Show ratings & reviews for

3.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

52 People found this comment helpful

I have a hiatal hernia which lead to esophagitis. I seemed to have a remission for about a year when I started drinking aloe vera juice (look in this, it helps acid reflux) but I have a bit of a return of my acid symptoms so I'm back on this medicine which has worked pretty well in the past. Chest bloating, mild chest pain. A little tip to save money, get the cheaper pill form and a pill crushe...

Most voted negative review

6 People found this comment helpful

just started taking it

Shared reviews and ratings

Huriye | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/22/2020
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve so far never been disappointed by this. Without this medicine, I’d be going very frequently to the hospital for the very severe stomach burning pains I would get. Now with this, whenever that stomach pain starts up again, I take 10 to 11 ml of this and I feel 100% better after a full 10 minutes. No other medicine has ever been able to help my stomach like that, nor has any diet. This is truly an absolute necessity for me. I highly highly recommend this to anyone who’s tried everything and still continues to suffer badly from stomach burning due to ibs,gastritis, gerd, or an ulcer (I have all except the ulcer) and it’s been an absolute miracleRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ratzzz68 | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/24/2019
Condition: Inflammation of Esophagus from Backflow of Stomach Acid
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The oral suspension form of Carafate is crazy expensive. $740 for a one month prescription. My doctor suggested crushing the tabs and making my on slurry... I found that the tabs would dissolve in less than a minute and could be mixed with 1/2 teaspoon of water. Later I found that instead of using water I used Strawberry Watermelon Gatorade (1/2 teaspoon) and it tasted just like the expensive oral version samples my doctor had given me. That saved me $700 a month lol. Tabs were only $40 for 120 (4 a day X 30).Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dawn | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/31/2019
Condition: Medication Treatment for Healing Stomach Ulcer
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Sucrafate has been a life changing affect with my stomach problems. The taste is bland and easy to dissolve on your tongue, especially when I am having an urgency of stomach pain on the go, without water; I pop the sucarafate right into my mouth and in minutes I feel so much better. Thank you Carafate.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Teremei | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/26/2019
Condition: Inflammation of Esophagus from Backflow of Stomach Acid
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have Hiatal hernia which is a limp flap that bloks acid from going up the esophagus. My Reflux has been pretty well managed with anxiety treatment and diet. However my reflux has been acting up because of my bad eating habits lately to where my breathing feels kind of restricted and uncomfortable. I am almost certain it is because reflux. Any way I just started carafate. Just 1 pill and I already feel a mild improvement. This pill is said to be for ulcers. But it can really be good for acid reflux flair ups too. If you have any mild breathing problems. After eliminating more serious problems, ask your doctor about acid reflux and if carafate might help you. I did for meRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Artha | 25-34 | Female | Patient
3/26/2019
Condition: Heartburn
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The difference between how I felt and how I feel now on Carafate is night and day. I haven't had any reflux at all, and I am able to actually eat without feeling sick all the time.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
choosey | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/15/2019
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Prescribed for acid reflux.. I dissolve in a bit of water and swallow and immediately feel like I am going to vomit. It causes bloating and constipation so I am more miserable than I was before starting this med. I am allergic to all proton pump inhibitors so I do not have a lot of options but I cannot tolerate the side effects so I am stopping this medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nachtjager | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/11/2018
Condition: Inflammation of Esophagus from Backflow of Stomach Acid
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have a rotten LES valve/sphincter and also nutcracker esophagus (yes, that's a thing, look it up, I didn't believe them either). Every so often the lower part of my esophagus gets very irritated and spasms, sometimes get small ulcers. This medicine is a Godsend. Works fantastic. Get the pills, let it dissolve on your tongue with a mouthful of water and swallow it down as a powder - coats the esophagus and stomach - almost instant relief. Only side effects are some minor bloating and a bit of constipation sometimes, but WAY better than ulcer or esophagus pain! Great medicine! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/5/2018
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

after 2 doses i had severe hives

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Patient
12/15/2016
Condition: Inflammation of Esophagus from Backflow of Stomach Acid
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

this drug helped more that all the ppi meds I was on

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
so releaved | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/5/2016
Condition: Inflammation of Esophagus from Backflow of Stomach Acid
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have had reflux for years to the point that was hard to swallow. All medications gave me diarrhea. The Carafate is wonderful. No acid no diarrhea.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sharisika | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/29/2016
Condition: Inflammation of Esophagus from Backflow of Stomach Acid
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I eat several small meals a day so having to take this pill 4 times per day on an empty stomach is difficult for me. Also, with GERD you can have swallowing issues. Carafate is a horse pill that swells in mouth and then breaks up. I felt like I was going to choke on this pill before discovering that I can dissolve it in water first and then take it. Please be careful, when swallowing this pill whole. So far, I'm not that impressed with Carafate for the use of heartburn due to hiatal hernia. I'm allergic to PPIs and Pepcid isn't strong enough. I had the neissen surgery, which slipped after only 6 weeks. Feeling very discouraged and feeling like I'm running out of options.I have diverticulosis and can not become constipated. Constipation is one of this medication's side effects.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/3/2015
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have a hiatal hernia and GERD. I also take a PPI but carafate helps when I have breakthrough symptoms. It tastes awful and makes me slightly nauseous, but it's better than the GERD!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ggswoman | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/12/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have esophageal dismotility and food was not going down to my stomach. This happened 5 years after gastric bypass surgery and a battle with GERD untreated for years. It has been my miracle cure. I went from living on tuna, cheese and shakes to eating "normal" food again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Teremei | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/3/2015
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have a hiatal hernia which lead to esophagitis. I seemed to have a remission for about a year when I started drinking aloe vera juice (look in this, it helps acid reflux) but I have a bit of a return of my acid symptoms so I'm back on this medicine which has worked pretty well in the past. Chest bloating, mild chest pain. A little tip to save money, get the cheaper pill form and a pill crusher. It will turn it into powder then just drink it down with some water. It coats the esophagus better that way. And it doesn't taste bad, it just tastes like dry powder, that's all.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dl2015 | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/20/2015
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After taking this medicine for a week, I started having constipation despite Miralax every night, high fiber diet + 8 glasses of water/day. Finally had to quit b/c it "paralyzed" my colon and I was unable to have a bm. It took 3 days of Milk of Magnesia and another week before I was able to go - then developed crampy diarrhea. I will NEVER use Carafate again!!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Hawk12 | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/21/2015
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Marie | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/6/2015
Condition: Heartburn
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medicine makes me sick all the time, I have a hard time eating because of the nausea.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Liz | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
10/13/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had Psoriatic Arthritis since age 28, and my rheumatologist prescribed Carafate after my first year on NSAIDs, which were already irritating my stomach. For 23 years, it has prevented an ulcer. I feel it has done me much good since I've had to take NSAIDs so long in order to walk and work.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ann | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/31/2014
Condition: Medication Treatment for Healing Stomach Ulcer
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My GI Dr. put me on the liquid after she did test & found out I had a stomach ulcer.It worked best,she took me off of it after another test said it was half way healed.Told me to keep taking Dexilant for 2 weeks in the AM & Nexium at Bedtime, then stop Dexilant. This was after 4 weeks.After 2 weeks of doing without it,I started having problems.My regular Dr. put me back on the pills & they are good too.I am supposed to go back to GI doctor the 8th. of September & see what she says.I have a friend that is a nurse & she said she didn't know of anyone that has been put on Carafate,to ever be able to stop it without symptoms coming back. It does work for me,while I am taking it.I do have a hard time keeping up with separating my other from it as far as time.I can't take it with my thyroid med. or a few others.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/23/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The doctor had my try the pill because she believes I have gerd. I was diagnosed with celiac disease in 2005. I have pain in my right side that's why she gave me this pill. This pill gave me severe headache and stomach pain so bad I was sick. I stopped taking it and going to get a second opinion.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More