Show ratings & reviews for

4.8 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

29 People found this comment helpful

My son has mastocytosis and was having problems with constipation. When he was put on Gastrocrom, it took less than a week for my son to start going to the bathroom regularly. If he misses a dose, you can tell. I love this stuff! We even use it in lotion (vanicream) to get rid of the itchies caused by mastocytosis and eczema. An often overlooked drug that is still very useful.

Shared reviews and ratings

Minka78 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
1/28/2017
Condition: Allergy to Food that causes Problems of the Stomach or Intestines
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took this until I was booted off my parents insurance 15 years ago. Because is n orphan drug I can't get my insurance to cover it and it isn't cheap!! However, it did exactly what is was supposed to and have me a better amount of relief than taking anihistamines and zantac 150.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Allergies have tried to kill me. | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/23/2017
Condition: Condition of Increased Mast Cells
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Today is only day 3, and I already see and feel better. Hoping to continue on this road. I promise to check back.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BlastX | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/23/2016
Condition: Allergy to Food that causes Problems of the Stomach or Intestines
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

For years I have been unable to eat but just a few foods, and major problems with allergies. Once I started taking this medicine immediate notice of relief of symptoms, and can eat more normal. When I don't take it the problems come back. Could not imagine life without it ever again!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Thankful User | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
4/22/2014
Condition: Condition of Increased Mast Cells
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug is a Godsend. For 5 years I became nauseated within 15 min of rising in the morning. My symptoms mimicked mild to severe motion sickness. Within 30 min of my first dose along with Zantac and Benadryl my symptoms were gone.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dadachip | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
8/2/2013
Condition: Inflammatory Bowel Disease
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Nothing shot of miraculous; My extra-intestinal symptoms of Crohn's disease, (eye inflammations and poly-arthritis just went away!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Idonthaveascreenname | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/9/2013
Condition: Allergy to Food that causes Problems of the Stomach or Intestines
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug ended 5 years of almost continuous GI bleeding within 48 hours. A c-diff infection acquired at an upscale restaurant frequented by medical professionals was difficult to clear and exaggerated an existing tomato intolerance. Each unintended exposure (e.g. Most brand of Tuna now canned with a vegetable broth that includes tomato) would provoke a severe short term reaction (diarrhea, anaphylaxis, urticaria, joint pain) followed by 6-8 weeks of aggressive GI bleeding only controlled by corticosteroids. Bloating and irregular bleeding persisted for over 12 weeks, about as often as unintended exposures. It's not a flavor anyone is going to crave. The flavor is somewhere between low-tide and a salty vegetarian chicken broth. It's not convenient to carry around becuase of the narrow temperature range. Needing to take it 30 minutes before a meal is inconvenient more often than I would have expected. The results have been spectacularly good. Ongoing GI bleeding began to subside with the first dose and stopped completely within 48 hours. Gradual improvement in overall abdominal tenderness and sensitivity noted in the following 4-10 weeks. Greatly diminished severity of the initial reaction to subsequent tomato exposure, and no more of the lingering effects.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
krislovelg | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/21/2012
Condition: Allergy to Food that causes Problems of the Stomach or Intestines
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication worked immediately, versus being diagnosed to take prilosex for acid reflux, which still does not relieve those symptoms.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/27/2012
Condition: Condition of Increased Mast Cells
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Medco sends the exact amount ordered by my Dr and sends partial boxes (in addition to full boxes.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MCADuser | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/11/2011
Condition: Condition of Increased Mast Cells
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Used to treat Mastocytosis, it has abated or eliminated many side effects of the disease I had been struggling with. I was able to gain a level of efficacy very quickly and now enjoy marked improvements in quality of life. Some of these have been in my ability to eat without constant fear of consequences such as vomiting, diarrhea, and food reactions, and a marked return in clarity of thought. The only side effect I consider impactful is headaches but these are far less debilitating than the products ability to manage my symptoms. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mlouk | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/9/2011
Condition: Allergy to Food that causes Problems of the Stomach or Intestines
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This regimen has given me my life back! I suffered for 9 years with chronic nausea and abdominal pain. In the past 6 weeks I've only had two episodes of mild nausea and only treated one. I was sick every day, all day triggered by food sensitivities that I was unaware of and discovered accidently ( ex soy, dairy)

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kellie | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/27/2010
Condition: Allergy to Food that causes Problems of the Stomach or Intestines
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My son is taking this for problems with wheat. He hasn't been on it long enough to tell what the overall results will be, but so far it is making a difference for him. The reason I wanted to post here is because this drug comes in a box of 96 ampules. Because this is an orphan drug and because it is very expensive, I have not been able to find a pharmacy willing to break a box for me. This way I only get 24 days worth even though I pay my full copay. It is worth it to see my son feel better, but I do wish there were other package size options.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mommytoics | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Caregiver
1/3/2010
Condition: Allergy to Food that causes Problems of the Stomach or Intestines
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My son has mastocytosis and was having problems with constipation. When he was put on Gastrocrom, it took less than a week for my son to start going to the bathroom regularly. If he misses a dose, you can tell. I love this stuff! We even use it in lotion (vanicream) to get rid of the itchies caused by mastocytosis and eczema. An often overlooked drug that is still very useful.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
9/9/2009
Condition: Allergy to Food that causes Problems of the Stomach or Intestines
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

gastrocrom has been prescribed fro my 4 y/o son who also has autism and other non-ige mediated food allergies, he has less complaints of tummy aches and it has also decreased his vomiting episodes. this med was prescribed by a pediatric GI

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/27/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i have idiopathic chronic uticaria. i was tired having to be stuck on prednisone everyday. it was making me angry,irratated,i was losing my mind . thank GOD for gastrocrom.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More