Show ratings & reviews for

2.9 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

13 People found this comment helpful

Each time I open and use a new vial it seems to soothe my eyes. However, after a week or ten days of use my eyes sting badly for about 10 minutes after inserting the drop. This is happened each time I start a new vial.

Most voted negative review

3 People found this comment helpful

While Latanaprost does decrease eye pressure, I have experienced the side effect of chronic redness of the eyelids and some redness of the sclera of the eye. It is unsighlty, looks to others as if I might have a chronic eye infection. I am surprised that nobody has synthesized something to combine with Latanaprost to reduce eye redness in those who must use it. As one who speaks in public from tim...

Shared reviews and ratings

jmann | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/22/2021
Condition: Wide-Angle Glaucoma
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Side effects are not acceptable. Life it too short. Also tried Timolol which was borderline dangerous - dizzy, headache, strange heart reaction. Timolol is a beta blocker and unsuitable for people with low BP and/or low pulse - I have both. Noxious potions. Seems they all have side effects. Not sure it's worth the problems.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Joe D | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/26/2020
Condition: Increased Pressure in the Eye
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I felt the need to write a review because before I started my drops I researched reviews on side effects and found nothing but mostly negative comments that it almost made me NOT take them. I talked it over with my wife and we decided that by not taking them I was setting myself up for more damage to my eyes than by taking them. I decided to risk the side effects and try them. I have been on them for 6 weeks, 1 drop in each eye at night, and I am very happy to say not a single side effect! I only gave it 3 stars for effectiveness because I am not sure yet, my follow up appointment isn’t for another few weeks. I will update when I get the results of the new pressure readings. I hope this review helps others who are scared away by all the negative reviews!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jon | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/8/2019
Condition: Wide-Angle Glaucoma
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It causes pain above & behind my eyeballs; clouds my vision, impedes focusing; has increased my vitreous floaters, either physically or perceptually. Burns when first applied, causes dry eye, grit feeling & eyelid crust in AM. Lowers IOP well but adverse effects outweigh. I intend to discontinue.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Chiisai | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/7/2019
Condition: Increased Pressure in the Eye
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Sky rocketed my blood pressure 20 points.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sensitive | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/30/2019
Condition: Wide-Angle Glaucoma
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Not sure if medication is working. I have only used it 3 nights, when I awaken I feel extremely dizzy when I wake up. Takes about 5 minutes sitting up before I can walk. I am going to ask pharmacist about this and my primary car provider. I'm not really happy with my opthamologist (sp?)

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mimi | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/31/2019
Condition: Increased Pressure in the Eye
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Severe side effects!!!! When I started taking latanoprost it lowered my eye pressure and so I continued taking the drops. Within one months time I started having heart palpitations and my blood pressure increased by 20 points. I had no idea that eye drops could cause heart problems so I continued on this medication. I was then put on heart medication and ended up at the emergency room and then extensive doctors visits. My pulse even went up to 200. Out of desperation I researched these drops and found out others had heart problems which is when I stopped this medication. I have been off latanoprost for one month now and my pulse and blood pressure are back to normal. This drug was poison to my system, Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Steve | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/25/2019
Condition: Increased Pressure in the Eye
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Initially I had SLT laser and it only worked for a few months. Now on Latanoprost. My current IOP is L:11 and R: 13. No side effects and I rarely miss eye when applying. I have open angle glaucoma.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/10/2019
Condition: Increased Pressure in the Eye
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug works in lowering eye pressure but it has extreme side effects. After using it for 5 months, I experience severe dizziness, vomiting, blurry vision, flu-like symptoms and fast heart beats. I stopped it and all symptoms went away. Not sure if this drug is worth using considering its extreme side effects. At this point, I will rather do an eye surgery instead of going back to this drug. Be careful when using this drug.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Choda | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/16/2019
Condition: Increased Pressure in the Eye
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Lowered my eye pressure in conjunction with 2 other drops. By itself it didn't work. Since I've been using these drops I seem to have more dreams while sleeping. Mostly good dreams.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
FreSpe | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/19/2019
Condition: Increased Pressure in the Eye
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have only used the eye drops a few times. I noticed the vision in my left has has gotten worse. I was able to read without my glasses (average print) after using the drops, my vision decreased dramatically.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Who am I | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
12/30/2018
Condition: Wide-Angle Glaucoma
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Didn’t work until I had laser surgery & now pressure is down. My complaint is the the bottle. When I opened it, it now leaks out when applying to eye.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
frijole40 | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
9/18/2018
Condition: Increased Pressure in the Eye
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this drug for about 6 months. I tried the medication by pulling out the lower eyelid to apply the drops but I found that cumbersome and I missed a lot. I then laid back on a pillow and dripped it straight into the eye and that worked great. I was told to keep the bottles I am not using in the fridge but that it was okay to keep the one I am currently using at room temperature (by the bed). The pressure in my eyes has dropped from 20+ to 16 (+or-). When the drop hits my eye there is a very brief sting (a drop of water would probably do the same). I close my eyes for a few seconds and blot up any extra fluid because of the potential for darkening of the pigmentation and hair growth (lashes). There is one recently observed oddity. I doze sometime in the evening while watching TV, when I attempt to open my eyes the upper eyelid requires 3 or 4 tries be fore it retracts. There is no obvious goo or crusty stuff it just seems to not work for a bit. I have used my fingers on occasion to open my eyes. I am going to ask the doctor if I should be concerned.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mike C | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/14/2018
Condition: Increased Pressure in the Eye
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have has lowered eye pressures in both eyes since taking the eye drops nightly. The prescription is refilled each month which is inconvenient. The drops become a little irritating as toward the end of the month.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
graceylu | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/2/2018
Condition: Increased Pressure in the Eye
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

been taking for three months now - no problems what so ever - some irritation but it goes away - my eyes tear for a bit to but that too goes away. very satisfied with it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Hope | 75 or over | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/30/2018
Condition: Increased Pressure in the Eye
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Use drops in both eyes PM. Has lowered pressure in one but not other (which is high). Multiple side effects: fleeting pain in eyes/head, cough, runny nose, blurred vision at times, sensitivity to light, itchy eye lids, increased lash length (must trim outer lashes), back and muscle aches. However, still have my vision, so will accept the trade-off!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Shay | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/16/2018
Condition: Increased Pressure in the Eye
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Since I been taking this I have had very blood shot eyes and blured vision mostly with lights I have had bad pain off and on I one eye but not the other and ichys eye off and on

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mel | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
3/31/2018
Condition: Increased Pressure in the Eye
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

No problems with it. My pharmacist said it should be kept refrigerated until starting to use it. I noticed that when I go to pick it up, it's taken out of a refrigerator.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/10/2017
Condition: Increased Pressure in the Eye
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Joe | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/5/2017
Condition: Wide-Angle Glaucoma
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Causes chest pain, coughing and mimmick s heart attack. Causes lethargy and depression. Taken for 1 year. Cannot tolerate.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sharij | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/13/2016
Condition: Increased Pressure in the Eye
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Each time I open and use a new vial it seems to soothe my eyes. However, after a week or ten days of use my eyes sting badly for about 10 minutes after inserting the drop. This is happened each time I start a new vial.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More