Show ratings & reviews for

3.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

11 People found this comment helpful

Had been on glucophage for 2 years but had to stop due to diarrhea problems Then put on glumetza and have started to have bowel problems but not sure if it is the medicine or not.

Most voted negative review

1 People found this comment helpful

I put 'ineffective' because I have only taken this pill for 3 days. I am 'not satisfied' with it either, because of pain in the stomach and lower abdomen and having to run to the bathroom. I was taking metformin several years ago but stopped because the side effects were interfering with my work...my doctor put me on glumetza. Things worked for awhile but it was too expensive for me, so I stopped....

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/12/2016
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Glumetza relieved the stomach issues I had when taking Metformin; however, my numbers were not as low. Glumetza cost skyrocketed, so I had to go back to Metformin.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MLR | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/29/2015
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on Metformin (2 x 500 mg pd) for 4 1/2 years. Gradually nausea, heartburn started and increased until it was unbearable. I learned about Glumetza 1000 mg started in April 2015 and side effects disappeared within a few days.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DMM | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/13/2015
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I don't like Metformin. It makes me tired and upsets my stomach. Glumetza has been the best for my stomach. The price is prohibitive. I've been spending $353/month and it just jumped to over $3000! And I have good insurance!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | Patient
7/23/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
nena | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/14/2014
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I stated to take this medicine from two week gives bed muscle pain .

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
escp4177 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/9/2014
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

blood ssugar not as low as it use to be.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
June | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/19/2014
Condition: Prevention of Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on Metformin 1000mg QD and was experiencing horrible Gastric symptoms and suffer with neuropathy so painful it did not allow me to go to sleep. I discussed the issues with my Dr and she switched me to Glumetza 500XR and it is AMAZING! No GAS at ALL! NO GASTRIC ISSUES AT ALL, NO LOW SUGAR FEELINGS..AND LESSENS MY NEUROPATHY PAIN! LOVE, LOVE, LOVE THIS MED!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/16/2013
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Changed to gourmets a ER from regular metformin to alleviate diarrhea issue. It works very well, provided I have a minimal amount of starch-type carbs (fruits don't do it). If I get the minimal carbs with a meal, say a piece of toast, it works like a charm with no side effects. If I don't get enough or the right kind, I get an unpleasant few hours with gastric issues.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jim | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/14/2013
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Moved to Glumetza ER after severe diaherria with base Glumetza, still have morning diaherria but not as severe. Take 1000 mg twice a day, once in morning and again at night.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
flora | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year |
8/26/2013
Condition: Prevention of Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

diarreah and itching and blisters

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
p31gd4 | 45-54 | Female | Patient
8/1/2013
Condition: Prevention of Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

HIGH INSULIN IN BLOOD--NOT HIGH SUGAR--HIGH INSULIN-96/DR WANTS IT UNDER 10--SIDE EFFECTS HORRIBLE-STOMACH ACHE/DIARHEA; weaj/fatigue

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/19/2013
Condition: Prevention of Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I put 'ineffective' because I have only taken this pill for 3 days. I am 'not satisfied' with it either, because of pain in the stomach and lower abdomen and having to run to the bathroom. I was taking metformin several years ago but stopped because the side effects were interfering with my work...my doctor put me on glumetza. Things worked for awhile but it was too expensive for me, so I stopped. After my last visit with my doctor we decided I should try it again...NO, NO, NO! Not only stomach pains and diarrhea, but my lips tingle, I'm lightheaded and my legs hurt! I am finished with any type of metformin!!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
tulsame | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/6/2013
Condition: Prevention of Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I got really sick on metformin. I couldn't keep food in me, it ran right through. This pill has not only not given me any adverse reactions but I also lost 5 pounds in the first month on it without changing anything else. If it wasn't so expensive, I would be ecstatic. It is SO expensive though and I'm praying for a cheaper alternative for the future.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
beanie571 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/27/2013
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took 1 500mg pill for 2 days and had the worst nausea, gas and stomach pains!!! I can't take it again. Had a similar, but less severe experience with Metformin ER. My doctor told me this was gentler on the stomach since it was the brand name drug and it broke down differently. It felt WAY worse with Glumetza - after only 2 days. NEVER AGAIN!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
glumetza | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/21/2013
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/13/2013
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Weight gain. control of blood sugars. cost.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/5/2013
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Makes me very anxious, quiting it today on it for 5 weeks

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
susan | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/8/2013
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This was an aweful drug for me. I was taking generic Metformin and my Dr switched me to the name brand Glumetza in an effort to stop the diarrhea I was experiencing. Once I paid $800 for a month supply and gave it a try the diarrhrea was actually worse!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | Patient
1/19/2013
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was working well initially but not working now. Blood sugar over 200 now fasting.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BikeCommuter | 65-74 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
12/17/2012
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug is insanely expensive and it does not work for me, does nothing!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More