Show ratings & reviews for

3.8 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

12 People found this comment helpful

I've tried many allergy medications that made me drowsy or didn't work. This medication works great for my allergies. Since the first day I tried it, all my allergy symptoms were cleared up. The taste of the spray is gross, but it only lasts a few minutes. It didn't cause the drowsy effect of some antihistamines.

Most voted negative review

3 People found this comment helpful

IT HS GIVEN ME S/S OF RHEUMATOID ARTRITIS, MYALGIA,WEIGHT GAIN THAT CLEARED UP WHEN I STOPPED TAKING IT.

Shared reviews and ratings

Lc | 75 or over | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/24/2020
Condition: Seasonal Runny Nose
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Only took it for 2 days. Had insomnia, nausea and intense pins and needles in legs and hands after an hour of using my nose was totally stuffed

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
allieK | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
1/24/2019
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is my go-to medication whenever I have an allergic throat. Sometimes my throat will itch so badly that I can't sleep. This takes care of it right away.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/1/2018
Condition: Non-Seasonal Allergic Runny Nose
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Shortly after my first dose, I experience fatigue, significant drowsiness drowsiness, body aches. Problems gradually went away. Won’t be taking it again

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MAB | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/12/2018
Condition: Inflammation of the Nose due to an Allergy
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I just started 6 days ago-helps with congestion/headache, but makes me sleepy... will start using at night. Flonase wasn't helping much anymore.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
4/20/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I use Astelin if I encounter the early signs of a sinus infection (sinus pressure, runny nose, etc.) and it has been most effective in minimizing the potential for a major sinus infection occurring. I has helped tremendously in reducing the number of serious sinus infections I now have.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
3/26/2017
Condition: Non-Seasonal Allergic Runny Nose
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is the only nasal spray that seems to work for me. At first it makes me sneeze and my nose run more for just 5 minutes about. Then I blow my nose and it's all dried up and I can go about my day. I wish I could get it over the counter since it's not a steroid. There are other nasal sprays that are steroids that they sell over the counter which make things worse in the long run.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
gulf4803 | 65-74 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
8/25/2016
Condition: Inflammation of the Nose due to an Allergy
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication produces a foul taste and also relays that taste to food at a meal a coupe=le of hour later. When I say foul, it's so bad that this medication does not measure up.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/4/2015
Condition: Inflammation of the Nose due to an Allergy
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Right now I am alternating this and Flonase.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rich | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/7/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This product worked great. HOWEVER, I used it for 3 days and wanted to scratch my skin off. I had to stop using it. 43.00 down the drain. My advice is to TRY IT. BUT, if you begin to itch. Stop immediately!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Deborah | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/30/2013
Condition: Seasonal Runny Nose
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on Astepro but new insurance won't cover that and I was switched to this. I am wake up 2-3 times nightly with post nasal drip causing coughing and choking sensation.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
3/27/2013
Condition: Inflammation of the Nose due to an Allergy
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Awesome stuff... I have tried almost everthing there is on the market over the years. I started using this when it first came on the market in 1997 and still it is the only thing that gives me relief. Mostly use at night due to the sleepness, but I can also use in the morning while drinking a cup of coffee. The caffine seems to ward off the drowiness.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ajhsys | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/9/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taste is terrible. Medication caused irregular heart beat.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/3/2012
Condition: Inflammation of the Nose due to an Allergy
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It's too soon to get another Kenalog shot, so the doc put me on this stuff. Very expensive and does NOT help at all. Eyes itchy and watery, sneezing, etc. Am counting down the days until I can get another shot!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lleemat | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/27/2012
Condition: Inflammation of the Nose due to an Allergy
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

has not helped but nothing has helped yet

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
HaleyK | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
7/6/2012
Condition: Vasomotor Rhinitis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Astelin has truly been a Godsend for me. Like many others, I have suffered with VR since childhood...now over 15 years. I would have sneezing "fits" for hours that would completely drain me & I would be in bed for the next day or two. It was really debilitating at times...I know, just sneezing but it took everything out of me. Finally my doctor diagnosed the condition as VR which explained why Antihistamines were ineffective...my body was not producing any histamines for medication to block! Astelin has been 100% effective for me. I sometimes worry about the day they take it off the market! For about 6 years now, Astelin has kept my VR under control and I can function normally. I still avoid triggers like scents, smoke, etc. A note about the bad taste - my doctor taught me to look down at my toes when spraying so it does not drain straight into my throat. It works like a charm :)Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bwarren3 | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/18/2012
Condition: Vasomotor Rhinitis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After a bad case of fluid buildup, lost over 50 lbs but my sinuses went out of control. Have had sinus problems my entire life and always found something otc that worked until this time. Specialist Dr. recommended Astelin. Has worked since the 2nd spray. Now back to almost normal, when warm weather comes don't need it but cold weather works better every night without skipping nights. Great stuff. Other sprays never worked at all. No side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jungleinferno | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/5/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've had a long history of sinus infections, and had 3 in 4 months recently. Have tried Claritin, Sudafed, and other nasal sprays. Claritin and Sudafed stopped working after some time and other nasal sprays had an unacceptably long-lasting bitter taste. Astelin has changed everything. I take it only at night (makes me tired) and I sleep better, have not had a single sinus infection since starting it, and I can go days without blowing my nose. Astelin's going to put Kleenex out of business. Basically, this is a great product and I highly recommend that others with sinus issues give it a try.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
levibluez | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/21/2012
Condition: Inflammation of the Nose due to an Allergy
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

this stuff is awesome.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
molove | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/19/2012
Condition: Inflammation of the Nose due to an Allergy
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i had used this before and stopped due to sneezing fits. i ran out of my other nasal spray,so i went back to using this one. again, terrible sneezing fits. now, by the 3rd use...i can barely bend my upper body or neck due to severe pain from the last sneezing fit. i feel like i pulled a muscle or pinched a nerve in my chest/back/lower neck from the severe sneezing. came to research side effects/problems caused by this spray. i am in serious pain and will have to seek medical treatment if it persists tomorrow. can't believe this was caused by a nasal spray. very painful, dangerous and rather scary to think this could have happened. it's been almost 12 hours and yet the pain is unbelievable...all from a sneeze induced by this spray.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
9/27/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

A weekend urgent care doctor got me on this when I had a severe sinus affection that I had gotten fed up with. The doctor the week before wouldn't give me amoxicillan to help, so I went to the urgent care the weekend instead and this woman gave me a strong dose of amoxicillan and prescribed azelastine for future head colds. She figured out (after years of suffering) that I do not handle colds very well due to my makeup in that region and as a result, I'm more susceptible to getting a sinus infection afterwards. That's why she gave me azelastine to boot. I cannot begin to describe what a difference it has made. For years doctors have told me to take basic saline solution, which has never worked. Right now I have a cold, and I am surviving. Trust me, that is saying a lot if you are referring to me. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More