Show ratings & reviews for

2.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

29 People found this comment helpful

I have been taking Marcrobid for years and I do not experience any major side effects. I may occasionally experience softer stools but that's it. Within 12 hours of taking this medication I feel 100%.

Most voted negative review

12 People found this comment helpful

I have been taking Macrobid twice a day with food and water for the past 4 days. Day 1 was okay until the next morning came. I awoke at 4am with severe neck pain (hurt to even scratch my skin), and I know it was not caused by the way I slept. All that aside; I have been so nauseous for days, that eating anything has become difficult due to not having any appetite caused be the horrible side effec...

Shared reviews and ratings

Amanda | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/25/2022
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’m currently laying in bed dying due to this medication. Severe chills, body aches like I can’t believe and a terrible headache. I threw up this morning and could not sleep at all. I rather suffer the uti pain than take this poison. How is this antibiotic on the market?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kathy | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/15/2022
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am almost 70 and had never had a uti (and I’m retired from urology) until I turned 69. I was given this to take for 1 for prevention or could take for 5 days if needed. After the 3rd pill my legs and bottom of feet hurt so severely it was difficult to be still … toes tingle and legs ache. I have stopped 3 days ago and now have an appt with primary as Am suspecting neuropathy induced by medication. I will not ever take again!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Trish | 35-44 | Patient
7/15/2022
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I normally look on sites to get an idea about what to expect from the medications & I don’t have side effect as others shared until now. Day 1 of macrobid was ok but day 2 was terrible, I noticed chill feeling at work but didn’t think much of it until I made it home and found I couldn’t warm myself up, my feet & legs felt like popsicles even with socks and 2 blankets on, I had severe headache that took forever to go away with Tylenol, I had developed fever of 101.8 during the night and felt horrible (I didn’t take second dosage that night). By morning things had subsided but noticed a cough whenever I took deep breath. When I tell you I called the doctors office to make them aware I wanted something else the nurse told me “fever is not normally linked to medication sounds as if you had a respiratory problem” and proceeded to ask if I been outdoors. I told her yes everyday I’m outside and I didn’t have a respiratory problem or any symptoms before I took the medication so why would I now. I refused to take anymore. Overall, the 2 days I took the medication it was very effective and worked right away to alleviate UTI symptoms but macrobid isn’t for me. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kaitlynng | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/30/2022
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I don't want to lie about the effectiveness of this drug because it worked very well. I took 1 pill and hours later the burning was gone. I was so scared to take because I'm pregnant and the reviews were awful but.oncw I took it, I felt fine. That is until a few hours later I started getting very dizzy, my stomach was throbbing, I got very pale, and my heart was racing. It went away the next morning but I did wake up feeling sick. Other than those side effects it went well.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Laura | 35-44 | Other | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/24/2022
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed Macrobid for a suspected uti after having a miscarriage. Let me tell you, I will NEVER take it again! After the first pill on Wednesday night I got a headache and some slight stomach upset. Thursday morning I took my next pill with breakfast. By noon I had a fever, chills and diarrhea. By noon I was throwing up. I spent all night throwing up, continued fever, continued diarrhea, a pounding headache like my brain was too big for my skull, shortness of breath and body/joint pain like I have never experienced in my life. I was up all night! About 2 hours ago I was finally able to keep down a little soup and sleep for a bit. I still have this God awful headache, joint pain and slight shortness of breath. This is going to take days to recover from and I wish they had given me Cipro as I requested. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
No | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/24/2022
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This was absolutely horrific for me. Took it for 2.5 days and felt like I had a severe kidney infection (much worse than before I took my first dose). This may be great for some, but definitely talk to your Dr. if you don't feel right once taking the medication. I was told I could be on the verge of a stroke when I spoke with the prescriber. Not at all worth the suffering, pain or fear that came with this medicine. Not. For. Me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
happy customer? | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/3/2022
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm halfway through my course and I haven't had any side effects. The lasting effects of being at the ER in the early hours of the morning (because the UTI was so painful I couldn't drive or think) are more of a problem for me. I took my first dose early Wednesday morning at the ER, Wednesday evening the symptoms had subsided almost completely, Thursday midday I felt back to normal (besides my sleep schedule being totally screwed up).

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sharerollll | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/26/2022
Condition: Urinary Tract Infection due to E. Coli Bacteria
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed this antibiotics twice for the last 2 UTI's that I had. The first time, my only side effects were headaches and fatigue. Now, the second time I was prescribed this, I felt awful - nothing like the first time. Migraines, nausea/vomiting, and overall body weakness. I wasn't able to go to work or get out of the bed. I am currently on day 3 of 7 and I still feel discomfort in my pelvic area. Please inform yourself of this before you take it..

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CT | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/14/2022
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’m a generally very healthy 39 yo female who happened to have uti for the first time in my life. No known drug allergies, have taken antibiotics before without any issues. I took Macrobid and I felt like I was run over. I stopped taking it immediately after the second pill. I have severe headache, nausea, poor appetite, fatigue, body ache…you name it. I am dysfunctional and broken. It’s taking me longer to recover from this drug than from the uti. I can’t believe a drug can cause this much suffering. I’ve been a nurse for 9 years, btw. I strongly believe this drug should be illegal to be avail on the market.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
quixotic6 | 25-34 | Transgender | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/7/2022
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have bad health anxiety and look up every new rx I'm prescribed to look at side effects and user reviews. That was a huge mistake for this medication!! I was so scared to take it after reading the reviews for it. However, obviously if you have an infection you NEED to take your antibiotics, so I sucked it up and took them and here's my experience: Very MILD side effects, such as: headache, achy muscles and joints, some tingling (I have nerve issues so I think it just exacerbated it), night sweats, and 1-2 bouts of diarrhea. That's it. I took 100mg for 5 days and that's all that happened. So please don't let these reviews scare you! If you're younger and generally pretty healthy you shouldn't have any severe side effects.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
K.M. | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/2/2022
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took ONE dose and threw the rest in the garbage! I followed directions and drank lots of water, took it with a meal on a Friday night and still woke up in the middle of the night with a pounding headache and had to pee like i hadn't peed in a week. The non stop peeing continued for a good 36hrs. It's not Monday morning and I STILL have a headache that feels like my brain is too big for my skull. Not sure if the one dose was effective, or the gallon of cranberry juice did it but my bladder infection seems to be gone for now. From reading everyone else's stories I got off easy, this stuff should be pulled from the market.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dawn | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/1/2022
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed this medication for a UTI. After reading the reviews on this page I was quite apprehensive about taking Macrobid. But it was all fine. I had no side effects and my symptoms went away in less than 12 hours. Love this medication!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kirsty | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/29/2022
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I really react badly to Macrobid, even after one tablet the symptoms are so bad I and my Dr thought I had a kidney infection. I get uncontrollable chills and fever, I am sick several times then I get flu like muscle and joint aches, I can't sleep because I feel so ill but I feel so tired and weak. I have taken macrobid on three different occasions and only just realised it's the antibiotic making me feel like this after thinking I was having another kidney infection. Other antibiotics work better for me for uti, I don't react to them but with Macrobid I feel like I have been poisoned. I have missed so much work because it floors me for days. I have only taken one tablet this time and now I have read other reviews and realised it is Macrobid making me feel so bad I won't take this antibiotic ever again. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Shelly | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/15/2022
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The doctor gave me macro bid last year after two doses I became very ill, extreme body aches, feverish, could not breath the next day I phoned the doctor who said no it’s not the medication and to carry on taking it, I took it that morning and was even worse could stand very weak, later that day nurse phoned me to say no uti, bring another sample in the morning, the same day another nurse phone to say my sample came back with cultures, it was a very confusing day so I didn’t take any more. So a full year has gone past and I was at a routine appointment for a cervical smear I took a water sample with me as my urine was smelly, the nurse then had a word with the doctor who then phone me and told me there would be a prescription waiting for me at the chemist in the morning and that it was a antibiotic that I had responded to well in the past, so I get my prescription and realised it was the same one I’d taken the year before, so I took it yesterday morning after filling up on more food than I normally eat felt fine for about four hours then it him me again with the same symptoms as before only worse chest and stomach pain this drug is bad and needs banning Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sally | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month |
3/30/2022
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Absolutely horrendous. Worked for the infection but caused severe suicidal thoughts, anxiety and paranoia. This is an absolutely genuine review, it nearly destroyed my life in the space of three days! Never again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Liz | 13-18 | Other | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/17/2022
Condition: infection caused by bacteria
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I felt a lot better after my 1st 2 doses! I got a bladder infection due to covid and other comorbidities.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Se | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/3/2022
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Do not take this, I was perfectly fine before taking this medication. I was suppose to take it twice a day for 7 days. First day it caused the worst case of indigestion. The burning was so bad it went from chest in to my back. Called the pharmacy to ask if this was still ok to take. She reassured me it was “normal”. Took it for another two days.. but by the third day;pill number 6..I could feel the pill burning my throat as it traveled down in to my stomach. I stopped it immediately and was given just straight amoxicillin because it didn’t get rid of the UTI. Since then.. I have been in straight misery. I have never suffered with GERD in the past. I can’t lay flat without choking. I constantly feel sick Bc my stomach is so messed up. I’ve been sticking to a bland diet, and even that is not helping. I should have went with my gut and stopped after the second pill. This medication is poison and should be taken off the shelves. Especially after reading all the horrible reviews! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Puggles | 19-24 | Other | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/21/2022
Condition: Staphylococcus Saprophyticus Infection of Urinary Tract
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

By 2nd day I was tired, some dull headache, some blurred vision, by 3rd day, extremely blurred vision, very scared, started researching again side effects as vision didn't come up in initial search prior to starting. I took with food, I drank water, I took prebiotic, hoping my vision returns to normal soon.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Quelz | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/19/2022
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Worst antibiotic ever given to me! Never again I took 2 doses and this medication knocked me all the way down.... headache, body aches, pain in eyes, nausea, diarrhea, fever, chills, dizziness.. Got tested for covid and it was negative. This made me feel horrible I can't wait till this is out of my system. I STOPPED THE MEDS IMMEDIATELY NEVER AGAIN!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Callie | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/2/2022
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Avoid this medication. Gave me strong flu like symptoms so bad thought it might be COVID break through. Sheer misery. Took two pills, as directed, twelve hours apart. Took a full 24 hours to recover. Intense body aches, fever, nausea. Had to take a sick day. Doc called in an old fashioned sulfa drug instead- way better. No issues.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More