Show ratings & reviews for

3.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

5 People found this comment helpful

made me stay in between manic and depressed

Shared reviews and ratings

Chris | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/5/2019
Condition: Bipolar I Disorder with Most Recent Episode Mixed
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Causes stomach cramps, sometimes nausea. Not sure it is effective, as I also take escitalopram, buproprion, zolpidem, tizanidine and clonazepam.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mark | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
9/20/2010
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
shurlham | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
8/5/2010
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

this drug causes stomache problems. wou;d taking pepto bismol 30-60 minutea before taking the med ,reduce the action or levels of val poric acid med/

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
wendy | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/22/2010
Condition: Epileptic Seizure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

been on this for 3 yrs not had another seizure since touch wood

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jane | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
4/17/2010
Condition: Bipolar Disorder in Remission
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this medication for 14 years and find it a great mood stabilizer. I am never manic but find depression is an ongoing problem. It also helps with chronic headaches which I used to get. I find I have put some weight on but it was needed because I was underweight.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
11/18/2008
Condition: Tonic-Clonic Epilepsy
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Sodium valproate,along with a very healthy lifestyle;(alcohol free,daily exercise,low stress,regular sleeping patterns and a nutritious diet),has allowed me to be siezure free for more than a year. I do experience drowsiness,blurred vision and confusion; or perhaps more accurately put,an inability to turn thoughts into actions as efficiently as i used to. On the whole though these side effects are easy to accept and deal with, as opposed to having grand mal siezures and suffering the head injuries that inevitably come with them. I would recommend this drug for anyone requiring it,in close consultation with a good G.P., if you are lucky enough to have one avaliable to you. best of luck and peace to all.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
hhhh | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/10/2008
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/13/2008
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

have been prescribed it to keep blood sugar levels above 3..over active insulin production by pancreas... had one full seizure waking up in hospital about 30 minutes later after a hypo,(UNCONCIOUS) several other hypos avoided by taking glucose at onset....NO further problems since starting VS 3months ago

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
elleni | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/5/2008
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

made me stay in between manic and depressed

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
malek | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/18/2008
Condition: Convulsive Seizures
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I get effective with some side effect of dizzling and imbalance and abdominal pains

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bartholomew | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
2/8/2008
Condition: Multiple Seizure Types
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this drug for seizures &/or depression. I've yet to find any adverse effectict's, though I'm concerned about the long term effect's of using it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More