Show ratings & reviews for

3.2 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

102 People found this comment helpful

While this drug has eleviated my symptoms very effectively for over 5 years, I believe, I am very concerned with the things that my friends and collegues (many in the medical & health fields) have been saying. For example, taking the medicine usually takes care of the symptoms, but over time, it can cause one's thyroid to almost stop work completely (due to the drug doing all the work for it). Als...

Most voted negative review

10 People found this comment helpful

I HAVE BE ON THESE DRUG FOR A WHOLE NOW IN ALL YEAR AND ALL LIKE THAT RIGHT NOW. IT DIDS NOT WORK FOR ME NOW. IT CALL THE NAME OF THE DRUG LEVOTHROXIE ORAL PILL NOW. I HAVE NOT SLEEP VERY MUCH IT ALL RIGHT NOW. I FEEL WEAK NESS ON SOME DAY TO ALSO NOW. I HAVE NO ENEREY TO WALK IT ALL LIKE THAT RIGHT NOW. I WISH THERE WAS A BETTER PILL THAT WILL WORK WITH FEW SIDE EFFECTS AND ALL LIKE THAT RIGHT NO...

Shared reviews and ratings

Matthew | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/20/2022
Condition: A Progressive Disease of the Thyroid Gland
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was discovered to have a high TSH, and my TPO (autoimmune reaction against thyroid gland) was detected. I was told there is no treatment for hashimoto's, only supplementing with thyroid. My dose began at 75 mcg. Over a few years, my dose has been steadily increased now to 175 mcg. I am concerned that my doctor cares nothing for my thyroid gland withering away. He doesn't believe there is anything under the sun that can reverse the disease. He doesn't believe gluten is relevant, he recommendes no vitamin/mineral supplements, no dietary recommendations. I do sometimes feel rapid heartbeat, my sleep isn't ideal, my energy levels aren't great. When I tell my symptoms to the doctor, he's not interested. But while the symptoms aren't serious, they're there. And he refuses to check my reverse T3, which I've also read can be relevant. Some patients are given T3 supplement in addition to, or as a total replacement, for the T4 (levothyroxine). I was told the generic version contains fillers, including gluten, which is ironic since many say gluten should be avoided entirely for hashimoto's patients.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Danielle | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
9/7/2022
Condition: Underactive Thyroid
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed with low thyroid in dec 2021 they put me on levoxine tablets 75mg worked great for me been doing so well since thyroid levels have significantly improved.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Shannon52 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
8/3/2022
Condition: Enlarged Thyroid Gland
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The efficacy of this drug was less than adequate. My thyroid levels did not get where they needed to be. The side effects of this drug were horrendous, life changing and unbearable. Specifically the hot flashes. I had them 24/7. After 1 years and 6 months of continuous hot flashes, my endocrinologist switched me to synthroid. I am happy to say, I am totally and completely hot flashes free!!! I am hoping with my next set of labs that this drug will effect my thyroid levels and gets them to where they needed to be. My thyroid disorder is hoshimoto thyroiditis.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Laura | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/17/2022
Condition: A Progressive Disease of the Thyroid Gland
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have a long history of medication side effects. Some of them were very serious. So I resist medications until they are absolutely necessary. I am grateful to have started Levothyroxine in January with no side effects. My TSH is now within normal range. Very grateful.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Chloeb | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/3/2022
Condition: Enlarged Thyroid Gland
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been struggling with sublical hypothyroidism for 3 years or so with my TSH gradually rising. I knew something was wrong... I was so bloated, everything swollen all the time, depressed, tired and gradually gaining weight while eating extremely clean and working out 6 days a week. I went from being a college athlete at 155 pounds to 190 pounds in 3 years. No matter what I did, I woke up so tired and SO bloated. I finally went to an endocrinologist a week 1/2 ago and she prescribed me 25 mcg levythyroxine with a TSH at 6.4. I have taken it for 5 days and weighed myself this morning and I weighed 178 pounds. I dropped 12 pounds in 5 days on this medication. It's literally falling off and I feel like an entirely new person. I have energy, I can see my chin and my pants fit. I truly forgot what it felt like to feel normal. I just assumed that I was getting older and my body was changing. I literally cannot wait to wake up and take this medication again. I can't wait to see how I feel in even a week or a month. If you too a struggling, find and endocrinologist that can truly help you because my life has changed. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Karen | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/23/2022
Condition: Decreased Thyroid Function existing from Birth
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had been prescribed this medication for my hypothyroidism. I had been prescribed this medicine before Thanksgiving, but on Jan 1, I decided to make my resolution to take this like I had been prescribed. I had been taking it for 2 mos, but saw no improvement with my condition. About a week ago ,I had started having feeling like I was suffocating, chest pressure, trouble swallowing, could only sleep for about 3 hours a night, high anxiety, no appetite, high blood pressure, crabby, and just plain feeling sick. I had tried to get my Dr. To prescribe an anti anxiety pill, I was feeling so depressed. If this med was to supposed to help me in the long run, it sure feel short. I have been off it for 2 days now, but still am having breathing trouble. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sosickofthis | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/17/2021
Condition: A Progressive Disease of the Thyroid Gland
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

High tsh discovered in hospital during routine blood test.No symptoms. Three years on differing doses and nothing but bad side effects.Anxiety,depression and very shallow sleep .So ready to stop for good and hopefully get back to normal.Told i have hashimotos since then but i dont care. Just want to be myself again!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Andy | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
11/19/2021
Condition: Underactive Thyroid
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed with Hypothyroidism at age 5 and was given medication at age 11 with a start of 88mcg. As a child it was really hard taking the medication but my mom was very consistent in making sure I was on the right track. I don’t recall feeling any different then if I was off it. As I got older that dose was not working anymore and my period was all crazy. I got a new prescription of 100mcg and just this year it stopped working for me and it resulted to Hashimoto Thyroiditis. My new dose is 125mcg and it definitely hasn’t been working for me. I haven’t got my period in over 3 months, I’ve been having muscle ache and weakness, I get extremely tired ( im only 20), I’ve been having mood swings, been constipated, and the list goes on. Im not a big person and I’ve managed to keep my weight stable to about 127-135max (im 4’11). Every body is different and for some people it works just fine and for others your body becomes dependent of the medication. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/15/2021
Condition: Underactive Thyroid
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Excruciating leg cramps.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mercedes | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
10/26/2021
Condition: Underactive Thyroid
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have not had any problems taking this medication. So far so good. My thyroid is under control.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Judie Horhn | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
8/30/2021
Condition: A Progressive Disease of the Thyroid Gland
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My Doc. gave me this medication, my thyroid results was already in the high range,he would increase and decrease. Now I also have all types of problems,brain fog,ECT>....It goes on and on.I dont know what to do.....

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
RBaz | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
8/6/2021
Condition: Underactive Thyroid
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Before taking the generic While on This med for years and going to Mayo Clinic When blood tests came back normal, The endocrinologist insisted The unusual anxiety I was experiencing must be in my head. I began seeing only the PCP there, and over a period of about 18 months my TSH numbers were a roller coaster. I finally decided to clean my system out and only take the generic which is less potent and I am on the lowest dose available. At one point I again became very anxious for no obvious reasons and turned out I was hypothyroid again so I had to increase my dosage slightly. My thyroid has been OK for the last year in normal range I just retired and continue to work out 3 to 5 times a week religiously, incl pilates, cardio and strength training. Over the past year I have gained approximately 15 pounds and regardless of food intake do not lose weight?! In addition I have a gun sweating profusely intermittently as if I’m going through menopause hot flashes recently So when I work out I sweat twice as much. My hydration is fine I drink sufficient amount of water and other non-alcoholic beverages to keep myself hydrated. The fact of the matter is that we are putting drugs into our system and I guess just have to accept that this is how it’s going to be.When I asked PCP that I take the more natural route, she explained there “really was no natural remedy for hypothyroidism, that the Armour Thyroid was certainly not natural!” I’m working with my acupuncturist to see if he can help this situation.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BLU626 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/20/2021
Condition: Underactive Thyroid
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a partial thyroidectomy in 2015 due to a nodule and hyperparathyroidism. I had my last child in 2019 (37 and I am now 39) and I have had all the symptoms of hypothyroidism since. My levels were fine but due to having all the symptoms my endo decided to put me Levothyroxine 25mg. I was so nervous due to reading all the reviews on all the sites. First day - I felt it immediately! A surge of energy. It blew my mind honestly. I couldn't believe how much energy I had. Then I was afraid it would go away lol. I did experience diarrhea as well. Just about every time I ate something but it wasn't nothing to really complain too much about, except that there was No holding it - whatsoever. That did dissipate after 2 weeks. As far as sleep - I still don't sleep deeply. I felt as if I hardly slept at all the first 2 weeks. I take melatonin though so at least I was able to get to sleep lol. I gained 5lbs in the first week of using Levothyroxine. I'm waiting to see if the weight comes off or if gaining will be my curse lol. I'm also waiting to see of I lose my hair. One person commented that taking Levo is much like taking a Hydrocodone lol and I believe the energy feeling is why they said that. I agree. The energy is nice. I wonder if this is how I'm supposed to feel normally?! It also has increased my libido. Sex has been better as in that I am more aroused and made climax easier. Bonus. This is my 3rd week and the only difference I notice is it is harder to get up in the morning. I don't wake with all the energy as though I never even slept as I did the first 2 weeks and my mood swings. One minute I am watching t.v. and fine and the next I am sad or mad. I don't like that. I hope it goes away and I pray I don't get any heavier and lose my hair. I am hoping I am a success story because I do like the way it gives me energy again. Which is the whole reason we started me on it. I hope I was detailed enough. I read hundreds of reviews looking for the best detailsRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Di | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
3/9/2021
Condition: Underactive Thyroid
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking levothyroxine for a long time now, it works so well,I would highly recommend.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tjrefaat | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/22/2021
Condition: A Progressive Disease of the Thyroid Gland
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have Hashimotos. I started on 25 mcg now on 75. When I combined this medication with a eating plan that cuts out all gluten and sugar, the results are outstanding. Hair loss occurring and some leg pain, but it may take time to adjust. Gluten and sugar are major triggers for inflammation pain, weight gain and fatigue when you have thyroid issues. You cannot rely on a pill to do it all.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
2/3/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking Levothyroxine since 2012 we are now in 2021 it makes me feel tired I have weight gain up and down easy and fatigue

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DBR | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/29/2020
Condition: Underactive Thyroid
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I normally use Synthroid but my NP switched without my permission and is based only on TSH test results which is entirely inaccurate. Have been taking Levothyroxine 88mcg for over a month and still gaining weight, retaining water, and fatiqued.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/27/2020
Condition: Underactive Thyroid
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Dry throat/mouth, acne, headaches, low back pain ever since i started this med

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sanberd | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/11/2020
Condition: Underactive Thyroid
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

A feeling of well being, fatigue seems to be leaving, I feel much better when it comes to memory. I also feel sharper like I once was mentally. This has been a blessing so far. Only been on this about 15 days.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years |
4/19/2020
Condition: Underactive Thyroid
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been taking it since I turned 60. It's been working but I notice weight gain.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More