Show ratings & reviews for

4.1 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

5 People found this comment helpful

since I am on Soc. Sec. Disabilaty and receive barely $1100/mo., I was astonished when even with med. insurance, my pharmacy raised it $22. Why can't you have a generic? Linda

Most voted negative review

1 People found this comment helpful

PLease ignore my efficacy ratings - I am merely on day 2, but I am feeling pretty lousy: nausea, sweats, intermittently clammy and just generally feeling crappy. I want to know if others have had a similar experience and if they have, typically how long does these side effects last? My asthma has decompensated to the point that I am oral & inhaled steroid dependent = miserable. I am pinning...

Shared reviews and ratings

Tennislady | 65-74 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/3/2020
Condition: Late Onset Asthma
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

At age 73, I am able to walk 4 miles a day and play tennis without shortness of breath. Zyflo helps me to breath deeper. Just wish it was less expensive and I get the generic brand.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Niki H | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/16/2014
Condition: Asthma Prevention
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was having a horrible time with my asthma, despite being on symbicort, some other inhaler, and singular. Finally, my allergy/asthma doctor prescribed this as kind of a last resort before having to take asthma shots. Luckily, it has worked wonders. It has helped so much with my asthma. I hardly ever have to use my rescue inhaler or nebulizer anymore and it has even helped with my allergies, too, which was a nice surprise. It's a great med. I do have to go for liver tests every six months, but it's worth it for a med that actually works for my asthma. Now I take it and symbicort and my asthma is very controlled, with only the occasional flare up.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
getnbetr | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/1/2014
Condition: Asthma Prevention
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

When my doctor added this to my regiment it made an amazing difference to my health. I have chemical induced asthma, so this along with the other 3 inhalers and 2 oral medications changed my life. I was taking 4 a day but then started having stomach complications, I felt that there was a correlation between the meds and my stomach issue. I since decreased to two a day and found feeling much better. I have to say that this medicine was the turn around for me and despite the few issues, it is well worth not having continuous asthma attacks over the slightest odor or fume. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bubbaluigi | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/5/2013
Condition: Allergic Asthma
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication has been a life saver. Highly responsive to salycilates I had to use corticoids to control my asthma til I started using Z.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nov | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/19/2013
Condition: Allergic Asthma
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was initially prescribed two pills twice day but now take 1 pill twice daily for my moderately severe asthma. Previously I had been taking Accolate. On Zyflo my lung function has significantly improved, I feel better, more energetic and even my arthritis is better. On Xyflo I don't seem to get as sick with my asthma every time I get a cold or the next pollen season arrives which here in Texas is weekly. Thankfully it is currently covered by our insurance after meeting deductible or I probably would not be able to afford this drug. It is quite expensive and has gone up $$ since I began taking it. However, my health has improved considerably so 8 will continue with it as long as possible.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lash | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/12/2013
Condition: Asthma Prevention
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Severely upset my stomach and my eyes feel like they have sand in them all day long. It has helped my asthma, but I'm not sure it is worth it. I feel lousy all day long on these.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jason | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
8/1/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take Zyflo for chronic sinusitis caused by adult onset allergies --my allergist calls it triad asthma (asthma, nasal polyps, and allergy to NSAIDs). I had three surgeries on my sinuses in 5 years before I found this doctor. He told me he treats this kind of sinusitis as "upper respiratory asthma," and recommended Zyflo. Zyflo isn't "approved" for this treatment, but since chronic sinusitis-ers usually have asthma too. . . It works great. I went from not being able to pass any air through my sinuses to 80-90% clear. No surgeries or polyp growth in 7 years. And my insurance covers it. Tell your doctor that you've tried singulair before and it gave you a skin rash. Your doctor can then get prior authorization because you can't take the cheaper med. Still, I can't wait until the patent runs out and it goes generic. Easy breathing, everyone! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
grambo | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/20/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Raises my pulse rate to way above normal.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jd | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/19/2010
Condition: Late Onset Asthma
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I notice a little dizziness shortly after taking this medication, but is not debilitating and does not linger.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
OldManDave | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/13/2010
Condition: Allergic Asthma
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

PLease ignore my efficacy ratings - I am merely on day 2, but I am feeling pretty lousy: nausea, sweats, intermittently clammy and just generally feeling crappy. I want to know if others have had a similar experience and if they have, typically how long does these side effects last? My asthma has decompensated to the point that I am oral & inhaled steroid dependent = miserable. I am pinning substantial hope on this abyssmally expensive med - >$300/mon AFTER my insurance pays almost $400!!! (at least that is what my pharmacist told me)Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
1/13/2010
Condition: Allergic Asthma
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

since I am on Soc. Sec. Disabilaty and receive barely $1100/mo., I was astonished when even with med. insurance, my pharmacy raised it $22. Why can't you have a generic? Linda

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
KEEVER.KT | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/3/2009
Condition: Late Onset Asthma
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I HAVE COPD, AND THIS MEDICINE HAS MADE SUCH A DIFFERENCE IN THE WAY I FEEL. IT WORKS BETTER THAN ANY OTHER DRUG I'VE USED!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months |
5/16/2008
Condition: Allergic Asthma
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My allergist switched me from Singulair to this drug and it works so much better. I can breathe and no more sinus headaches.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/26/2008
Condition: Late Onset Asthma
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Works along with Singular to control my asthma, but have noticed side effects of yellow eyes, really tired, muscle aches, headaches

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
johninhouston | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/17/2008
Condition: Asthma Prevention
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I can breathe again. So much better than Singlair ever was.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Narat | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/27/2007
Condition: Late Onset Asthma
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I switched from Singulair to Zyflo about a year ago, and I believe the medication is more effective than Singulair. The main problem is that it is hard to take -- I have to take one horse-sized pill every six hours. I often forget to take it, or simply sleep through a dose. The medication is also expensive.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
10/21/2007
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication is horribly expensive! $200 for 30 days!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Debbie | 45-54 | Female | Patient
10/16/2007
Condition: Asthma Prevention
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been able to breathe a lot easier since I started taking this medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
10/4/2007
Condition: Allergic Asthma
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Now that Zyflo CR is out, it should be much easier to use, but I initially had some trouble taking the medication on a regular basis and had side-effects as a result.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Caremme | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/3/2007
Condition: Asthma Prevention
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My pulmonologist switched me from Singular to this medication and it works much better for me. It is slightly cumbersome to remember to take four times a day.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More