Show ratings & reviews for

3.9 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

25 People found this comment helpful

I have been battling with my Ulcerative Colitis for 4 years now. I started with 6 pills of Asacol. I could not stand taking that many pills in one day. Then I went to Canasa suppositories that was not enough. It was not reaching high enough in my colon to treat the Colitis. Now I have been on Lialda, 4 pills a day, for 1 year. Went off of it and just did the Canasa for 2 years and then went...

Most voted negative review

3 People found this comment helpful

This is my first day on this medication. My doctor gave me some samples to try and when I opened the first blister, I smelled a foul odor. I was just wondering if this was normal? Has anyone else experienced this?

Shared reviews and ratings

Cryscross0905 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/28/2019
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am currently 29 years old and one month before my 29th bday this year I was diagnosed with Crohns/Colitis disease, I was on apriso and that was a miracle worker for sure this current week the drs placed me on Lialda and honestly in my case seems to not be working because I have been in a flare since the second day of taking it. May work for some and just not for others have a feeling I’m that odd ball that it just does not work for.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lfitzma | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/2/2019
Condition: Ulcerative Colitis currently Without Symptoms
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It has helped with my symptoms just but I have been experiencing joint pain starting in my knees and ankles which was difficult as I am a hiker. That pain went away after a month but I am now experienced wrist and had joint pain.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
KatieBug313 | 35-44 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/28/2019
Condition: Crohn's Disease
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication made my life livable again. It even helped my bleeding ulcer to not act up and cause me to require blood transfusions. Unfortunately for me when you don't have 500.00 every 12o days and you aren't eligible for Medicaid, you revert right back into remission and the pain is excruciating. I wish there was an affordable Lialda!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Vanessa | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/9/2017
Condition: Ulcerative Colitis currently Without Symptoms
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Lilada is wonderful at relieving symptoms! Only downfall after taking for 2 months was hair loss. I had to stop taking unfortunatly.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Hers12 | 25-34 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/14/2016
Condition: Ulcerative Colitis currently Without Symptoms
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on it in 2011 and took it until 2013. I never had any issues during that time while taking it. I had my routine colonoscopy in Feb 2015 and all was good. Back in March 2016, I had my second flare-up. I told my doctor I know I'm having a flare-up, but he gave me a lot of tests to do of course. Finally, in October 2016, he sees that I am having a flare-up (I had an sigmonscopy...spelling?). I was placed on 4 pills a day of lialda and I was back to normal within a week! It was great. A month later, I'm on my maintenance dose of 3 pills a day. Still having no issues! It works for me. I probably should've stayed on it and I might have never had that second flare-up...Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Katie | 55-64 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/11/2016
Condition: Ulcerated Colon
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After being misdiagnosed with IBS-D for decades, finally got the proper diagnosis for UC and started treatment with Lialda less than 1 year ago. I was able to leave the house and drive to work without much concern about bathroom locations. It seemed a miracle drug until a routine blood test showed kidney damage. I have never had any kidney trouble in my life until I was on Lialda for less than a year. Now I am off Lialda and waiting on a renal doctor's evaluation. I should have known it was too good to be true.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
biker | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/29/2016
Condition: Ulcerative Colitis currently Without Symptoms
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
GuynVA | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/10/2016
Condition: Crohn's Disease
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have Crohn's / Ulcerative Colitis. Apparently I've had this most of my life although flare ups were very uncommon. I always thought I had IBS-D until my last colonoscopy. I've been on several different medications - Pentasa, Budesonide and now Lialda. Lialda seems to be the most effective for me at this point, although I've experienced weight gain (went from 178 to 195 lbs in two months) and still have flare ups, but not as frequent as in prior month. I'm going back to my MD today to talk about other alternatives. The weight gain really bothers me. I've come to recognize some triggers (stress) and try to avoid them, but unfortunately one of those triggers is my job and I can't just walk away from it. Good luck to everyone.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/3/2016
Condition: Ulcerative Colitis currently Without Symptoms
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking Lialda for 2 months 2 times a day in the morning. It has worked for me! The only thing I have experienced is weight gain. I am not sure if it's because of me or not but that has been annoying. And, my hair does seem thinner. I am 24 years old and 120 pounds. I think the 2 pills a day is an appropriate amount for me to take. I can stop taking them here soon and I hope I lose the extra weight and I hope my bathroom problems are resolved! I do recommend this product!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jjill | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/19/2016
Condition: Crohn's Disease
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Caused excess weight gain in short time frame. No not due to symptoms going away, had been symptom free for years.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sharon | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/20/2016
Condition: Ulcerative Colitis currently Without Symptoms
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am 73 yrs. Old, have had UC on and off since I was 26yr. Old. I have only taken meds when I have a flare up. Mine went into remission from time to time and I quit my meds. Started having problems, constant constipation with pain in my colon and bowel, after a colonoscopy the Dr put me on two Lialda a day. It was like instant relief. After 5 months I quit taking them and did great for about 6 months. Had a flair up and back on 2 a day. Will go off again and not take anything until a flair and I'll go back to Lialda again! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SgtCedar | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/14/2016
Condition: Ulcerated Colon
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My doctor prescribed this medication when Asacol was taken off the market. It did not work and I had to change to Delzicol DR. The doctor said about half his patients taking Lialda found it did not work.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mrs. Behaves | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/3/2015
Condition: Ulcerative Colitis currently Without Symptoms
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

No Blood, but lots of other symptoms. Bloating, Fecal urgency, making 3 stops at 3 gas stations on the way to work, tired, run down. After 7 months of these symptoms and 2 didn't quite make it days. I went back to my doctor. Day 2 I was able to make it to work without stopping. It took a little effort but I made it. I am on day 4 and still with a little effort I am able to get to work (30 miles in Los Angeles) without stopping. The side effects so far are a little stomach upset, dizzy feeling for the first few hours, mild, very mild headache. I expect these to lessen with time as right now my security (job) was at stake so the side effects are acceptable. I am experimenting with when to take it to lessen the symptoms. Must take it with food. Anyway so far I am happy. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
California Patient | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/25/2015
Condition: Ulcerative Colitis currently Without Symptoms
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

With both Asocol and Lialda, I experienced hair loss. Does anyone know if Biotin or anything else would help eliminate that side-effect? In terms of effectiveness, it's been pretty good. I haven't noticed any blood in my stools or had any major flare-ups. A more minor side-effect is gas.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lil bit | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/9/2015
Condition: Ulcerative Colitis currently Without Symptoms
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was diagnosed last year with "undefinitive UC" Dr. can't tell if it's UC or Chrons, a bit of both so started me on Lialda. Began with 4 pills a day, down to 2, since then broke my shoulder & foot so had to be on Steroids, since then have gained weight from shoulders to hips and can't seem to loose it. Both shoulders ache most of the time, but I also work on a computer most of the day. Overall it is easy to maintain with Lialda, but will make sure I monitor with blood work.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/12/2015
Condition: Ulcerated Colon
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taking it with Humira. My condition was too severe and Lialda wasn't strong enough. Along with Humira, this drug can treat my disease.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
stew | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/16/2014
Condition: Ulcerative Colitis currently Without Symptoms
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was hospitalized with a severe attack of ulcerative colitis. While there a doctor started me on Lialda: 1.2 mg X 4 daily. Since then I have been clear of colitis for 6 months. The only aftereffects have been an occasional rush to the toilet when the urge starts.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Iam | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/1/2014
Condition: Ulcerated Colon
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a reaction to this drug the first time I took it and even a greater reaction to it the next time I took it. It put me in bed for two days. I'm sure it is ok for those who don't react to it in a negative way.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Pennythepest | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/16/2014
Condition: Ulcerative Colitis currently Without Symptoms
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This med contains sulfasalazine. I am allergic to sulfa and apparently to this derivative. I did not feel at all well the three days I took it and developed a rash and a big blister. Yes,I did advise my doctor of my sulfa allergy.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Brandy. | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
7/23/2014
Condition: Ulcerative Colitis currently Without Symptoms
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My Uc is under control but I feel confused and dizzy a lot very tired all the time!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More