Show ratings & reviews for

3.3 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

9 People found this comment helpful

This is the first non-narcotic cough syrup that has controlled my bronchial spasms, but at $78 for 8 oz it's not cost effective at all. Tussinex is 1/2 the price and works better. Since I drive for a living, atuss is the better choice for me. The taste is better than most cough syrups.

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
1/25/2011
Condition: Cold Symptoms
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was giving this medicine to my 3 year old son for a cough and runny nose.. The medicine worked great wiped out the cough and congestion, but it made him wake up in the middle of the night everynight he took it. He would stay up for at least 2 hours before going back to sleep.. When I stopped the medicine he slept through the night again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/11/2010
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mother of a cougher | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Caregiver
3/21/2010
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My son has taken this medicine for a couple of years now. About 3 times a year he gets a severe cough and I cant find anything to stop it but this medication. It does make him extremly sleepy but we give it to him at bedtime and it lets him get a good nights rest without coughing and within 2 to 3 days this cough is entirley gone.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/24/2009
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My doctor prescribed this medicine for me because I had a bad cough. I also have high blood pressure. After only one dose my blood pressure went to 215 over 99. I had to go to the emergency room because I felt dizzy. I will never take this medication again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lisa | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/26/2009
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a horrible cough for over a week (flu) and I have asthma. I sought relief of prescription medication without narcotics. This medication has some unpleasant side effects (dry/numb mouth, taste nasty, makes you sleepy) but it works, it kept my cough at bay (I was coughing so hard I was throwing up, headaches, and seeing black. I was able to get some rest at night and go outside without people thinking I was deathly ill.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/18/2009
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking this drug because of a nasty cough and other flu or cold-related symptoms. After my first dose, I was a little bit restless for about an hour but then drifted into my first night of deep sleep in over four days. I have also noticed that it does stay with me for the entire timeframe estimated(12 hours).

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 0-2 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
7/25/2009
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

my 2 yr old child has been on this med for just a little bit. He will have a little energy and then be super sleepy. He does sleep through the night, but is real drowsy. As a parent, I have mixed feelings about this med.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/2/2009
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My cough has eased slightly since I started taking it, but it makes me feel all crazy. I can't remember things easily, I'll say something to someone and repeat it within a couple minutes because I forget that I said it, it makes my eyes feel dry and like they're sinking into my head and they keep watering, and it tastes terrible. I sleep a lot more than usual on it, too. So, unless you want to feel like crap and sleep a lot, I don't recommend it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
xyz | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/20/2009
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

made me extremely drowsy..made my mouth and throat extremely dry..i would not recommend this product

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/12/2008
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is the best cough medication I have ever used.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sart84 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/10/2008
Condition: Cold Symptoms
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This stuff is great! It taste horrible, but it works. You can sleep thru the night and it did not make me drowsy, through the day.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/8/2008
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My doctor prescribed me this and needless to say my breathing increased , I couldn't think well , my mouth become extremely dry , and I was really drowsy. I do not reccomend you take this. -Jesseka-

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/12/2008
Condition: Vasomotor Rhinitis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is the first cough medicine that hasn't made me feel sick to my stomach after taking it. It works great!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/12/2008
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is the first non-narcotic cough syrup that has controlled my bronchial spasms, but at $78 for 8 oz it's not cost effective at all. Tussinex is 1/2 the price and works better. Since I drive for a living, atuss is the better choice for me. The taste is better than most cough syrups.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More