Show ratings & reviews for

3.8 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

18 People found this comment helpful

Don't let the negative reviews scare you! The majority of people using Implanon are happy so they don't bother to leave reviews online! I didn't get Implanon for years because of the negative reviews and now I wish I had talked to my doctor more and read fewer reviews. I have had my implant for 6 months now. I have no periods and no spotting and it has lifted a weight off my mind that was always t...

Most voted negative review

3 People found this comment helpful

I WAS ON THIS ON IT FOR MORE THEN A YEAR I HAD WEIGHT GAIN,MIGRAINS,DEPRESSION,NO SEX DRIVE ,MOODYNESS , I WOULD BLEED AT LEASTE TWICE A WEEK AND I WOULD USE A BOX A DAY OF TAMPONS I WOULD NOT USE IT AGAIN

Shared reviews and ratings

Concerned | 25-34 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/13/2019
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had my implant put in November 2018 and in January 2019 I started experiencing severe headaches. Then in March 2019 I started having problems with my eyesight. I thought the headaches is caused by the fact that my eyesight is getting bad due to working on a computer everyday. But turns out the implanon caused pressure on my brain and made the optic nerves of my eyes swell. So please if any one is having these symptoms have yourself checked out.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kiki | 25-34 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/12/2019
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Iâ??m 30 years of age with two children. Iâ??ve had every form of birth control you can imagine. While this is one of the best options for birth control as far as effectiveness and easy use, Iâ??m taking it out. The first four months I had periods every two weeks that lasted 12 days. During that in between phase, I spotted. It was horrible! Then I wouldnâ??t get a period for five months at a time and when my period came, it was excruciating and long with two weeks of spotting following. My sex drive is nonexistent and mood swings are through the roof and my vaginal irritation, discharge and my vagina are not kosher. This is too much for me. Rashes that come anywhere and everywhere on my body, acne and some bouts of depression. everyoneâ??s body is different and while it is effective and easy to use, itâ??s not for me. Iâ??m going to look towards a more permanent method.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cassie95 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/5/2018
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm not sure if it's just anxiety but does or did anyone experience a tingling sensation in their breasts or back because I have noticed since I got it I've had it as well as spotting and breast tenderness.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lindz | 35-44 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/11/2018
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Hi, I got the Implanon towards month end nov 2017, I was using diet pills at that time but stopped bcoz I had reached my goal of 62kg. in Dec 2017 I ate like a horse, I realized that I was not gaining weight, that was good. come Jan 2018, my appetite was Gone, I lost 1kg every week, I am now 55.6kg I am so moody, I am depressed, I want it out but scared to fall pregnant, I like the current weight bcoz I'm short (1.5) but my happiness is no more. I feel lonely most of the time, the fun-loving me is missing somewhere in the Implanon, and to make it worst I have marrital problems and I don't know what is what. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/25/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I hate it so much! Let me start off my saying I no longer feel like myself. I just can never be happy. Anything and everything makes me cry ( I was never an emotional peroson)!!! I get my period every 2 weeks for about 7-10 days. When getting my period I get the worse cramps. I've gained about 15 pounds and no longer want to have sex with my boyfriend. Don't get me wrong the BC does great by not getting me pregnant BUT to me dealing with all the side effects is messing with my head and making me go crazy. It's even taking a toll on my boyfriend. I'm getting it taken out next week Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jjjjjjjjj | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/17/2017
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Well girls I absolutely not recommend Implanon, let me tell you a little bit of my journey with it. I got Implanon on 8 August of 2016 and today I took it out the 17June of 2017 its been a nightmare. Of course it does what it suppose to do which is not getting you pregnant but on the other side it is the most horrible thing that has happened to me because of the side effects. 1. My period started to be irregular and after 3 months my period just disappeared 2. I am a person that alytry to take care of my skin and after one month of having Implanon my skin started to be dry, breakout a lot even on my back ?? I never ever used to breakout, and I started to notice some back spots that appeared for no reason 3. I used to b 150 and now I am 170 hopefully I can go back to my normal weight Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cor | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/19/2017
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had the implant for 2 years. decided to get it removed because we are ready to start a family. I had a period almost every 6 months, for a full week.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
swanks | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
11/8/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

If i was to recommend any birth control it would be this one! When i got it inserted i didn't have really any pain and it stopped my period which is the best part! So if you're thinking about getting borth control that is super effective and you don't have to worry about taking a pill every day or too much pain of getting it you should definitely go for the Implanon!! hope this helps

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
nokidslife | 19-24 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/2/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

So till the date I still have the birth control. The date I got it the only thing painful was the shot to numb my arm, that burned! everything was great but with time I have notice a lot of personality change in myself. I became extra sensitive about everything, I felt like I couldn't trust anyone and depression... it got to the point that I went to speak with someone. I use to have regular but painful three day period before the birth control. Now ever other, if not every month I still pms and get cramps. Where the birth control is, I get sharp pains at times.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Surraxsweet | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/1/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Loved how it protected me BUT it made me get acne (which I haven't had since middle school) all over and made my vagina dry, swollen and itchy more than once so I've have it for about 4 months and I'm getting it taken out ASAP Back to the pill I guess :/

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cathy | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
9/15/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am on my seventh year, 3rd round of Implanon. I absolutely love it. I have not had any side effects and I have not had any bleeding in seven years! I am 46 years old. This has been the best birth control I have ever used in my life and believe me, I've tried a lot of different ones.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jersey732 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/23/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

o, my experience with the Implanon (Nexplanon) Implant was adventurous, to say the least, and not in good way. The second week of insertion, I felt like I was pregnant. Literally, from food cravings to nausea. I felt light headed from time to time. And mood swings, OH the MOOD SWINGS! But at that point in time I didn't think anything of it. I figured it was just my body's way of adapting to a new medicine. Whatever. A couple months later, I talked to my doctor about getting back on my depression medicine...no big deal. I've been depressed most of my life. Side note that i though was pretty cool: Over time I noticed a day before I started my period the area that the device was located would feel a burning pinching sensation... Much cleaner than my normal surprise so I added that to the pros list. As well as increased sex drive ;) Fast forward a year and I start seeing a change in my work ethic. I'm blaming all my problems on other people. I'm literally lashing out (crying hysterically over the smallest bull. Cursing people out, including a manager. Got my first customer complaint, ever) at my place of employment. My managers and coworkers start thinking I have some sort of mental disorder or something and shit, at this point I'm starting to think so too! I start thinking about what this could be. My birth control was the LAST thing I thought of because I never had to think of it...to be honest I kinda forgot I had it. So I go to my best friend, Google, and because the birth control was practically new, no one had reviewed it much other than to say it's great! I understand everyone reacts different and that's great if it's working out for you...but this is for the girls who have turned into a crazed psychotic bitch like I did. Please, get it out!!!! I have no doubts that my doctor knows what she is doing and I'm comfortable saying I feel she put it in correctly...but the removal of my device was a bit harder than she expected.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/15/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had the implanon implant for a little over 2 years now and will need to be removed in October of this year(2016). I love it, I have had no problems or changes since I got it, I have lite spotting for 2-3 days once every couple of months other then that no period. It has been so nice to not have to remember to take something or worry about it falling out.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
corinne_le_fay | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
12/19/2015
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had Implanon for 5 months,then had it taken off. Good: -practicaly certain of not getting pregnant; -not having to remember it; -bigger breasts. Bad: Menstruated or had spotting for almost 3 of the 5 months, and menstruated in more quantity. Had 3 months of premenstrual sindrome (mood swings, irritability. Very bad for my mental health and relationship.) Worsened my rhinitis alergica, also very disruptive. My nose was inflamated like in rhinitis gravidica, despite maximum rhinitis medication. Not so easy to stop: as it requires minor intervention, I kept waiting that sideffects would pass. I advise trying oral progesterones a few months first. Not advisable for low stature and weight (55kg),bad premenstrual simdrome, depressive history or rhinitis.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
AmberNicole | 13-18 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/9/2015
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a terrible experience with this implant. I had fits of anger and severe depression on and off from months 3-5. I got it removed after 5 months. I was terribly depressed and lost nearly 30 pounds in 2.5 months. I had terrible fits of violent anger uncontrollably. It caused problems in relationships with everyone. It took about 3 months off of it to feel completely back to normal, and I still occasionally have fits of anger. I had a friend that recommended this to me who had fits of anger all the time and was really just an angry person a lot of the time. I always figured it was just her personality, now I know it's the hormones from her implant! I would not recommend this to anyone.,Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Alexandria114411 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/21/2015
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been on it for a year and a half and after I hit the year mark I started getting my pieriod every other week and it was very heavy and it was the worst menstrual cramps I've ever had. Other that that I'm loving it. And I love how I don't have to worry about anything for 3 years :)

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
asandrrs | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/7/2015
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've had the implant for 10 months now, and before was using depo provera. The only side effect I've noticed is a light, but constant menstrual flow. I've started using the menstrual cup though, so it's not a big issue. I'm medicated for anxiety and depression, so I haven't had the issues with mood that others have had. (I did react badly to birth controls with estrogen though)

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Becka | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/24/2015
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had this for 3 months. I did not like it. The first 6 weeks was fine but then I started bleeding 5 days a week all month long. I woke up sick every morning. I was extremely moody and depressed.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gelly | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
9/5/2015
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

As far as effectiveness goes, I have not gotten pregnant which may be attributed to the fact that I don’t get to have sex all that often. My fiancé and I are basically abstinent because I have a period for a month at a time all the time. So that's why I gave 4 stars. The ease of use for the implant is fine, no issues for difficulties directly related to the implant itself. Although, healing after the insertion was pretty rough and it seriously limited my ability to do daily activities. I only gave it 3 stars though because while I have had the implant, I have had periods that last 3-4 weeks with pretty heavy flow and maybe a week in between with no flow. It is quite the inconvenience, always having to carry around protection, not to mention being on your cycle for SO LONG. I get worried about constantly wearing a tampon + panty liner like 24/7 which I do end up changing every few hours to reduce the risk of infection. My overall satisfaction is low because of all the reasons stated above plus the fact that I have gained 20+ pounds. I have not had acne problems but the long flow with the weight gain and the inability to have sex is why I rate it so low. The whole point of it is to protect me from getting pregnant while having sex, but if I cannot have sex because I am always on my period then what's the point. I have had it now for 9 months hoping each month that it will finally give me the results I wanted out of it to begin with. I don't see a change happening and as soon as I can get in to my doctor, I am going to have it removed. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ORCHID WARRIOR | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/17/2015
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I AM GIVING THIS DRUG FULL STARS, BECAUSE THERE ARE OBVIOUS BASHERS WITH OTHER MOTIVES. I AM AT THE END OF MY TERM WITH THIS ONE. IT'S MY FIRST TIME TRYING IT, AND HONESTLY THE LONG CONSECUTIVE MONTHS WITHOUT A PERIOD WAS THE BEST. ONCE, I HAD ALMOST A YEAR WITH ONLY ONE OR TWO. I AM ALSO VERY HEALTH, WITH NO WEIGHT ISSUES. WE ALL HAVE TO CONTROL OUR BODIES, AND I THOUGHT THE WARNED SIDE AFFECTS(BY THE NURSE) WERE PRETTY ACCURATE. I HAVE HAD NO SERIOUS PROBLEMS ASIDE FROM THE ANNOYANCE, OF A REALLY LONG PERIODS (6 WEEKS) EVERY 6-8 MONTHS, OR SO. IT'S TIME TO TAKE IT OUT, SO I'M READY, AS I'M NOT TAKING ANY CHANCES, BUT OVERALL I AM VERY,VERY HAPPY. I WONDER WHAT HAPPENS WHEN YOU DON'T, OR CAN'T TAKE IT OUT WITH IN THE ALLOTTED TIME?Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More