Show ratings & reviews for

3.3 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

24 People found this comment helpful

Evens mood very quickly. Easy to take in liquid form. I have not noticed any side effects yet,

Most voted negative review

8 People found this comment helpful

I was mis-diagnosed and Lithium gave me permanent Thyroid disfunction. Don't take it. Now I have to take a daily pill for my thyroid. Lithium is in batteries and is poisonous

Shared reviews and ratings

john | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
4/11/2020
Condition: Rapid Cycle Manic-Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Excellent drug.Has really helped me. i'm sure it has saved my life. Don't give up. Give it a try.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
China blue | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/6/2016
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I can honestly say I would not be alive today without Lithium. I had tried so many meds that didn't work I was considering electroshock therapy. I had tried to commit suicide 3 times. After three days of taking Lithium it was as if I felt a switch turn on in my brain. The depression and endless crying stopped. I'm not saying I don't have days when I struggle. I have plenty. But since taking this drug I have never once had the urge to hurt myself. Attempting suicide feels foreign to me now. I'm not saying Lithium works for everyone. We all react differently to meds. But if you are desperate it might be worth asking your doctor about it.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/9/2013
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was mis-diagnosed and Lithium gave me permanent Thyroid disfunction. Don't take it. Now I have to take a daily pill for my thyroid. Lithium is in batteries and is poisonous

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rev Jim | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
3/18/2013
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on Li for a long time and I don't think i will be here without it. I have tried other medications and nothing has helped. I take 1800mg of the liquid and I will say if i could take more I would but the doc can't give me anymore. It is a wonder drug for me but a poison for others. Try other drugs first but if it works why monkey with it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
pyxiechick | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/2/2012
Condition: Rapid Cycle Manic-Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I only took lithium for 2 weeks before my husband took me the the ER. Unfortunately I don't remember the entire week before going to the ER. He said I was bouncing off the wall - literally, which was evindent by the many bruises I took note of after I had been detoxed. I lost my balance badly one day and fell into the street. All my NP's, RN and CNS's knew this, but didn't connect it with the litium. I was just a tad over the minimum level, but it was toxic to me. I was hospitalized for 3 days for detoxification. If I had been alone I don't see how I would have known that the drug was having that bad of effects for me. Make sure your medical team sees you every week and hopefully they will see the drastic change in your demeaner. Just because you lithium levels aren't outside the range does not mean you are not toxic. I can't even imagine if I had gone driving. It was one of the scariest two weeks of my life. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sherylgoodsell1 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/11/2012
Condition: Rapid Cycle Manic-Depression
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It did nothing to treat my bi-polar, so when it wouldn't alleviate any of my symptoms, I stopped taking. The sever depression pushed me to suicide. I survived double the lethal dose to this medication. They say that it works in 70% of the patients for the treatment of bi-polar, however for the 30% that it doesn't work for will have very, very serious problems.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bamajci | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/6/2012
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Given the appropriate time this drug can " work ".I've been taking it for slightly over two months , so naturally I had my doubts at first. they went away. Lithium works for me. Patience is very important. Watch the your weight while taking this and guys you may want to ask your doctor for a "booster" , taking lithium. it has helped.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/15/2011
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am constantly thristy, drink lots, and go to the bathroom every hour. It has stabilized my phycosis and been working for 9 months now.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
scooby-doo | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
2/17/2011
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

On my way to a mostly normal life!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
10/18/2010
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

it works.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kwl | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
8/4/2010
Condition: Additional Medications to Treat Depression
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

lithium Citrate syp has really helped. My moods are less , and I am calmer. My family has noticed a great difference. I find myself laughing, and that surprized me. The only negitive is every night I have a stomach ache, and diarrhea. I am going to try taking a smaller dose. I also take Welbutrine and have for years. I have been dealing with depression and Anxiety for 18 yrs. Lithium has been a Godsent.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LACali | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/9/2010
Condition: Manic-Depression
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

During my first week of treatment, I had some weird feelings and a ugly taste in my mouth of metal. Then I was sensing shaking of my hands no appetite. I was really thirsty and urinated more than usual. I drank about 12 glasses of water because I didn't want any kidney issues and wanted it out of my system quickly. My psychiatrist was no where to be found to evaluate my blood and adjust it accordingly, so I adjusted it myself and took only 600mg per day rather than 900mg as prescribed. Hopefully it will keep my kidneys and thyroid side effects reduced. I hope it works!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lithium | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
2/22/2010
Condition: Additional Medications to Treat Depression
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Seems to be working quite well. Would thismedication cause blood in the stool?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/22/2009
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i feel something is wrong im more nerves qnd scared

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
pennywinkle | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/15/2009
Condition: Mania associated with Bipolar Disorder
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took Lithium for several years. It had to be combined with another medication to get any effectivness. I took it because the doctor prescribed it. They told me it was safe. I have bloodwork done about every three months. I did everything they told me to. I think it took its toll on my body. I was hospitalized for a psychotic episode. They told me in the Er that I had toxic levels in my system. I had to detox from it. I ended up with hypothyroidism and some kidney problems. It is not worth what it does to your body. There are plenty of better meds with less side effects.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Brooke | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
8/25/2009
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

when taking this medication i became heat sensitive and sweat profusely. When I spent too much time in the heat I became sick with exhaustion. I went through three or four days with no memory to what had occurred in these days.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
steiner | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/25/2009
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i feel worse than i did before. i've never felt so shity.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
12/20/2008
Condition: Manic-Depression
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication works very well when taken as perscribed. You should never drink pomegranite green tea with this medicine, it set off a panic attack in me. If you can handle a horrible taste this medicine is perfect.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/18/2008
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Robin-Jill | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/23/2008
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Evens mood very quickly. Easy to take in liquid form. I have not noticed any side effects yet,

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More