Show ratings & reviews for

3.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

29 People found this comment helpful

It has greatly reduced hand tremor. No more shuffling of feet. Have more pep and move quicker. No side effects

Most voted negative review

4 People found this comment helpful

Very expensive and dont know what it is suppose to be helping.

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/22/2020
Condition: Parkinson's Disease
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My neurologist prescribed Azilect as a way of cutting back on the increasing daily number of Sinemet tablets I was taking (8), Within a week, I started experiencing occasional heartburn incidents, which I was able to manage with antacids. Within a month of starting on the Azilect, I had to go to the emergency room for severe chest pains and was admitted for a presumed heart attack. I was subjected to multiple scans and tests, including an angiogram; they all revealed no damage to my heart. The cardiologist on my case reviewed my PD pharmaceutical regimen and assessed that I had suffered the low incident side-effect of Azilect, so I was told to stop taking it immediately. That was almost 8 years ago and I have had no repeat incidents such as that since. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/25/2017
Condition: Parkinson's Disease
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Used with amantadine following DBS (June 2014). No noticeable side effects. Expensive.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Msmink | 55-64 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/8/2017
Condition: Parkinson's Disease
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking Azilect four years ago. My doctor calls me a great responder to the drug. After being quite miserable from symptoms, I do not look like I have the disease at all--motor symptoms are minimal. Azilect has worked amazingly well for me. I also take Propranolol which completely takes away the tremor in my hand. I struggle with sleep, and Trazodone helps with that.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JMJ | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/7/2016
Condition: Parkinson's Disease
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have PD (early stages) and asked if i wanted to stop Levodopa and try Azilect. i stopped taking my Levodopa, wated 2 days on nothing and started taking Azilect. After 2 weeks on Azilect my PD symptons are worse, I have less control, experiencing low grain headache (never had headaches before) and elevated blood pressure. I am going to to take for 2 more days 2 validate side effects and then discontinue.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
crs1970 | 55-64 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
11/10/2015
Condition: Parkinson's Disease
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've had Parkinson's Disease for 11 years and I have taken Azilect since I was first diagnosed with Parkinson's. I feel it has slowed the progress of my Parkinson's and helped me continue to do the things I enjoy. I have seen several people who have Parkinson's and did not take Azilect. They have progressed faster than I have. I really feel it has helped slowed the progression of Parkinson's for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jon bonzai | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/28/2015
Condition: Parkinson's Disease
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I just want to let people know that going through a Canadian pharmacy, I get my medication for $1.15 per pill, shipped directly from a drug company in India. so far side effects have been minimal.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lee | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/3/2015
Condition: Parkinson's Disease
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking sinemet (25/100mg) in Aug 2014 and found it helped greatly with my PD symptoms. In Feb 2015 the neurologist added azilect (1mg). I really could not see much difference in the PD symptoms. I was not overly careful with my diet and did not sense any problems until May 2015 when I started having occasional throbbing headache, flushing of the face and neck, pounding heart, and unexplained sweating. Lying down helped get rid of the symptoms. As time progressed the symptoms became more severe: in Aug 2015 I started taking my blood pressure (BP) when I felt bad. Daily and sometimes twice a day the BP was over 250/110. Then, at other times I would barely be able to stand up or walk: the other extreme in BP showed up (74/34). These extreme swings became more frequent. I went to the ER twice with the high BP and passed out on the bathroom floor one morning at 3 a.m. A trip to our internist resulted in quick appointments with the cardiologist and neurologist. Both made changes to my medications. The cardiologist stopped Xarelto and started baby aspirin. The neurologist stopped Azilect. That was two weeks ago. The blood pressure extremes are gone and I feel much better now. The PD symptoms are about the same as before the azilect! Note: I had read up on Azilect using the Azilect internet site. They do not say much about watching what you eat if you take their product, but I believe I may have had a reaction to certain foods high in tyramines.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
EMGH | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/27/2015
Condition: Parkinson's Disease
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

When I took the first pill, I had a back ache and a headache. When I took the 2nd pill, I had a headache,back and a fever. i did not take anymore. the next that happened was a severe case of hives. prescribing Dr. said that was not from the medication. when i went to my pcp,i was told never to take this again because i had a severe allergic reaction. never again. I feel I may have died had I taken the 3rd pill. The prescribing Dr. told me to go back on it after 4 or 5 days. Not a chance.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/23/2015
Condition: Parkinson's Disease
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Very expensive and dont know what it is suppose to be helping.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BobH | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Caregiver
4/18/2014
Condition: Parkinson's Disease
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Hard to tell. Parkinson's is still getting worst

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/1/2014
Condition: Parkinson's Disease
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Besides Sinemet and RopiniroleI I took Azilect since about 3 years. My PD symptoms have not worsened but have not improved either. However, the side effect warnings have become increasingly alarming! Some of them I experienced personally such as sore or stiff neck, light-headeness, tingling, one sided weakness, itching. For my taste there is far to much uncertainty about this drug, I stopped taking it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Parky | 55-64 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
1/19/2014
Condition: Parkinson's Disease
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed with early onset PD 13 yrs ago. Have been using Azilect for the last 5 or so. Just went off the drug due to high cost - $13.50/pill. I take 4 different strengths of Carbo/levo, Amantadine, Comtan and Clonazapan; and had DBS surgery a year ago. I've been off Amantadine for 2 weeks and notice a profound worsening of symptoms. So for those who complain about having to give up a food or not take an OTC cold remedy...that's a small price to pay for such relief from symptoms. There is no generic equivalent available for Azilect and at over $400/mo. it's too expensive to continue taking - I would not only have to stop buying cheese and OTC cold medicines, I'd have to stop buying most other food as well. If anyone has any suggestions for an alternative, I'd love to hear them.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
achbee, ky | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
12/17/2013
Condition: Parkinson's Disease
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

EARLY DIAGNOSED 1YR,1 MG AZILECT, GET INFORMED..talk with your dr. slight tremor on L hand stable.IMPORTANT TO KNOW ABOUT SURGERY PRECAUTION, feeling well,take tylenol pm for sleep.. WORKS!!just printed list of foods not to eat while take meds. still work 3 days wk, loving hus & fam.. GOD IS GOOD.. GET INVOLVED VOLUNTEER IF CAN.. HUGS TO YOU!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Harry | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
11/19/2013
Condition: Parkinson's Disease
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed a little over 2 1/2 years ago. I was placed on azilect about 1 1/2 years ago. I have not noticed a decrease in tremors, but it has not got a lot worse. I belong to a fitness center and exercise 3 days a week. I believe that is helping more than anything else. I also play golf a t least once a week.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
nancy | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/13/2013
Condition: Parkinson's Disease
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
vec | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/4/2013
Condition: Parkinson's Disease
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

sometime after taking this medication along with my morning blood pressure medication I feel a tightness under my shoulder blades radiading around and above my diaphram. I also drink an 8 oz. class of creatine.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
9/6/2013
Condition: Parkinson's Disease
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been treated with this drug for approx nine months. My only symptom is hand tremor but it has not worsened. I have had no adverse side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
agr | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/14/2013
Condition: Parkinson's Disease
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Three weeks on 1/2 mg of Azilect, and now more than a month on 1 full mg, not much change in symptoms of rigidity on right side and balance problems, but had several recent nights awakening with very severe anxiety and physical "jumpiness". Very unpleasant and unsure if this is related to Azilect....also unsure as to what foods should not consume...

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
KellyLee | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/2/2013
Condition: Parkinson's Disease
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been dealing with "A-typical" symptoms off and on for 5 years now. About 2.5 years ago, I was told that a sleep study showed early onset of PD and I was given Mirapex (along with a miriad of other drugs). That didn't help at all. A little over 1.5 yrs ago, my Neurologist tried Keppra- an anti seizure medicine (just because we tried everything else.) Keppa was a miracle drug for me until about 5 months ago when I started to show more "classic", increasing signs of PD. I now see a movement specialist, who although not convinced that what I have is Parkinson's, decided to try me on Azilect. I have only been on it for about 2 months, but it has worked wonders; no more right hand tremors, very little stiffness in legs, no freezing of leg muscles, my cognitive issues and severe depression have improved significantly, and although I still get headaches and have some balance issues, they are mild compared to what they were before. I have been experiencing some additional side effects, like itchy scalp, major hot flashes (not attributed to perimenopause) and dermititus. Compared to the way I felt before, I can deal with these symptoms. Although I have yet to be "officially" diagnosed, the Azilect has worked wonders for me. I feel like I'm getting my life back. Good luck to all! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
123_LG | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/29/2013
Condition: Parkinson's Disease
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am taking Selegiline HCL 5 MG because Azilect wasn't covered by insurance

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More