Show ratings & reviews for

3.2 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

102 People found this comment helpful

While this drug has eleviated my symptoms very effectively for over 5 years, I believe, I am very concerned with the things that my friends and collegues (many in the medical & health fields) have been saying. For example, taking the medicine usually takes care of the symptoms, but over time, it can cause one's thyroid to almost stop work completely (due to the drug doing all the work for it). Als...

Most voted negative review

10 People found this comment helpful

I HAVE BE ON THESE DRUG FOR A WHOLE NOW IN ALL YEAR AND ALL LIKE THAT RIGHT NOW. IT DIDS NOT WORK FOR ME NOW. IT CALL THE NAME OF THE DRUG LEVOTHROXIE ORAL PILL NOW. I HAVE NOT SLEEP VERY MUCH IT ALL RIGHT NOW. I FEEL WEAK NESS ON SOME DAY TO ALSO NOW. I HAVE NO ENEREY TO WALK IT ALL LIKE THAT RIGHT NOW. I WISH THERE WAS A BETTER PILL THAT WILL WORK WITH FEW SIDE EFFECTS AND ALL LIKE THAT RIGHT NO...

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/15/2021
Condition: Underactive Thyroid
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Excruciating leg cramps.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mercedes | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
10/26/2021
Condition: Underactive Thyroid
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have not had any problems taking this medication. So far so good. My thyroid is under control.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Judie Horhn | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
8/30/2021
Condition: A Progressive Disease of the Thyroid Gland
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My Doc. gave me this medication, my thyroid results was already in the high range,he would increase and decrease. Now I also have all types of problems,brain fog,ECT>....It goes on and on.I dont know what to do.....

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
RBaz | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
8/6/2021
Condition: Underactive Thyroid
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Before taking the generic While on This med for years and going to Mayo Clinic When blood tests came back normal, The endocrinologist insisted The unusual anxiety I was experiencing must be in my head. I began seeing only the PCP there, and over a period of about 18 months my TSH numbers were a roller coaster. I finally decided to clean my system out and only take the generic which is less potent and I am on the lowest dose available. At one point I again became very anxious for no obvious reasons and turned out I was hypothyroid again so I had to increase my dosage slightly. My thyroid has been OK for the last year in normal range I just retired and continue to work out 3 to 5 times a week religiously, incl pilates, cardio and strength training. Over the past year I have gained approximately 15 pounds and regardless of food intake do not lose weight?! In addition I have a gun sweating profusely intermittently as if I’m going through menopause hot flashes recently So when I work out I sweat twice as much. My hydration is fine I drink sufficient amount of water and other non-alcoholic beverages to keep myself hydrated. The fact of the matter is that we are putting drugs into our system and I guess just have to accept that this is how it’s going to be.When I asked PCP that I take the more natural route, she explained there “really was no natural remedy for hypothyroidism, that the Armour Thyroid was certainly not natural!” I’m working with my acupuncturist to see if he can help this situation.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BLU626 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/20/2021
Condition: Underactive Thyroid
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a partial thyroidectomy in 2015 due to a nodule and hyperparathyroidism. I had my last child in 2019 (37 and I am now 39) and I have had all the symptoms of hypothyroidism since. My levels were fine but due to having all the symptoms my endo decided to put me Levothyroxine 25mg. I was so nervous due to reading all the reviews on all the sites. First day - I felt it immediately! A surge of energy. It blew my mind honestly. I couldn't believe how much energy I had. Then I was afraid it would go away lol. I did experience diarrhea as well. Just about every time I ate something but it wasn't nothing to really complain too much about, except that there was No holding it - whatsoever. That did dissipate after 2 weeks. As far as sleep - I still don't sleep deeply. I felt as if I hardly slept at all the first 2 weeks. I take melatonin though so at least I was able to get to sleep lol. I gained 5lbs in the first week of using Levothyroxine. I'm waiting to see if the weight comes off or if gaining will be my curse lol. I'm also waiting to see of I lose my hair. One person commented that taking Levo is much like taking a Hydrocodone lol and I believe the energy feeling is why they said that. I agree. The energy is nice. I wonder if this is how I'm supposed to feel normally?! It also has increased my libido. Sex has been better as in that I am more aroused and made climax easier. Bonus. This is my 3rd week and the only difference I notice is it is harder to get up in the morning. I don't wake with all the energy as though I never even slept as I did the first 2 weeks and my mood swings. One minute I am watching t.v. and fine and the next I am sad or mad. I don't like that. I hope it goes away and I pray I don't get any heavier and lose my hair. I am hoping I am a success story because I do like the way it gives me energy again. Which is the whole reason we started me on it. I hope I was detailed enough. I read hundreds of reviews looking for the best detailsRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Di | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
3/9/2021
Condition: Underactive Thyroid
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking levothyroxine for a long time now, it works so well,I would highly recommend.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tjrefaat | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/22/2021
Condition: A Progressive Disease of the Thyroid Gland
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have Hashimotos. I started on 25 mcg now on 75. When I combined this medication with a eating plan that cuts out all gluten and sugar, the results are outstanding. Hair loss occurring and some leg pain, but it may take time to adjust. Gluten and sugar are major triggers for inflammation pain, weight gain and fatigue when you have thyroid issues. You cannot rely on a pill to do it all.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
2/3/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking Levothyroxine since 2012 we are now in 2021 it makes me feel tired I have weight gain up and down easy and fatigue

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DBR | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/29/2020
Condition: Underactive Thyroid
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I normally use Synthroid but my NP switched without my permission and is based only on TSH test results which is entirely inaccurate. Have been taking Levothyroxine 88mcg for over a month and still gaining weight, retaining water, and fatiqued.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/27/2020
Condition: Underactive Thyroid
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Dry throat/mouth, acne, headaches, low back pain ever since i started this med

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sanberd | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/11/2020
Condition: Underactive Thyroid
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

A feeling of well being, fatigue seems to be leaving, I feel much better when it comes to memory. I also feel sharper like I once was mentally. This has been a blessing so far. Only been on this about 15 days.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years |
4/19/2020
Condition: Underactive Thyroid
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been taking it since I turned 60. It's been working but I notice weight gain.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Annie G | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
3/15/2020
Condition: Underactive Thyroid
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My doctor keeps lowering the strength of this drug. I was diagnosed as hypothyroid about 35 years ago. He initially took me off it completely and I gained about 50 lbs in 3 months and was totally exhausted. I have lost all my hair but a few wisps. It is devastating! In this rural area there are few competent endocrinologists. I feel like a guinea pig. My dosage went fro 180 mcg to 112 mcg and I have no energy...am very depressed. Annie G.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
janroll45 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/10/2020
Condition: Underactive Thyroid
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

hair loss-weight gain-sore throat-itchy skin-dry mouth-so many things, i suppose i have to wait for it to kick in! had radio iodine treatment twice.. i wait.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Debi Cessna | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
2/3/2020
Condition: Underactive Thyroid
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Gained approx 2-3 lbs a mo since starting Feb 2019. Sept 2019 gained 13 1/2 lbs, very uncomfortable, clothes not fitting, metabolism way off. Hair loss is more than before starting levo, now including length which has dramatically shrunk shortened). More than a few pimples have surfaced in the last year, didn't have this as a teen. From the minute amount of knowledge I've acquired, under the impression thyroid medication can be customized for the T-3

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Annie | 75 or over | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
12/28/2019
Condition: Underactive Thyroid
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My weight is steadily going up. I only eat two small meals a day. My hair is falling out and need to know what to do to stop this.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sara | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/26/2019
Condition: Underactive Thyroid
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had no problems with this med. Changed to oblong shape ane that works well and easier to break in half for proper dosing. Addendum: Initially went hyper before hypo, strong family female genetics for.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kbpensacolabeach | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/2/2019
Condition: Underactive Thyroid
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am having a problem for the first time since the drug changed to a purple pill. Now my mouth is dry, bumps on my tongue, swollen tongue, swollen lips...miserable!Help!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
KD1982 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/20/2019
Condition: Underactive Thyroid
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

YOUR PCP should be referring you to a Endocrinologist. PCP's are not specialized on dosage amount.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gerald | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/15/2019
Condition: Underactive Thyroid
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Since I switched to this oblong violet tablet due to change of manufacture and a different dye according to my pharmacist, I have been having bitter taste and burning sensation in my mouth and lips. Tired a lot more, poor appetite and losing weight. Very low energy and moody and anxiety are new things. I�¢����ve tried chewing sugar free gums, good oral hygiene everyday and pushing lots of water, doing self stress management at home daily but it has not done any good except for taking Benadryl which makes me sleepy but I had to because it makes me not having those awful bitter tastes and moods. My doc put me on this 50 mg synthroid white round pill until I get a new prescription and all the above reactions went away. So I started on this new prescription and round violet pill and guess what, the same problem is coming back. I think whatever dye or ingredients they have in these violet pills may have something to do with it. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More