Show ratings & reviews for

4.2 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

27 People found this comment helpful

I was diagnosed 3 years ago with CML, I was put on Gleevec which after one year my body rejected it. I was put on Sprycel 140mg. I was Philiidelphia Chromazone positive with CML. After one year I was reduced to 100 mg, now there is no PH positive in my blood, my leukemia is holding it's own on just 50 mg. I have had no side effects while on this drug like I did with Gleevac. My hair has grown bac...

Most voted negative review

3 People found this comment helpful

Went into respiratory failure within 7 days of taking this medicine

Shared reviews and ratings

Ron | 55-64 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
5/25/2021
Condition: Chronic Phase Chronic Myeloid Leukemia
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed in 2004 when l was 46. I started on Gleevic 400 mg. It worked great and only little side effects. After 8 years it quit working. Started on Sprycel 100 mg. Had fever and terrible acne form. My doctor didn’t want to reduce but I insisted. Went to 50 mg. It is still working but I have shortness of breath and that worries me. Now I have had CML for 17 years and still fell fairly good except for lung problems from Sprycel.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tadayoshi | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/7/2020
Condition: Chronic Phase Chronic Myeloid Leukemia
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been very happy with the much cheaper generic dasatinib bought from BonHoa Pharmacy for more than three years now. However, these last few months I've been experiencing various symptoms which I believe are related to this medicine. I have bone pain that no doctor is explaining, I often have some difficulty breathing and I feel tried all the time. Nevertheless, I would not chose to change dasatinib; I have tired four types of medications of which this was the only one I faced no side effect troubles with. God bless all of youRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nikki | 35-44 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/30/2020
Condition: Type of Leukemia - Chronic Myelogenous Leukemia
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed with CML 10/2011 at 29 years old. I started on Gleevec 400 mg which took some adjusting to (muscle spasms, serious migraines and nausea). That period lasted about 6 months and I continued it for seven years. I moved to another state and changed doctors and was only maintaining a molecular remission and to try a different drug for full remission. I was a little hesitant because I thought my body was handling Gleevec nicely. I switched to Sprycel 100 mg and within 4 months I was in full remission with my numbers in a negative state. The doctor thought it was safe to take me off as my husband and I were trying for a baby. Almost a year after being the medication, I experienced an abnormal menstrual cycle (a month long) I went to my general practitioner who drew blood work and found out my count was up by 100,000. So I was put on the 140mg dosage of Sprycel, which was a tough adjustment with side affects, especially head and body aches. After four months, my dosage was reduced to 100mg and my body has tolerated it as it is trending into remission stages again but I am still having challenges with my monthly cycles and I have not got pregnant yet. I am thankful for the doctors who have put up with me because I am not the best patient...a little defiant, being young and CML immature. Iâ??m extremely grateful to see day to day with medications that have worked for me.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Hambone | 65-74 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/18/2019
Condition: Chronic Phase Chronic Myeloid Leukemia
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was dx�ed with CML 2.5 yrs ago. I have had every side effect mentioned. Of course �: joint pain, nausea, serious fatigue, very High blood pressure, painful acne, constipation. If there is a side effect I�ve had it. Wish I could take a drug holiday but my doc won�t allow. I�ve been in remission for almost a year. I�m grateful treatment has been successful but bottom line cancer sucks!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/2/2018
Condition: Chronic Phase Chronic Myeloid Leukemia
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After 6 weeks I have a bad reaction. Red welts the size of a penny.they are flat an real itchy.on my arms fand legs

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
wil | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/30/2016
Condition: Philadelphia Chromosome Positive Acute Lymphoblastic Leukemia
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

On gleevec 6 years with all the usual side effects. Gleevec slowly started losing the battle against abnormal cells. Returned to M D Anderson and was placed on sprycel. A dramatic loss of RBC followed in first two weeks. I am off Sprycel, taking iron infusions, and RBC has risen dramatically. Next week start sprycel again on a gradual basis. Since Gleevec is no longer an option, hoping sprycel works out. If not, dasatinib will be next stop. I am thankful for medicines which keep me going but wish an alternative with less disabling side effects could be found. I believe research is knocking on that door. I hope for all of us it comes sooner rather than later.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ty | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
7/4/2016
Condition: Philadelphia Chromosome Positive Chronic Myelocytic Leukemia
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Head ache with pain in my ear that feels like worms boring into my ear.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mabrygirl | 35-44 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/8/2016
Condition: Chronic Myelocytic Leukemia in the Accelerated Phase
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have experienced chronic fatigue syndrome while using sprycel. And I have a lot of difficulty getting my insurance to pay. How does everyone else do in this area?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
GASprycel | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/21/2015
Condition: Chronic Phase Chronic Myeloid Leukemia
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been on the medication for about 2 months and since then have been dealing with chronic gastrointestinal issues (not pretty) - I've found that dairy products makes things worse. Anyone else experiencing this?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dmccarter | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
7/21/2015
Condition: Chronic Phase Chronic Myeloid Leukemia
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Diagnosed with CML Dec 2013, began taking Sprycel within 1 month of diagnosis. In the beginning had mild to moderate side effects skin rashes, adult acne, nausea, muscle aches and extreme fatigue. Went into remission Aug. 2014, doctor reduced my dosage feeling much better. Now having a little issue with BP.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
blessed | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/8/2014
Condition: Chronic Phase Chronic Myeloid Leukemia
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been on Sprycel since 2010. Nausea and vomiting started right after I started Sprycel and heart rate went up started blood pressure medication. Severe joint and back pain started first of 2014. Had heart surgery in 2013. Been rough but at least we have these pills. Unable to work due to joint pains and back pains from sickness and medications.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Healthy lady | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/27/2014
Condition: Chronic Phase Chronic Myeloid Leukemia
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed at 36 and this was the first treatment I was given. I went into full remission within the first 6 weeks of treatment. Almost 2 years in and I only notice more frequent mouth sores and very unusual menstral ing cycles. Dr says sprycel has nothing to do with my irregular, more frequent bleeding but it all started 3 mos into treatment. Overall I am so greatful to this drug and the research behind it. I was always a very health conscious, gym going, water drinking, no fast food eating person so this diagnosis came as a complete shock. I am just trying to find out if more women have experienced issues with their monthly cycles after beginning this medication. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | Patient
8/6/2014
Condition: Chronic Phase Chronic Myeloid Leukemia
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My most severe side effect was mouth sores. I did also experience headaches at first, but they went away after a month or so, a little joint pain also. I became unresponsive after 10 months.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Doc | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/25/2014
Condition: Chronic Phase Chronic Myeloid Leukemia
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking it January of 2014. I experienced a drastic platelet reduction. Then I stopped taking it for over one month. Began again, the side effects were worse -- experienced platelet reduction, RBC reduction, weight gain, headaches, tiredness, depression and chest pain.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Guest | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/13/2014
Condition: Chronic Phase Chronic Myeloid Leukemia
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed about 2 years ago, I am in full molecular remission. However I am 29, I suffer from chronic fatigue and I am now dealing with the fact that I want to get pregnant and there is no research, its very hard, There are no studies of what the outcome may be, I have to come off of it while pregnant, there are no studies as to how quickly my WBC will rise. Its frustrating. I can no longer go in the sun for periods of time ( I used to be a big tanner, I live in Florida ;) ) As well as I cannot tolerate heat and another weird side effect is that it has turned my eye lashes and eyebrows blonde. I'm a brunette. But other than that I AM IN REMMISION :)Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lkswag | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/15/2014
Condition: Type of Leukemia - Chronic Myelogenous Leukemia
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It worked like a miracle drug for me, yes there are a few side effects, dirreah, bone pain and I've had a little loss of hair but not much. The fact you have to take this the rest of my life is crazy but hay I'm in remission.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Susan | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/2/2013
Condition: Chronic Phase Chronic Myeloid Leukemia
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been on Sprycel 100mgs (1 tab) a day since August 2012. Diagnosed July 2012. Feeling pretty lucky. No pain and my blast cell count greatly reduced. Waiting on big 12 month results. Only differences are the not too frequent tired days and I can't carry heavy bags or groceries now as my arms will ache (drives me nuts!) :)

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/27/2013
Condition: Philadelphia Chromosome Positive Chronic Myelocytic Leukemia
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Great excepect for being very tired, some confusion and depression

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rainne | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years |
2/2/2013
Condition: Philadelphia Chromosome Positive Chronic Myelocytic Leukemia
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Severe bone pain from both Gleevec and Sprycel, Gleevec stopped working, Sprycel has caused other problems as well as the bone pain. Disabled due to side efttect of both the disease and the meds.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sansa | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
2/2/2013
Condition: Chronic Phase Chronic Myeloid Leukemia
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started on Gleevec, caused severe bone pain, stopped working, switched to Sprycel, can only tolerate lowest dose, 50mg, still have severe bone pain as well as quite a few other side effects. In remission for the last year or so. On disability, not able to function well due to pain and pain meds.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More