Show ratings & reviews for

2.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

29 People found this comment helpful

I have been taking Marcrobid for years and I do not experience any major side effects. I may occasionally experience softer stools but that's it. Within 12 hours of taking this medication I feel 100%.

Most voted negative review

12 People found this comment helpful

I have been taking Macrobid twice a day with food and water for the past 4 days. Day 1 was okay until the next morning came. I awoke at 4am with severe neck pain (hurt to even scratch my skin), and I know it was not caused by the way I slept. All that aside; I have been so nauseous for days, that eating anything has become difficult due to not having any appetite caused be the horrible side effec...

Shared reviews and ratings

Margaret Brunton | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/28/2022
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Within 4 hours I started feeling sick, on taking second dose I was throwing up within an hour had a pounding headache, felt bone tired and very weak and had completely lost my appetite, by the 3 rd tablet a was sleeping constantly couldn’t stand without some help vomiting pounding headache, shivers and aches all over. Dreadful drug will never take it again, had to stop course half way through

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mccp | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/27/2022
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been prescribed macrobid twice this year for UTI, both prescribed twice daily for five days. The first time was fine. This second round though has been hell. My body hurts, mild chills, and worst of all I’ve had a tension headache/neck ache for 2 days now. My head has been pounding and truly debilitating over our long thanksgiving weekend. I’m also upset bc the doctor I spoke to said that macrobid is not known to cause severe headaches. These reviews made me feel valid. I had one pill left and have decided I won’t be taking it. Never again will I take this. There has to be other options. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Indigo | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/25/2022
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I can't remember what I was prescribed the last time I had a UTI, but I think it worked faster than Macrobid, which is what I was given this time. On the other hand, this is the worst UTI I've ever had (urinating blood) so it's hard to compare. The first day I took this medication, I didn't have any side effects. But by the second day, my stomach was upset and I felt generally nauseous. On the fourth day, some diarrhea. What I've found helps is to eat a big meal right before taking Macrobid. Also sleep and get as much rest as you can. UTI symptoms did not clear up until the third day. On the fourth, there are still some minor lingering symptoms (urgent feeling when I need to pee). If you have sensitive digestion like me, take care when using this. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kath51 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/10/2022
Condition: Infection of the Urinary Tract caused by Enterococcus
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have uti w no symptoms. Found out through routine urine test. Took 1 macrobid 100mg and feel horrendous. Body aches and fever like headache but no fever. My skin hurts to the touch. Dizzy and chilly. The worst antibiotic. It should be banned. I cannot wait for this to wear off.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | Patient
11/7/2022
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Went to the urgent care for a suspected UTI. The NP on hand prescribed Macrobid. I took the first dose at 10am, and the second dose at 10pm. The next morning I woke early (5am) and felt this very odd feeling in my stomach. Not cramps per se, but it was so uncomfortable. I thought I needed to pee, so I did my business and went back into bed. Literally a few moments after I felt sick to my stomach and felt the urge to vomit. Nothing came out and suddenly I got hot and sweaty. I felt so weak. I could barely move. I’m 25! I had to let my boss know I’d late to work. Thankfully my real doc saw me at 8:30am and prescribed Keflex. So far so good. I will never touch this medication again. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jane | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/5/2022
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication made me so sick, severe headache, chills, falling asleep, dizzy and serious nausea. I will not touch this antibiotic again should come with a warning

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Christine | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/9/2022
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was prescribed this for a mild UTI. After one dose, I felt like I was in a cloud. I felt confused and weak and dizzy. I went to bed and felt terrible. After the second dose, I felt worse. Chills began and a horrendous headache. I felt disoriented and couldn't keep my eyes open. No appetite. Nausea. Brain fog feeling. Exhaustion. Honestly the UTI pain was better than the side effects from this medication. I stopped after two doses and still do not feel better. Wish I'd read the reviews here before starting it. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Piper | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/4/2022
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Oh my god do I regret taking this HORRENDOUS MEDICATION!! I hope I go back to being normal again cause after taking it for 3 days & getting weaker & weaker & sleeping 15+ hours & joint pain going through the roof, ALLLLL OF WHICH HAD NOTHING TO DO WITH MY UTI, on day 3 I could barely talk I was so weak & I LOST MY ABILITY TO WALK!!! My joints were so weak/muscles & in so much pain I had to CRAWL over a half mile to get to help. I’m 33 years old!!! I got to the ER & they gave me fluids & said “wait it out” or basically “YOU ARE F___ed” & sent me home unable to walk still. It’s taken me 5 more days to be able to get some of my strength back & my joints still feel wobbly & strange & im still EXHAUSTED. SO IF MY BODY DOESNT RETURN TO NORMAL I AM SUING YOUR COMPANY BECAUSE NO ONE SHOULD BE TAKING THIS!!! I became disabled because of your medicine & though I seem to be getting better, I’m NOT RIGHT. & I’ve had UTIs before, NONE OF THESE THINGS HAVE TO DO WITH THIS!! Been having weird chest pains & hot flashes too.. 33 years OLD!!! Are you KIDDING ME!!!!???? The drug industrial complex BEYOND DISGUSTS ME!!!!!! How can this EVER BE USED!??? Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/2/2022
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’m 24 and I hadn’t taken antibiotics since I was 12. In the past I’ve been able to flush out UTIs when they came on, but this one was not going away. So I went to the clinic and they prescribed me Macrobid. Within 24 hours, my UTI symptoms started to improve. I woke up the day after my first dose with lower back pain. After I took my second dose I developed chills and general malaise and fatigue. I started freaking out thinking the infection had moved to my kidneys, but after reading reviews on here and noticing an improvement in urinary tract symptoms, I realized it was just side effects. I’m currently on day 3 of 5. I’ve had stomach problems, back aches, fatigue, tingles, increased anxiety, but nothing severe enough for me to stop taking the meds. I much prefer to feel a little crappy for a couple days than get a kidney infection!!! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LouF | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/24/2022
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug make me so very sick. I honestly thought I had rheumatoid arthritis because of the terrible joint pain it has given me. Sweating, fever, chills, exhaustion, vision problems, dizziness, nausea, extreme joint stiffness and pain, shortness of breath. It was very concerning and I nearly went to the ER. The side-effects kicked in a few days after taking it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Teresa Reid | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/18/2022
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Oh, my goodness, never again! Developed a blazing headache with first dose. After second dose felt like I was dying, with chills, aching, malaise, flulike symptoms. Went to ER and urine tested clean so wasn’t still the infection. Having horrific dreaming and nightmares. Trying to finish five days prescribed treatment but not looking good.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Not good. | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/8/2022
Condition: Urinary Tract Infection due to E. Coli Bacteria
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took Macrobid twice for a mild UTI. The second time I didn't remember which antibiotic I had. Both times I had fever, chills, body aches. I don't understand why this medication is being prescribed when their are safer antibiotics that also treat UTI. Terrible experience. Never again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lady348 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/6/2022
Condition: Urinary Tract Infection due to E. Coli Bacteria
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’m leaving a review because these there aren’t many positive reviews. I was taking Bactrim for 5 days twice a day. But was resistant. AZO test no Leukocytes but mid nitrates are present. I was prescribed Macrobid twice a day for 10 day. If you have anxiety. This antibiotic will cause panic attacks. Shortness of breath. Body aches. Headache. Nauseous. Tired. Your body is fighting an infection. But I rather have that then dying from a UTI. Tips take these with a big meal. Drink ONLY water all day. Tylenol helped me with the body aches. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ash | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/5/2022
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

OMG don't listen to everyone's experience PLEASE!! I prolonged taking this medicine. I went to the ER twice. I even had anxiousness and a confused feeling because my urinary tract was infected. I was sent home each time with the push to just take Macrobid. My family and friends would even say if I don't take this I'd be doing my body a huge disservice. I was THAT scared to take this med. I did everything I could trying to "heal myself" drink water, cranberry juice, dmannose. That was a temporary fix... I am a 39 year old woman I finally mustered up the courage and took the antibiotics.. Day one I felt a headache Totally manageable. Day two I felt nausea didn't want to eat much and headache, managed by one tylenol Day three I felt my symptoms improve! The pain and foul smell was gone. It is VERY effective for a UTI Day four I felt tired. Slept half the day but ate well no headache! Day 5 I felt back to normal. Day 6 (wasn't on the meds) I felt tired again Day 7 (wasn't on the meds) yeast infection. Treated with over the counter. Please please TAKE it if you were prescribed it. My own opinion. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/27/2022
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Wow. I came across these reviews and I’m shocked. I started feeling so sick like I had the flu after I took 2 doses. Raging headache, body aches, joint pain. I truly thought my body was trying to fight something but I see that this is all symptoms of this medication!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Amanda | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/25/2022
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’m currently laying in bed dying due to this medication. Severe chills, body aches like I can’t believe and a terrible headache. I threw up this morning and could not sleep at all. I rather suffer the uti pain than take this poison. How is this antibiotic on the market?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kathy | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/15/2022
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am almost 70 and had never had a uti (and I’m retired from urology) until I turned 69. I was given this to take for 1 for prevention or could take for 5 days if needed. After the 3rd pill my legs and bottom of feet hurt so severely it was difficult to be still … toes tingle and legs ache. I have stopped 3 days ago and now have an appt with primary as Am suspecting neuropathy induced by medication. I will not ever take again!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Trish | 35-44 | Patient
7/15/2022
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I normally look on sites to get an idea about what to expect from the medications & I don’t have side effect as others shared until now. Day 1 of macrobid was ok but day 2 was terrible, I noticed chill feeling at work but didn’t think much of it until I made it home and found I couldn’t warm myself up, my feet & legs felt like popsicles even with socks and 2 blankets on, I had severe headache that took forever to go away with Tylenol, I had developed fever of 101.8 during the night and felt horrible (I didn’t take second dosage that night). By morning things had subsided but noticed a cough whenever I took deep breath. When I tell you I called the doctors office to make them aware I wanted something else the nurse told me “fever is not normally linked to medication sounds as if you had a respiratory problem” and proceeded to ask if I been outdoors. I told her yes everyday I’m outside and I didn’t have a respiratory problem or any symptoms before I took the medication so why would I now. I refused to take anymore. Overall, the 2 days I took the medication it was very effective and worked right away to alleviate UTI symptoms but macrobid isn’t for me. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kaitlynng | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/30/2022
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I don't want to lie about the effectiveness of this drug because it worked very well. I took 1 pill and hours later the burning was gone. I was so scared to take because I'm pregnant and the reviews were awful but.oncw I took it, I felt fine. That is until a few hours later I started getting very dizzy, my stomach was throbbing, I got very pale, and my heart was racing. It went away the next morning but I did wake up feeling sick. Other than those side effects it went well.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Laura | 35-44 | Other | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/24/2022
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed Macrobid for a suspected uti after having a miscarriage. Let me tell you, I will NEVER take it again! After the first pill on Wednesday night I got a headache and some slight stomach upset. Thursday morning I took my next pill with breakfast. By noon I had a fever, chills and diarrhea. By noon I was throwing up. I spent all night throwing up, continued fever, continued diarrhea, a pounding headache like my brain was too big for my skull, shortness of breath and body/joint pain like I have never experienced in my life. I was up all night! About 2 hours ago I was finally able to keep down a little soup and sleep for a bit. I still have this God awful headache, joint pain and slight shortness of breath. This is going to take days to recover from and I wish they had given me Cipro as I requested. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More