Show ratings & reviews for

3.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

49 People found this comment helpful

About 3 months ago I decided I wanted to go on birth control. I went to a doctor and talked about my options, because I have migraines with aura, but I just decided to go with the pill and see if it gave me any headaches. The week leading up to when I was going to start my first pack, I made the mistake of searching reviews online. I really think everyone flocks to the internet to complain abou...

Most voted negative review

5 People found this comment helpful

I got pregnant. Need I say more?

Shared reviews and ratings

Katie | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/17/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve been on it for probably close to two years maybe even three, and when I first started I had the most horrible period symptoms I was throwing up,my cramps were intensely painful, I was nauseous, and feeling like I was gonna pass out constantly. So I started taking sronyx at The lowest dose because my body weight was so low. It worked really well for me I had a couple mood swings in the beginning but then my cramping went away and my periods were is heavy. Then my cramps started coming back really bad and the first two days were super heavy and then the next three were really light. So I switched to the next dosage up and at first there wasn’t an issue but now my boobs have been really tender and they’ve grown a little bit but my cramps have started to come back. With the new dosage if I miss a day and take two pills at the same time I’ll get really nauseous and throw them up so I have to space them out by a couple hours or just take them and then go to sleep so I’m not feeling nauseous during the day. I haven’t had any issues with pregnancy and I have had some issues with being consistent and taking them at the same time every day but that’s on me. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
12/3/2021
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking the pill for over a year. I have not gotten pregnant however my mood has definitely been affected along with the fact I have 2 periods a month and bloating like crazy not to mention low to no sex drive. I'm getting off this now!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Taylor | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
2/6/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on “the pill” for a little over 8 years now. And have been on this specific one for about 2 years. I have nothing negative to say about it besides that I have had absolutely terrible and painful hormonal and cystic acne as a side effect of this drug. I had done everything to treat my acne until I realized it was from this brand of pill. When I switched brands of pill my acne went away after a couple months.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Misguided girl | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month |
12/12/2019
Condition: Disease of Ovaries with Cysts
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Day four of takeing pill I know early to tell anything , I take for PCOS and honestly it’s like a happy pill I’m not moody I don’t have munchies my boobs and cysts don’t hurt here’s to hooding this works for me

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/22/2019
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Staring taking this birth control and I've not only been nauseous but I puke as well. Terrible experience. Needless to say I'm switching to something else. I can't even eat or anything. Nauseated all day long.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
1/7/2019
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I first began taking this pill about a year ago and continued on for 7 months, however it was giving me a bit of nausea so I went to the doctor to talk about other options and she simply said to switch the time I took it at. So instead of 12pm, I started taking it at 10pm, which was even worse for me! I loved everything about this pill, but the nausea was something unbearable. I would be nauseous from morning till night! Overall, worked well in preventing pregnancy, but the nausea was a deal breaker for me. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Alexis | 19-24 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/12/2018
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is my first time taking birth control and I just started three-four days ago and I immediately felt the shift in my mood. my doctor told me it was low dose so my mood wouldn't be effected so my main worries were acne and weight gain so because my mind wasn't even focused on how my mood would be effected and the fact that I'm an extremely mellow person it was very easy for me to see the difference. Ive been crying for no reason, snapping at people, having anxiety attacks, and stressing over stuff my boyfriend and I have already worked through. It just felt as if my depression and anxiety went from a 3/10 to a 20/10 in a matter of mins with no real reason behind it. I understand mood swings are a side effect that should pass in 2-3 months but this is unbearable especially since this is a low dose pill that shouldn't effect your mood. Its not worth the adjustment period. I'll be calling my doctor to stop.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cnicole6 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/30/2017
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this pill for three months now, I was initially scared to start it because of the reviews. At first I had side effects of acne and bloating, which I never had before. But now in the third month, it has almost completely subsided. I have had no weight gain or other complaints from it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Keri826 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/5/2017
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was switched to Sronyx from Vienva by my pharmacy and have only been taking it for a week and a half. I have had nausea on and off, headaches, breast tenderness and bloating. I either feel nauseous or so hungry I eat until I feel sick. My skin has been horrible, and it's usually very clear. I also have no sex drive at all and have been more irritable. I was told by the pharmacist that this is the "same med" as my previous birth control, and that I shouldn't have any side effects. I am going to try and stick it out. My biggest issue is the bloating. I will try and update over the next couple months if I keep taking this med. It's been very helpful to read others who have had the same issues.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
9/2/2017
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The dosage of this medication made me miss my periods up to 2 months and then I would have it for 2 weeks and then I would have it another week last. I was always regulated on my previous birth control but was switched due to availability. I then started having pain through out my scalp especially above my left eye and noticed balding. I now have "alopecia erregata" hair loss of unknown origin, but I am confident they only variable to this hair loss was this medication since scalp baldness is listed as a rare but possible side effect. After almost a year of taking it and not adjusting I was switched to another birth control and wouldn't you know I was back to my regular 28 day cycle. I would never recommend this medication and felt the facility I used, used me as a lab rat to trial this medications in women with limited resources and incomes. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
7/10/2017
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I haven't gotten pregnant on it which was the whole point In the first place, and my breast cup went up two sizes as well. If I skipped a pill and took two in a day it would make me very nauseous, however if taken correctly it works great. My acne is about the same maybe a little worse at times. Overall its a good choice in my opinion

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sct2137204 | 19-24 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/28/2017
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this pill for 3.5 years. For about 1 year I had absolutely no side effects. However, for the past 2 years a few symptoms have crept up on me. I all of a sudden had a huge increase of acne (I thought just due to stress or lifestyle changes...I'm a 22 year old in college). I also gained quite a bit of weight, again I just thought due to lifestyle changes (however I've been eating the same forever, I could maybe start to exercise more). I became really anxious, depressed, irritable, and moody. I feel very angry and aggressive all the time. I'm saying this pill is effective because I haven't gotten pregnant, but I'm wondering if some of these symptoms just slowly creep up on you the longer you take the pill. Either way I plan on going to talk about this with my doctor. My relationship of 3 years is suffering. I had an all of a sudden huge decrease in sex drive/interest. I want to lay off this medication for a month or two and see how I feel before attempting to try a new one (I wish I didn't have to take any at all but condoms irritate my skin and I don't want a baby for a few years). Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SadddddGirl | 19-24 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/26/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

PLEASE DO NOT TAKE THIS PILL. This is (according to some website I think mayoclinic) one of the STRONGEST forms of hormones you could take orally.... Just within two months of taking it I had to stop because my hair was falling out in clumps...I would wake up with clumps of hair on my pillow and when I would take a shower there would be a few strands that would fall out with every touch of my scalp... Apparently what I have is called Telogen Effluvium and it will take 4-6 months for my hair to start growing back. It's NOTICEABLY thinner.. Keep in mind I'm only 23 and I already have fine hair and take a few meds to make it thin-ish already. But I've NEVER had anything like this before. I took a slew of blood tests and they all came back normal.. It was just a side effect of the drug. It's SOOO embarrassing..... You have no idea. My hair is still falling out. This is not a good medicine. I wasn't even supposed to take it. My doctor said the pharmacy gave me the wrong one....I'm soooooo upset.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/18/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on sronyx for about nine months now and haven't gotten pregnant so it's very effective if taken correctly. My skin cleared up after about the first month, very little weight gain, I went up two cup sizes and had been tender but not anymore. Libido didn't really change for me, lighter periods with almost no cramping, and no mood swings. Overall a really good birth control experience!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Suprise_Suprise | 19-24 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/6/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was switched to this by the health department. I was taking it faithfully and still got pregnant.....what else is there to say?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/25/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is the first kind of birth control pill i've taken and i can say it is much better than the depo shot. What i can say is that my breast have been very tender and i eat much more,which is fine with me i don't weigh that much.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Darlene | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
2/4/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is the first birth control I've taken; I've been on Sronyx for over 5 years, age 19-24. It made my periods shorter and lighter for the most part. However, I always dreaded the 2nd day of my period because the flow was always heavy and the cramps were painful. I was also moody and had to poop a lot more. Over time, sex drive diminished. Following my appendectomy in summer 2015, I went off birth control for 3 months. When I resumed taking Sronyx, I noticed weight gain and acne breakouts. I gained 15+ lbs and the acne breakouts, which was all new to me, was bad enough that I saw a dermatologist. I recently switched to Tri-Estarylla and am on day 4 of my first pill pack. I will write a review on that after some time has passed.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
not a happy camper | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/1/2015
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I didn't get pregnant, but had severe migraines, vomiting, mood swings and agitation, and gained about 20 pounds. Not happy with the side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/16/2015
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been taking Sronyx on and off for 3 years. The only side effects I've had have been breast tenderness/growth (almost a full cup size). I tend to skip the sugar pills so I can skip my period but if I do that for more than 2 consecutive months it results in spotting. I'm also terrible about remembering to take it at the same time every day unless I set an alarm. Other than that, it works. No acne, no weight gain, no pregnancies.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
akjsweet | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/2/2015
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Overall this has been great for me! No weight gain, cramps, and easy periods that only last a couple of days. My boobs have grown as well which is a nice plus!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More