Show ratings & reviews for

3.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

21 People found this comment helpful

I was diagnosed with Crohns Disease in 2007, life at that time was very difficult constant stomach cramps, fever, fatigue, hospital stays, first Lialda helped control the symptons, but after being admitted to hospital and having a blood transfusion the Lialda stopped working, now I am on Humira, it has completely changed my life, I no longer get stomach cramps, I have more energy and can in modera...

Most voted negative review

11 People found this comment helpful

I wish that putting stars on this med wasn't required, my wife hasn't started it yet. Does any one know why there is a warning about latex for this med.

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/24/2017
Condition: Ulcerated Colon
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Developed UC about 5 years ago..hated taking 12 pills a day. I got a serious flair last September..pills stopped working.. started Humira...A LIFE SAVER!! I didn't realize how sick I was until I really started feeling better. Within a week of the 2nd (!) treatment I felt better.. I have more energy than I have had for the past 5 years...

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/5/2016
Condition: Ulcerated Colon
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Felt relief by second (!) treatment

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gothchic | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/24/2015
Condition: Crohn's Disease
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Caused me to have a seizure and many other horrible side effects. Quite pissed about it; ruined my car as a result Humira should have to pay for the damages!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ecm | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
1/30/2015
Condition: Crohn's Disease
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Hair loss is a side effect of this drug! During the year I was on Humira, I did start to see some remission in my Crohn's Disease. The drug is easy to administer and has little side effects for someone my age. While Humira was slightly painful during the administration of the drug, it began losing its effectiveness on me less than a year after I started taking it. The worst symptom I had during treatment was my hair falling out. It started about 7 months into treatment and was not that noticeable at first. However, 8 to 9 months in, I was losing significant amounts of hair in the shower, on my brush and during the day. Overall, I lost close to 1/3 of the hair on my head. I did not see a decrease in my eyelashes or eyebrows. Since I am an active and "semi- healthy" 27 year old female, the doctors and nurses stated that it was a phase and should eventually stop. I reached out to my dermatologist, GI and OBGYN to see if they knew of anything I could do to slow the hair loss, and all said that they had never heard of this side effect. One GI nurse said it happens in less than 2% of all patients. The specialty pharmacist is the one who urged me to discontinue use. She said that she has seen other patients loose all of their hair and it take a very long time to grow back. I am blessed that mine has been growing back quickly, but it only started growing back once the drug was totally out of my system. Not a bad drug, but please beware of this little known/ published side-effect on men and women!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Grammy n. | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
8/21/2013
Condition: Crohn's Disease
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've had severe Crohn's for 38 years and have been on Humira for about 5 years. Started off on sulfur drugs and thru the years progressed to Remicade for several years and it eventually lost its effectiveness. Humira has been a lifesaver for me. Am able to have a relatively normal life now. The shots do sting but it only lasts for a minute. Well worth it!!! No major side affects - hopefully this will continue.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dusty | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/27/2012
Condition: Crohn's Disease
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking humira for 7 months.It started woking for me within 4 weeks. I was on remicade for a year prior to this and could no longer tolerate side effects.I've had 2 bowel resections & this drug has worked wonders for me .No side effects so far.I use a pen every other week & stings for 10 seconds or so and thats it.I highly suggest giving it a try. I have had crohns for 30 years and this is the easiest,most convient,most effective treatment I have used so far.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dukeis | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/27/2012
Condition: Crohn's Disease
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Humira worked great to control my Crohn's. Was on it for 1 year, but had to discontinue it because I came down with Histoplasmosis ( fungal infection).

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cmd1958 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Caregiver
3/10/2012
Condition: Severe Type of Inflammatory Bowel Disease-Crohn's Disease
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am writing this review for my sister. She took this medication for her Ulcerative colitis. She felt it was working very well for her. After years of taking Prednisone, she was finally on something that while not easy, it was effective. In the late summer of 2008 she began exhibiting side effects that showed her immune system was being compromised, but she didn't realize the seriousness of the situation. She was working overseas, and by late June of 2009. she was medivaced home with a diagnoses of AML, leukemia. She was treated for the leukemia at Johns Hopkins in Baltimore, MD, but went home at the end of January 2010 on hospice, and died February 7th, 2010. This drug, especially when given with 6-MP, Methotrexate, suppresses the immune system so much that the likelihood of getting leukemia or lymphoma is pretty good. Sure you suffer with the original disease, but with this, you have a 3% cure rate, with chemo. If know based on what my sister told me that if she had understood the real risk of cancer with this treatment, she would never have used it. She had 4 children. Now they have no mother. And I am missing my sister very, very, much. I just wanted you to know that the risks mentioned in the brochures are very real, and mentioned for a reason. Good luck, and I hope you are not also a statistic. She was 53 years old.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Chumz | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/29/2012
Condition: Crohn's Disease
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been using Humira for about two months, and so far it has worked for me. Most of my symptoms went away, and it makes life much easier on me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 7-12 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/27/2011
Condition: Crohn's Disease
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

this is the only med that has helped me, i had crohns when i was 5yrs old. it does sting at first and my arm does hurt after i get the shot. since i started this i been feeling better. i do have an ostomy bag too.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/13/2011
Condition: Severe Type of Inflammatory Bowel Disease-Crohn's Disease
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've had crohns now for 25 yrs, tried all kinds of meds,nothing seems to work,having problems with scar tissue,from 6 surigies. I'am hoping this will give me a little bit of break from all this pain,does any body have same problem,let me know how it help you,thx's

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/26/2011
Condition: Crohn's Disease
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
hoping for a cure | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/4/2011
Condition: Crohn's Disease
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed with Crohns when I was 5 (One of for the record book). I have had 5 surgeries and each last about 5 years before the reoccurrence of the Crohns. A flair up this summer had me on the floor and in bed for days. Last form of treatment before a colostomy. SO Iam game. The injections are hard on me. My husband has to do it. At first I worried about the needle- but that is not it. It's the rush of the medication that just burns like acid. I take 3 valium to relax and start at litocaine patch the day before to numb the area. Icing helps- the the pain is below the skin. I wish they could create a pain patch. In regards to the results I have been free of pain for 6 months now. So minor issues start to occur- but I need to watch my food intake and make better choices. No weight gain (yeah) but no weight loss (I was hoping for 10lbs) I now work from home on Fridays so that my husband can do the injection and i can take a quick nap. We then go for Udon soup in our neighborhood. The soup and noodles help with the nausea. Next day I have tons of energy. So it really is a minute out of my life every two weeks. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
angel | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/29/2010
Condition: Crohn's Disease
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed with crohns during my junior year in high school i missed the end of my junior year and the first half of my senior year because of it. i didnt start taking humira till my senior it hurt like hell getting the shot but it worked for me i also took it while i was pregnant after i had my son i didnt have to take it for almost two years i just recently started taking it again and it is still working for me. i have had a few flair ups but the are not as bad as they are without the meds. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/1/2010
Condition: Crohn's Disease
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Surg. in 1993, failed on every med there was. Obstructed from scar tissue in 2007, surg again. Been on Humira for 3 years. Just had colonoscopy yesterday, best one my Dr has seen on me less than 2 of crohn's. Praise the Lord! Having little pain on right abdomon where crohn's is located. Going to increase Humira 1 shot a week for 4 weeks. Then back to everyother week. Humira has been great for me plus colonoscopy to show it is working. I have had 2 times that I was dizzy after shot. Some redness on stomache after injection. That is the only side effects I have had. Would tell anyone with crohn's to try humira.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
didier | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/24/2010
Condition: Crohn's Disease Maintenance of Remission
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had documented Crohn's for 46yrs; 4 bowel resections & other symptoms. This drug helped me to have the energy to work & decreased my other symptoms. Any inconvience I have related to the drug are well worth having my life back.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
natalie | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/4/2010
Condition: Crohn's Disease
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

with this medication i have not noticed any side effects yet

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
krise7228 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/10/2010
Condition: Severe Type of Inflammatory Bowel Disease-Crohn's Disease
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have only recently started using the Humira Pen. I am finally seeing some results. So far I am happy with my results although I was told it could take up to 3 months for full effectiveness. If anyone had asked me a month ago, I would have told you I would be dead soon, so to be able to function as a human (still with some issues) I am happy with the medication. I feel like I may be getting control of my life for the first time in over a year instead of my disease controlling me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LITTLEB | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/18/2010
Condition: Crohn's Disease
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

afet being on this med for almost two years i now have lupos LIKE symptons i tried cymbata to get the swelling down no deal talk about high feelings next im trying methatrexate , its more EXPENSIVE drugs after another i wonder if drs would give these meds to thier CHILDREN very hard to get my averyday movements back . i want the simple life back . NO DRUGS

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
tone818 | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/30/2009
Condition: Crohn's Disease
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had crohns for about 12 years and tried every medication there is and had 2 surgerys. after taking humira i started have problems with my blood, now im on warfin. I never had any problems with my blood

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More