Show ratings & reviews for

3.9 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

20 People found this comment helpful

I was diagnosed of low testosterone as a result of high prolactin in my blood. I use to have embarrassing sex with my wife until I started this treatment. Just about weeks I started taking it, my wife is the one running away from me now. I've used it for about a year now and have no regrets about it. I think the only side effect I experienced and still experiencing is a rapid and high increase in ...

Most voted negative review

2 People found this comment helpful

I was diagnosed with a prolactin microadenoma in 2007. I was pregnant in 2005 but the pregnancy was unsuccessful. Afterward I noticed that my breast milk never went away and I ignored the problem for over two years until severe headaches and increased milk production forced me to bring it up to my gyno who recommended and MRI. Low and behold there lay a tumor on my pituitary. Not sure if the tu...

Shared reviews and ratings

Bwbek | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/10/2021
Condition: Increased Levels of Prolactin in the Blood
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started talking it 4 weeks ago got weird side effects they went around week 2/3 still no period wish the doctor told me when round about I should get my period as I haven’t had it yet

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nancy | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
1/6/2021
Condition: Increased Levels of Prolactin in the Blood
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The side effects make me very uncomfortable.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/3/2021
Condition: Increased Levels of Prolactin in the Blood
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been taking cabergoline for 1 year and 2 months, i haven't experienced the depression or bad thoughts. Still haven't had a period. It's better than the bromocriptine. I felt like garbage when i was on it. Guess it depends on the person.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
somegirl | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/3/2020
Condition: Increased Levels of Prolactin in the Blood
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started taking last week, after first dose had very bad migraine and constant urination. After 2nd dose I have not had any symptoms, other then my pee being darker then usual, anyone else? I take .25 twice a week. I have a 3mm pituitary microadenoma. My periods disappear for 3 months every now and then, blood test and mri determined elevated prolactin levels.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Krishna | 19-24 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/24/2020
Condition: Increased Levels of Prolactin in the Blood
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am taking this medicine since 3 months(0.5mg) cause my prolactin level increased 48 and no menstruate for 3months.. but still my periods irregular.. I always feel depressed and anxiety.. A little blur vision also.. I had headaches due to migraine that increased..

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
miahcelina | 25-34 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/29/2019
Condition: Increased Levels of Prolactin in the Blood
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started taking the drug after finding out I had a prolactinoma (9mm) for about 6 months, and my period came back as normal after not having one for 3 months. I suddenly stopped taking the medication due to me being extremely depressed and not caring about my health and also my medical bills were sky high and the endocrinologist wanted to see me again before prescribing more so I completely stopped taking medicine and going to the specialist for over a year. I haven't gotten a period in about 6 months now. A couple weeks ago I went back to an endocrinologist and started back on the cabergoline and have been experiencing extreme nausea. It's been 9 days and I haven't gotten a period YET but I'm hoping like the first time it will. My goal is to be able to have children. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SBK045 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/10/2019
Condition: Increased Levels of Prolactin in the Blood
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking this medicine after being diagnosed with hyperprolactinemia and a pituitary adenoma. I was having highly irregular periods. My periods normalized almost immediately, and my prolactin went from 79 to 25 (high end of normal) very quickly. I already struggle with headaches, and found they increased on this medicine. After taking it for about 4 months, I noticed a very dramatic change in my moods. I was down, depressed, and having very scary thoughts about how useless life was. After sharing this with my doctor, she advised me to stop taking the drug. I felt like a different person (in a good way!) just 2-3 days after stopping. It worked to reduce my tumor size and prolactin level, but it wasn't worth the scary mental side effects for me. I am considering trying Bromocriptine, but nervous b/c most people do worse on that drug than Cabergoline. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
patyyroger | 35-44 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
3/30/2017
Condition: Increased Levels of Prolactin in the Blood
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took Cabergoline for a pituitary adenoma (prolactinoma), I was not able to get pregnant I did use a lot of other medicine treatments but nothing work, I had the prolactin levels between 150 an 398, when the treatment began it lower it to 100 then stay at 7-10 after that and 13 yrs trying I got pregnant and now have 2 beautiful kids boy (5) girl (3) the secondary effects were really bad at the beginning and every time they up the medications I had to be on it for about 8 yrs I notice if I took at night the symptoms when away I LOOOOVEE THIS DRUG it gave me my kids the adenoma despair Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/25/2017
Condition: Increased Levels of Prolactin in the Blood
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This has been an effective drug to reduce high prolactin levels, but has anyone just gone off of it suddenly? Any side effects?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years |
7/16/2016
Condition: Increased Levels of Prolactin in the Blood
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed of low testosterone as a result of high prolactin in my blood. I use to have embarrassing sex with my wife until I started this treatment. Just about weeks I started taking it, my wife is the one running away from me now. I've used it for about a year now and have no regrets about it. I think the only side effect I experienced and still experiencing is a rapid and high increase in libido.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/5/2016
Condition: Increased Levels of Prolactin in the Blood
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this medication for a year. the first 3 weeks I felt dizzy and drowsy, and a rash on neck. I could not drink any caffeine, once I stopped drinking coffee I felt fabulous. I recovered my menstruation 3 weeks after taking the medication and in 3 months my prolactin levels that were 150 went down to 30. The side effects disappeared.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mzdee16 | 25-34 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/27/2016
Condition: Increased Levels of Prolactin in the Blood
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was put on this medication because my prolactin levels were 76 and they retested and they were 54 which was still high and I also have pcos....I have been on cabergoline for 2 weeks and has absolutely NO side effects!!! My cycles have been extremely irregular and I haven't had a period since December 2015 after being on cabergoline for a week my period came out of nowhere! It seems to be doing its job and hopefully it will help me in my journey of TTC!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/7/2016
Condition: Increased Levels of Prolactin in the Blood
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Lowered my blood prolactin to normal levels very quickly. It also increased my energy levels, restarted my periods, stopped my lactation, improved my depression, and improved my sexual function back to normal levels. I did find that I got more headaches while taking the drug, and I needed to take it right before bed for this reason. Could not believe how much better I felt taking it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ROM | 35-44 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
8/10/2015
Condition: Increased Levels of Prolactin in the Blood
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking Cabergoline for a pituitary adenoma (prolactinoma). Great medicine, the tumor reduced in size very quickly (effectiveness), no side effects at all, and I've been very happy with it. Prior to Cabergoline, I was taking bromocriptine. That medicine was giving me nausea, hot flashes, and I would get fatigued very easy and with very little physical activity. After getting switched to Cabergoline, I felt very good, no side effects, and had a very significant effect on the tumor very quickly.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Shamma | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/18/2015
Condition: Increased Levels of Prolactin in the Blood
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been diagnosed with PCOS and high prolactin levels in my blood. However, after an MRI, there was no sign of pituitary gland but my gynecologist advised me that we should try lowering the levels as it may have a link with the fact that I have very irregular periods. I have been prescribed to take one 0.5 dose twice a week. so far I am on my second tablet and I feel really really dizzy and have been sleeping excessively !!!!No other side effects to report so far....

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
miss o | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/11/2015
Condition: Increased Levels of Prolactin in the Blood
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was switched to this drug after being on bromocriptine for a little over a year. After about a month of taking this med started experiencing shortness of breath, heart palpitations, chronic fatigue, slept all the time, hard time concentrating, and poor memory retention. Went off it after 3 and 1/2 months. Shortness of breath and heart palpitations went away within a few days of stopping the medication

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Yeehaa | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/19/2014
Condition: Increased Levels of Prolactin in the Blood
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

MRI discovered Pit tumor. Dr. Ask me if i had any prob. Yes, no sex drive for many years. They revealed Prolactin level was 1700mg? After hormone test. Prescribed Cabergoline .5 mg. Prolac dropped to 30mg almost immediately. I rediscovered what women were for. My penis actually grew back to where it should be, very proud of it now. My testicles are sore occasionally but it is a good sore i think they are filling back up( my feeling only) now that i actually think about sex i asked my primary for Viagra. I used 1/2 50mg tablet (expensive stuff) thought I was walking around with somebody elses erection. Damn that felt nice. Now I am looking for a woman to share my 18 year old penis with. My wife has her own sexual problems. So here I am with a new predicament, we are both 55 y.o. .Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
B. Patient | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/8/2013
Condition: Increased Levels of Prolactin in the Blood
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After a year of TTC and no success, I went to see a fertility doc who tested my blood. Prolactin levels were at 63 then 77 a week later. Started taking Cabergoline .5 mg once a week and tested after 4 weeks. Levels went down to 50, but still over normal range. Dosage was upped to 1 mg once a week. After 3-4 weeks of this dosage, I conceived and am now 7 weeks pregnant! Success! Am now off of it bc of the pregnancy, but am so happy it worked. Side effects were worst when I first began the drug then when the dosage was upped. My best strategy was to take my once-a-week dosage on the weekends, when I had a day to be tired and a little woozy and get lost in a good book or movie. Also, drinking when I took my dosage was not a good idea! It already gave me hangover symptoms.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
pwlepp | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/8/2013
Condition: Increased Levels of Prolactin in the Blood
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Extremely effective drug. I've been on it for not quite a year and the the prolactinoma is nearly gone. Much, much better tolerated than bromocriptine. I don't have any the fatigue or cloudiness reported by others. However, lately I've started exercising again, which was too painful to do with the prolactinoma, and have developed a terrible case of restless leg syndrome. Which makes sense since cabergoline is a dopamine agonist and RLS is related to low dopamine levels.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
11/30/2012
Condition: Increased Levels of Prolactin in the Blood
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been on the medicine for 8 years. It is the only thing that will control the prolactin levels to prevent a prolactin tumor from growing. No side effects

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More