very strong and serious medication and I probably should not have been using it. ENT said to be extremely careful with this medication. I am worried that I might never be right from this medication. ENT told me I would eventually get better and back to normal. My reaction from this patch after taking it off has been very scary and continual. I would never recommend anyone to use this patch. And I would never, ever consider putting it on a child. Please be very careful if you do decide to use this medication. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Milrae | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/29/2015
Condition: Motion Sickness
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Used this med for the third time. this time was for cruise. I did not have any motion sickness till 5th day. put fresh patch on and it went away. HOWEVER, I had a night of very odd behavior! Sleep walking, talking crazy, up and down out of bed according to my husband. I don't remember a thing! I'm not sure if the patch led to some of this behavior or not. I have no other explanation! Would like to know if anyone else has had this happen!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More