Show ratings & reviews for

4.3 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

17 People found this comment helpful

After having used every other pain med on the market - without any long-term benefit, Fentora was a god-send! It takes effect quickly, smoothly, and has relatively few side effects. I only wish the DEA didn't leave doctor's feeling so terrified - that it's now extremely difficult to find a provider who's willing to prescribe these meds to those who need them. Most doctor's with whom I spoke bec...

Shared reviews and ratings

vj | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/25/2018
Condition: Breakthrough Cancer Pain in Opioid-Tolerant Patient
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on fentanyl sublingual for about 2 years. I had no difficulty with it; however, my doctor felt pressured by the medical board. For some reason Fentora is more acceptable than fentanyl. I cannot tolerate this medicine. 2.5 months later, it still makes me nauseous. I cannot keep it down or food or liquids. I have tried it with and without food, but to no avail. At this point, the thought of Fentora makes my stomach ache. I have damage to my teeth from chemo, and the Fentora makes my gums hurt. I wish I could have the positive experience so many have written about here; however, this drug is no good for me.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/10/2013
Condition: Breakthrough Pain in Opioid Tolerant Patients
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My spine is collapsed and I have a Osteomyeolitis, RSD, failed back surgery by un licensed doctor. Is there anyone out there that can direct me to someone that can help me. The Fentora 800mg Buccal tablet was the only relied I ever had. I am bedridden, can't sleep bc pain is to intense, I was on Fentora for a while and it helped, it actually gave me my life and good attitude back. My husband took a position with a new company and we went to the pharmacy that month and my portion was 50% totalling $9000.00. On a scale from 1-10, my pain level is 13. I need help, i cannot take 300 other pills that just do not give me the relief like Fentora 800mg Buccal. Left depressed and bedridden. Why can the Insuance companies dictate what patients who are severely injured ccan take. I cannot take this any longer.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Blackstone | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
11/27/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been on pain meds for about 15 years, done most. About 3 years ago I was in on the trial of a med that you put in your cheek and it melts away the pain. Now I'm on that med - it was a fentora testing. Works great, very expensive. But my Dr gives me 4-400mg boxes and 1 200mg box per 28days. I also take delaudid and exalgo (another great one for me). This is all due to a "360" back operation and diabetic neuropathy. Works within 10minutes and thus far, when I do run out I have no withdrawls at all. I was amazed. When I run out of delaudid - look out! It costs me about $40 for the 28days and my ins hasn't said anything yet. Whew, cause it's the best thing going!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
inpainhelp | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
1/19/2012
Condition: Breakthrough Pain in Opioid Tolerant Patients
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i have been on pain meds for years for a back injury and also have a bone disease and my bones hurt and i also have nerve damage that causes pain alot of pain. this med worked very well but my insurance wont pay for it because it is only approved for cancer pain so i am dissapointed and in a lot of pain i don;t know what else to do.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
nickdogchillin | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/21/2011
Condition: Breakthrough Pain in Opioid Tolerant Patients
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Fentora is so much money..." 4 a day 120mth =$6200." But We called the maker and sent in my W2'S - Bank Statements - and script.. THEY APPROVED me so I get them for free. I have 3 full blown Disc followed by DDD. It's super painful and it 100% 24/7 pain and it doesn't let up. I mean pain followed by his evil twin Sciatica down my growing,legs,butt etc..Sometimes it feels like a cell phone is going off in my butt cheek??....Fentora simply works! I take Percs 10/325,Soma's and Fentora 400mg are my tools to tackle my pain/sciatica... Just wanna be pain free and FREE from all freak in pills. What can you do? Have no life or take handful of pill that will pit and elephant down to live a little pain free life....IDK...Just sucks Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MissGrace | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/7/2011
Condition: Breakthrough Pain in Opioid Tolerant Patients
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have had 9 back surgeries and spine is 100% fused. Also have RA. Med works well but I do feel it causes mental confusion at times. Main problem is getting the insurance company to pay for this. Trouble every refill. My doctor's office has refused to issue a new script on time, making me wait up to 7 days because my doctor was on vacation and the other doctor would not approve. Nurse refuses to believe (or maybe care) that I go through withdrawal. Does anyone know a drug that works as well for break-thru pain and is not as expensive? Does anyone else have to wait up to 7 days w/o medication before getting a new refill? Did you have withdrawal?Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Yhadayhada | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/5/2011
Condition: Breakthrough Pain in Opioid Tolerant Patients
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I experience excruciating pain due to 9 nerve root cysts. They also cause severe sciatica. Nothing works as well as this medication for breakthrough pain. Without pain I am able to enjoy life. The pain free state is certainly taken for granted. I do not have cancer but can't believe that the constant, extreme pain I experience is "less painful" than that felt by cancer patients. Due to this drug being approved only for Cancer patients my insurance company has an "out" to refuse payment. My son was married recently and to ensure that I could attend and remain through the reception I bought the RX myself. It was almost $1500. for 28 pills. I enjoyed the festivities because I remained pain free thanks to Fentora. It is criminal that I am denied insurance coverage thus quality of living because someone in the FDA thinks this should be approved for "cancer pain" only. Obviously the FDA is not as informed as it should be as it relates to the origin of severe cancer type pain. This drug should not be considered "off label" if prescribed for other types of extreme pain. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
keri | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/30/2010
Condition: Breakthrough Pain in Opioid Tolerant Patients
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My insurance won't pay for this medication. It's $750.00 for 28 pills,..wow thats expensive! Should be more insurance friendly!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SuzieQ | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/2/2010
Condition: Breakthrough Pain in Opioid Tolerant Patients
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed this medication for break through pain of Rheumatoid Arthritis and I think it is a very good medication for this condition. I do feel that Dr.s need to monitor their pt.s better to see if they need an increase in medication due to becoming tolerant of the medication as well.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cyrus | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/25/2010
Condition: Breakthrough Pain in Opioid Tolerant Patients
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

pain so bad that was unale to walk or move around. after working out the doseage, was a great help in the pain but must be checked by Dr. every month. Doseage changed once. This was a last resort med. some would last about a year and than become tolerante to the med and have to change it. This so far has kept the worst pain down to a bareable level.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Imissfentora | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/3/2009
Condition: Breakthrough Pain in Opioid Tolerant Patients
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After three back surgeries I was tolerant to almost everything. Fentora was wonderful at controlling my pain and I didn't feel high. The only two issues were that tolerance comes quickly and the cost. After I got up to 9,600 mcg/day (12 x 800mcg) within a year I decided I needed to get off these. Also, insurance stopped paying and the 800mcg's were $35 per pill so it would have cost me $12,600 per month. It took seven months to wind down reducing 10% per week and it was rough. When I got down to 2,200 mcg/day I jumped off. I still had severe withdrawl for two days in spite of taking subutex to help but I am finally done. I miss how well they worked but I don't miss being captive to them. If I missed a dose I got withdrawl sickness failry quickly. Great drug for break through pain but it gets a hold of you very quickly which could be managed had it not been so expensive. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
11/16/2009
Condition: Breakthrough Pain in Opioid Tolerant Patients
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

To list the meds I've taken to help with pain for fibro, r.a., 4&5 vertabrae out of wack, cracked tailbone, sacrum and pelvis, I would need a book to list every med that's been tried, these work pretty dang good, the fentora over time work for less and less....I've never once had a problem with my ins. covering this med, my ins pays $5.00 for every med, including these so I'm lucky in that respect....I catch myself needing more and more because they really not are as effective after time, they work but not as well.....I lived in NJ for 2 yrs and got lucky finding a doc that would treat me with what I found to work, when I came back to Mich, even though my doc sent copies of ALL my records I had one heck of a time finding a doc that would treat me, even my own family doc that delivered my 3 kids and had my doctor for 20 years wouldn't treat with anything other than vicodin, that's like baby aspirin when your in this much pain....and once (and I love this doctor) he actually had the nerve to tell me I was just depressed (OF COURSE I WAS DEPRESSED, WHO WOULDNT BE IN THAT MUCH PAIN) and it was all in my head....my jaw hit the floor, yes I still see him for colds and sneezes, I see another located in a pain treatment center an hour away for my big medical issuesRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Fentora | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/20/2009
Condition: Breakthrough Pain in Opioid Tolerant Patients
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
risa101 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/17/2009
Condition: Breakthrough Pain in Opioid Tolerant Patients
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
roadrage69 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/23/2009
Condition: Breakthrough Pain in Opioid Tolerant Patients
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After 3 major back surgerys and still in 24/7 pain this is the only medication that has relieved the pain in my legs, it does not last long and I am only allowed 3 pills a day and my pain doc said the insurance co. will probably stop paying for it after just a few months and I have tried so many different pain meds this is the only one that gives me some relief, sometimes rarely it will take until the third dose before it relieves the pain but the relief I have had is the best that I have had since July of 2004. I have been extremely tired I do not know if it is from this medication or something else going on I do not have much of a appetite but that's OK. I just hope and pray that my health insurance will not stop paying for it. Thanks for everybody else's reviewsRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
afflicted | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/12/2009
Condition: Breakthrough Pain in Opioid Tolerant Patients
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The greatest benefit from this medication is that when you are in pain and it is at an intolerable level, you can administer the tablet and your treatment will take effect usually within 5-10 minutes. This is substantial considering the levels and duration of chronic pain.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bluebuster | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/30/2009
Condition: Pain In a Cancer Patient When On Pain Medication
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken a lot of differnt pain meds and have found this to be the best and I have to also fight with my ins

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
propertymgrva | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
2/26/2009
Condition: Breakthrough Pain in Opioid Tolerant Patients
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Opioid tolerance occurred after three spine surgeries and pain releif was difficult (both hydro and oxycodone were not effective - including slow release). After exceeding 120 mg of long acting pain (per dose) and 90 mg of break-through medication - a pain management specialist recommended Opana and Fentora. The Opana was equivilant to oxycontin and too expensive. The Fentora, though very expensive, is extreemly effective.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
2/1/2009
Condition: Breakthrough Pain in Opioid Tolerant Patients
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have 7 ruptured disc in thr back and work 60 weeks, I have great health insurance, but for this med, I have had no help from my insurance at all, I have severe digestion issues so this med works well for me except for the terrible gum issues, but when you have the pain I do in my spine, gum pain is minimum. I have tried the companys pt assistance but since I have drug coverage, I can't get any help. If anyone has found a way to get around this issue, please send a review of your experience. The drug is great, if only you can afford it.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kirk3486 | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/11/2009
Condition: Breakthrough Pain in Opioid Tolerant Patients
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have to remove my dentures. Will the "lollypop" work better for me?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More