Show ratings & reviews for

3.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

38 People found this comment helpful

I use to take soma's. and thay didn't work. I ask my Dr. for something else he gave me Zanaflex. And my stiff neck and spasms went away.

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/11/2021
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had severe hallucinations. Very scary.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dee | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/30/2020
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took around 10am. Became drowsy and dizzy. Shortness of breath. Difficulty breathing. This is going to be discarded. Not worth it. I would have rated it a zero.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ranger | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/6/2020
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Severe, unbearable itching, nothing helped. So dizzy the room was spinning. Didn't help my spasms!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/5/2019
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Prescribed for my back...Makes me extremely sleepy..can not take it during the day, I can not function on this medicine during the day so I just take it at night time. Helps my back...I've got bulging disc and my sciatica nerve with neuropathy is pretty painful but I dont want to be on pain pills so this works fine.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mdrousso | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
2/12/2019
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been in this medication for 15 years. The worst thing I’ve found is the dry mouth. Biotine works well to solve this.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bgray | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/13/2018
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Rx 4mg every 12 hrs for pain. Been on this rx for over 1 month. Has done nothing for the pain nor sleep. Does give an upset stomach if taken without food

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gastroparesis Girl | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/15/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I use this for migraines. I take this medication 4 times a day, the first two times 1/2 a pill (each pill is 4 mg), and then at the end of day before bedtime I a whole pill. I take this is conjunction with topomax and gabapentin, and since it was added to my migraine prevention cocktail on 9/5/17, I haven't had any migraines, when I used to get them 2-3 a week. I am very pleased with it right now. I hope it keeps up. Even the 1/2 mg makes me a little tired but I can still do whta I need to do with that dose as long (as my chronic disease cooperates) and it doesn't put me to sleep like the whole pill does. So far it's been wonderful. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sazerac7 | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/5/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have 6 crushed vertebra. The Zanaflex works much better than the Flexeril I had been taking.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jenni82 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/14/2016
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It has no effect on my back at all. It makes me extremely sleepy. When I ran out of the medication I began shaking and had very blurred, confused vision, as well as extreme nausea . I will never take this again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dolores | 75 or over | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
8/24/2016
Condition: Muscle Spasms caused by a Spinal Disease
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

makes me sleepy

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
RGail | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/28/2016
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed with DISH and this med is the only thing that is working for me. Pain meds either don't touch the pain or are too strong for me. This does sedate me about an hour after taking it but it only lasts for around an hour and then I can resume my activities so I plan around that. I am very satisfied with Zanaflex as this is the only thing along with ibruprophen that is helping with my DISH right now. I take 4mg and might have to take another 2mg 4-6 hours later as relief is short lived and it depends on what I have to do that day but I have never needed over 16mg a day. I am very happy with this med.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/9/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It has helped me sleep because of pain in my back and neck. I do not feel drowsy or blah when I wake up after taking it. It has finally let me get some much needed sleep.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Alisha J | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/2/2015
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed this medication in conjunction which is a pain medication. The pain medication makes me pretty drowsy but I can go throughout the day just fine. Zanaflex makes me so drowsy that I feel like I am in a moon suit walking on the moon. It has done wonders for my insomnia. I am completely knocked out within 15 minutes of taking a 2 mg tablet. However, it does nothing for my muscle spasms and I have had a huge knot in my back for about two weeks now. Like I said nothing for my spasms but good for my insomnia.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
livingagain | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/24/2015
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Controls minor muscle spasms. Helps control spasms so its easier to fall and stay asleep.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kristy | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/5/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Trying to calm spasticity in clonus due to a rair neurological disorder and trying to see if it workd better than Baclofen or works well with it and to see if it works good enough so that I won't have to use Botox anymore. I have had progress, cut down Baclofen and increased Tazanidine, a lot less rigid. Noticibly less.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
iblovey | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/2/2015
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started taking two weeks ago only 2mg. at bedtime, but that didn't help my TMD muscle spasms in daytime so last week Dr. had me taking 2mg. at 10am, 4pm and 4mg at bedtime. After second day I started waking up around 6am with chills and nervous stomach, but continued schedule for a week. Last night I cut back bedtime dose to 2mg. and didn't feel as bad this morning and I'm only going to take 2mg in afternoon and 2mg. at bedtime tonight....we'll see if that helps. I have a very low tolerence to RX drugs and my stomach can't take alot of this stuff. Fingers Crossed!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Julie | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/24/2015
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I haven't been able to sleep since starting this medicine last night at 8pm.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
billwh | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/5/2015
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had tightness and spasms in my neck. I took it 4 mg once to three times a day. It made me quite drowsy. Stopped taking it during the day. It would put me to sleep at night easily, but three hours I would wake up.So while it helps you get to sleep it seems to disturb the sleep pattern. I developed a tenderness and occasional pain in liver area. Quit the stuff three days ago, no withdrawal so far. Will see the Dr. this week.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/5/2015
Condition: Muscle Spasms caused by a Spinal Disease
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had 3 layer fusion C4-C7. Now two years later I still have muscle spasms and cramping. I've tried 5 different muscle relaxants. None are effective, but this one gave me THE WORST side effects. I expected the lightheadedness, so I always stood slowly. However, on Zanaflax, I would be uncontrollably dizzy and lightheaded. Once I was standing, I felt the sensation of everything being heave and "falling". While this happened my vision would go totally black and then bright white. I can never take this med again.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Privileged | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/24/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication has helped with the muscular pain associated with polyneuopothy and radiculopathy but it really makes me sleepy. I suffer from insomnia so at night it's great but during the day I don't want to take it because of that reason.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More