Show ratings & reviews for

4.2 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

22 People found this comment helpful

After 3 days, I began to feel a little woozy. Cigarettes no longer tasted good. The 4th and 5th days I was able to prepare myself for a quit date by reducing from 15 cigs a day down to 4. Missed a couple of doses and moved my quit date back a few days. Had a bad craving on the day b4 my quit date and bought a pack. Normally a pack a day smoker, I finally finished the pack 4 days later and now hav...

Most voted negative review

8 People found this comment helpful

This drug is poison! It is not safe and many people will not notice side effects until it is too late to stop the damage. Causes diabetes, heart problems and a whole lot more, READ the side effects and look up the medical terms before you ingest this poison. If you want an idea of what it is made from look up cytisine. There are better ways to stop smoking then using poison like this drug and it i...

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/21/2022
Condition: Stop Smoking
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

40 year smoker with COPD. Have been on this for 3 days and already down to 7 cigs from 10 a day. I am ready to quit for health reasons and will hopefully have success with this drug.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Champix. | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/11/2016
Condition: Stop Smoking
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Only thing that works is amazing gave up for 3 years started again unfortunately so back to square one. Side effects are worth the risk and different for everyone as no one feels the same.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/19/2016
Condition: Stop Smoking
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I almost quit my job as my ability to concentrate was severely limited. The feeling was very similar to the combination of benzodiazepine and opioid simultaneously. Luckily I forgot to take it long enough so as to be able to realize that it was the taking of these pills that caused the problem.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
I am the Walrus | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/15/2015
Condition: Stop Smoking
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Although Chantix DID eliminate the urge to smoke, the psychological side effects made this drug a nightmare. The suicidal thoughts and drowsiness made it impossible to drive. And I do want to mention that I NEVER had suicidal thoughts before taking drug. I would rather smoke!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Norm | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/16/2014
Condition: Stop Smoking
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It has been 7years of not one smoke after 35 years of smoking it has saved my live and saved me $ a lot of loot.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DaveG | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/6/2013
Condition: Stop Smoking
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After 8 or 9 days I my desire to smoke faded away and I have been smoke free for a week. No side effects other than some vivid dreams which are actually quite pleasant. I recommend Chantix to anyone who wants to quit smoking. It will only work if you are motivated to stop.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
K | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/1/2013
Condition: Stop Smoking
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My night vision was severely affected. My kidneys started to be affected after not smoking for three months, and when I stopped taking Chantix, my emotional state became very affected with depression and high levels of anxiety. I had to start smoking again in order to get back to being normal. I do not recommend this medication, I think it is very, very dangerous. It has been 5 years that I took this treatment and my eyesight was affected in a permanent way. My kidneys have regained strength and my emotions have returned to be normal, it did take time and I did return to being a smoker. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bri_gabe | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/11/2013
Condition: Stop Smoking
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is only day 3 for me but this is also my second attempt at using Chantix. I now know you must take it the entire 3 months in order for it to work properly. So far I have experienced headaches, nausea, vivid dreams, dizziness, fatigue and sleeplessness. This may sound like a lot to deal with but it's better than the alternative. However in just 3 days time my desire to smoke has diminished significantly and I am starting to cough as one does when they stop smoking. I know this drug works and this time I'm in it for the long haul!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bavarehiman | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
1/10/2013
Condition: Stop Smoking
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

when i start treatment take daily 29-33 cigretts, after only 9 day treatment i quit the smoking, now i continues the treatment. One day i forget take medicine, that day making problems, i asked one cigar,,, then i remember , take medicine.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ExChantixUser | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/31/2012
Condition: Stop Smoking
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took as directed for one month. Was able to give up cigarettes on the 8th day without too much trouble. Continued to take Chantix for 2 more weeks. At that time I experienced extreme hot flashes and night sweats and stopped using the Chantix. The hot flashes and night sweats were fewer and less sever but I started desiring a cigarette more and more. After about 2 more weeks I tried the Chantix again. The hot flashes and night sweats returned very strongly. Have quit Chantix and will try to stay quit without it.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
exsmokerT | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/2/2012
Condition: Stop Smoking
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been smoking for about 11 years. I cannot even recall the number of times I have attempted to quit smoking. A friend recommended Chantix to me and it really does work. For the first couple of days I had a little trouble concentrating but that went away the first week.In addition I do get the vidid dreams side effect however I have not had any bad dreams and for the most part the dreams are rather cool. I have been on Chantix for a month and smoke free for three weeks. It really does work and I do recommend it to smokers who are ready to quit.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MrsGorden | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/28/2012
Condition: Stop Smoking
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started these meds 2 weeks ago. I have been reading a lot of reviews/blogs and I have found that for the most part everyone's experience is different. At first I thought this might be a miracle drug that would make me stop smoking. I was wrong! I still have some cravings but they do get better the longer you take it. I have found that keeping myself busy and changing routines really helps. Overall this is a great drug for people who have tried to quit before and know what its like to go through "withdrawals". As long as you have some will power you will do just fine!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/31/2011
Condition: Stop Smoking
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I just kept smoking at first then the urge went away. But I think I might have an alergy to the drug. I'm going to go to the doctor to get checked out. so far I haven't smoked for 4 days.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Fileta | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
1/25/2010
Condition: Stop Smoking
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It works!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lindsey1` | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/13/2009
Condition: Stop Smoking
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

sometime's it seem's like it work's and other time's it does'nt.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
leontrevino.leon | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/11/2009
Condition: Stop Smoking
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

worked very well for me. Stress and anxiety is still much stronger; these two make easier to return to smoking.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
smoker | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
8/18/2009
Condition: Stop Smoking
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This worked fabulously and helped me to destress about my smoking while smoking.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
? | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/4/2009
Condition: Stop Smoking
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I guess I was expecting a silver bullet, after two weeks I figured I had to put some effort into it so I "decided" to quit, also I had some 14MG patches left over from a previous attempt.Today is 1 week and it's easy, so far!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/4/2009
Condition: Stop Smoking
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

it really worked well for me. I am really happy now.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kimipooh | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/2/2009
Condition: Stop Smoking
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is week one for me. I've never been a heavy smoker but been smoking for 10 yrs and want to stop. I experienced nausea one time and now make sure I eat before I take the med but I do suffer from the headache. I'm not so sleepy during the day but I sleep very well at night which is great a little bit of the crazy dreams but that's okay too. I love this med and how it just curbs my appetite for a cigarrette. I want to be smoke free.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More