Show ratings & reviews for

2.9 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

14 People found this comment helpful

Each time I open and use a new vial it seems to soothe my eyes. However, after a week or ten days of use my eyes sting badly for about 10 minutes after inserting the drop. This is happened each time I start a new vial.

Most voted negative review

3 People found this comment helpful

While Latanaprost does decrease eye pressure, I have experienced the side effect of chronic redness of the eyelids and some redness of the sclera of the eye. It is unsighlty, looks to others as if I might have a chronic eye infection. I am surprised that nobody has synthesized something to combine with Latanaprost to reduce eye redness in those who must use it. As one who speaks in public from tim...

Shared reviews and ratings

Glaucomapatient | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
1/24/2023
Condition: Wide-Angle Glaucoma
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've used latanoprost for many years, although just like the person who added a review here a couple of days ago, I picked up a new bottle at the pharmacy and it didn't work AT ALL. My pressure went way up, overnight. Just like the other reviewer, the manufacturer is Greenstone, but I've never had a problem with Greenstone before. However, my doctor saw me quickly and gave me a sample bottle of Vyzulta from his office to try. It works well. Within a few hours my eye pressure was normal and my insurance covers it, no problem.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ervin | 55-64 | Male | Patient
1/22/2023
Condition: Wide-Angle Glaucoma
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Not warned about side effects. Was some itchiness at times. Now i just got prescription renewed for latanaprost and there is eye pressure after taking the prescription just filled. This is something new The brand was also different. It's made by greenstone. I don't understand why brands would be switched and no one says anything to about it

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Wyn Fletcher | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/12/2022
Condition: Increased Pressure in the Eye
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Since using Lantana pros My sight has been worse , i could see the tv screen very well , now i have to have glasses, and the light from outside is worse than ever, I think i am going to stop these drops , as it is making my vision worse.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Patient | 65-74 | Female | Patient
9/13/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have open angle glaucoma. Have taken latanoprost drops nightly for 4 months. Seems to have little effect on pressures. Usually around 16 to 17. But the burning, itchiness and dry eye cannot even be relieved with preservative free artificial tears. My vision is now worse due to swollen corneas than when I started the drops. Had SLT procedure in one eye and will try PF Latanoprost drops in the other. Hoping the corneas will heal.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
For my cat | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Caregiver
6/9/2022
Condition: Increased Pressure in the Eye
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is one of three eye drops prescribed for my cat, but it is the only one bottled with a faulty seal. In other words: With each drop administered, 1 to 2 drops are leaked. So, since starting this medication in 2019, I have lost at least half of eye drops in the bottle. Why is this? Novartis Azopt and Sansoz Ketorolac bottles do not leak.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Marilyn | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
5/4/2022
Condition: Wide-Angle Glaucoma
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Until now! Have been using Bausch and Lomb brand for years. No problems and doing it’s job. This time my prescription was filled with Somerset brand. My eye lids are red, have a very crusty discharge and some blurred vision.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Wanda | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Caregiver
3/7/2022
Condition: Wide-Angle Glaucoma
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

There used to be more in the bottles, now they are are only half full (Somerset Pharma brand). This is a waste of money, bottles should be full.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CAWC915Mom | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/14/2022
Condition: Wide-Angle Glaucoma
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Don't recommend this at all. The doctor that prescribed it to me gave no warnings of potential side effects which I think are highly under reported. Within a few days I started having a runny nose. After 2 weeks that advanced such that I feel like I have a constant head cold. Runny noise, nasal pressure, cough and sore throat. My eye color changed, I have an increased sensitivity to light that I didn't have previously and a constant almost metallic taste in my mouth. I have stopped using these drops 10 days ago but the side effects have not gone away. I read somewhere that they can be permanent, especially the eye color change. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jmann | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/22/2021
Condition: Wide-Angle Glaucoma
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Side effects are not acceptable. Life it too short. Also tried Timolol which was borderline dangerous - dizzy, headache, strange heart reaction. Timolol is a beta blocker and unsuitable for people with low BP and/or low pulse - I have both. Noxious potions. Seems they all have side effects. Not sure it's worth the problems.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Joe D | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/26/2020
Condition: Increased Pressure in the Eye
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I felt the need to write a review because before I started my drops I researched reviews on side effects and found nothing but mostly negative comments that it almost made me NOT take them. I talked it over with my wife and we decided that by not taking them I was setting myself up for more damage to my eyes than by taking them. I decided to risk the side effects and try them. I have been on them for 6 weeks, 1 drop in each eye at night, and I am very happy to say not a single side effect! I only gave it 3 stars for effectiveness because I am not sure yet, my follow up appointment isn’t for another few weeks. I will update when I get the results of the new pressure readings. I hope this review helps others who are scared away by all the negative reviews!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jon | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/8/2019
Condition: Wide-Angle Glaucoma
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It causes pain above & behind my eyeballs; clouds my vision, impedes focusing; has increased my vitreous floaters, either physically or perceptually. Burns when first applied, causes dry eye, grit feeling & eyelid crust in AM. Lowers IOP well but adverse effects outweigh. I intend to discontinue.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Chiisai | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/7/2019
Condition: Increased Pressure in the Eye
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Sky rocketed my blood pressure 20 points.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sensitive | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/30/2019
Condition: Wide-Angle Glaucoma
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Not sure if medication is working. I have only used it 3 nights, when I awaken I feel extremely dizzy when I wake up. Takes about 5 minutes sitting up before I can walk. I am going to ask pharmacist about this and my primary car provider. I'm not really happy with my opthamologist (sp?)

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mimi | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/31/2019
Condition: Increased Pressure in the Eye
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Severe side effects!!!! When I started taking latanoprost it lowered my eye pressure and so I continued taking the drops. Within one months time I started having heart palpitations and my blood pressure increased by 20 points. I had no idea that eye drops could cause heart problems so I continued on this medication. I was then put on heart medication and ended up at the emergency room and then extensive doctors visits. My pulse even went up to 200. Out of desperation I researched these drops and found out others had heart problems which is when I stopped this medication. I have been off latanoprost for one month now and my pulse and blood pressure are back to normal. This drug was poison to my system, Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Steve | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/25/2019
Condition: Increased Pressure in the Eye
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Initially I had SLT laser and it only worked for a few months. Now on Latanoprost. My current IOP is L:11 and R: 13. No side effects and I rarely miss eye when applying. I have open angle glaucoma.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/10/2019
Condition: Increased Pressure in the Eye
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug works in lowering eye pressure but it has extreme side effects. After using it for 5 months, I experience severe dizziness, vomiting, blurry vision, flu-like symptoms and fast heart beats. I stopped it and all symptoms went away. Not sure if this drug is worth using considering its extreme side effects. At this point, I will rather do an eye surgery instead of going back to this drug. Be careful when using this drug.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Choda | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/16/2019
Condition: Increased Pressure in the Eye
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Lowered my eye pressure in conjunction with 2 other drops. By itself it didn't work. Since I've been using these drops I seem to have more dreams while sleeping. Mostly good dreams.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
FreSpe | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/19/2019
Condition: Increased Pressure in the Eye
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have only used the eye drops a few times. I noticed the vision in my left has has gotten worse. I was able to read without my glasses (average print) after using the drops, my vision decreased dramatically.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Who am I | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
12/30/2018
Condition: Wide-Angle Glaucoma
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Didn’t work until I had laser surgery & now pressure is down. My complaint is the the bottle. When I opened it, it now leaks out when applying to eye.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
frijole40 | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
9/18/2018
Condition: Increased Pressure in the Eye
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this drug for about 6 months. I tried the medication by pulling out the lower eyelid to apply the drops but I found that cumbersome and I missed a lot. I then laid back on a pillow and dripped it straight into the eye and that worked great. I was told to keep the bottles I am not using in the fridge but that it was okay to keep the one I am currently using at room temperature (by the bed). The pressure in my eyes has dropped from 20+ to 16 (+or-). When the drop hits my eye there is a very brief sting (a drop of water would probably do the same). I close my eyes for a few seconds and blot up any extra fluid because of the potential for darkening of the pigmentation and hair growth (lashes). There is one recently observed oddity. I doze sometime in the evening while watching TV, when I attempt to open my eyes the upper eyelid requires 3 or 4 tries be fore it retracts. There is no obvious goo or crusty stuff it just seems to not work for a bit. I have used my fingers on occasion to open my eyes. I am going to ask the doctor if I should be concerned.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More