Show ratings & reviews for

3.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

15 People found this comment helpful

While I am still on the treatment, my last CT scan showed that the lung lesions were shrinking. However, I have had more nodules forming on my skin on my breast. I haven't had any severe side effects from the medication. Just some fatigue, hand/foot tingling, and some digestive symptoms which might be due the Xeloda (I don't know for sure). The doctor has just started me on Femara. I had my ovarie...

Most voted negative review

1 People found this comment helpful

I took this during a clinical trial comparing Tykerb to Herceptin. I was supposed to take this for a year, but after two weeks I had to stop. I was exhausted to the point I could not get out of bed. My diaherra was so severe that I could not eat at all (not even crackers or popscicles). Finally, after losing 13 pounds in two weeks and becoming so dehydrated that they had to give me two bags of flu...

Shared reviews and ratings

Stephen | 55-64 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/27/2017
Condition: HER2 Positive Breast Cancer
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been on it for 9 weeks along with taxol have pet scan tomorrow

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Katie | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/13/2016
Condition: Hormone Receptor Positive, HER2 Positive Metastatic Breast Cancer
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Already on Herceptin , Xeloda , & Letrozole , the Tykerb caused dizziness , increased fatigue , increased 'chemo brain ' , anxiety , and emotional /chemical depression .I took it for only 1 week , and could feel the hair follicle burn that preceded my hair loss from my first chemo infusion , a Taxane . Tried to go on again , same effects, including diarrhea —— anyone else experienced these effects ?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
carefree | 55-64 | Female | Patient
4/29/2015
Condition: Breast Cancer that has Spread to Another Part of the Body
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

For me this drug has been a life saver. I refused further IV chemo after my first 6 months, due to the inability to remember those 6 months. I also stopped Herceptin due to heart damage. My cancer returned quickly but Tykerb has slowed the growth of those cancer cells that found a home in my rib. I have been on Tykerb for 15 months and pray it works forever. The diarrhea is tough to control and what works for awhile, stops, and we try a new approach. 2014 was my best year ever. My bucket lists is shorter and I got to spend quality time with those I love. Quality of life is so important to me, and I have been able to do the things I love because of this medication. My terrible pain in the rib stopped within 2 weeks of starting Tykerb and has not returned!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lillie | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
1/7/2015
Condition: HER2 Positive Breast Cancer
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I currently care for a 84 yr old female thats been on this drug for about 6 months it's seem's to have helped slow it down. But at the same time other thing are ac-coring like blood cloth'shortness of breath which we thought at the time was pneumonia and turned out from Chest Xray, CT Scan it wasn't that, so just getting to the point pay were close attention to all side effects of this drug the.1. Main Ones, 2.The Rare Ones 3. Infrequent Side Effects. Family members should be aware of all side effect so we can ask the right question plus notice any changes In the body since this involves the entire family and some family member may see things that other may not. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/10/2013
Condition: HER2 Positive Breast Cancer
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After my Herceptin treatments started showing less effectiveness, my Dr. Prescribed Tykerb along with Herceptin. I take 4 pills daily and have been for 3 months. Side effects for me a tolerable...some diarreha but Imodium works to stop it. Also take Phillips Colon Health Probiotic. That is what helped me the most with Diarreha while going through chemo. Dr is monitoring me every 3 weeks. So far...so good.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Emma | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/24/2012
Condition: Breast Cancer that has Spread to Another Part of the Body
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been on Tykerb for 2 mos now and have the fairly severe and immediate diarrhea. It is sometimes controlled with imodeum. I am fearing the acne, but so far don't have this side effect. I do have some stomach pain at times. Nothing unbearable yet, thank God.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
7/15/2011
Condition: Breast Cancer that has Spread to Another Part of the Body
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken the drug for one year - have had no symtoms - and only one met has increased in size - most are gone. only cancer left in one area of brain - will use cyberknife.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
caramari93c | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/17/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i have had 5 pills every morning(250 mg tablets)for 6 weeks now. it's treating a brain tumor. the only side effects so far are: serious acne, loose bowels, and fatigue. too soon to know if it works.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/3/2009
Condition: HER2 Positive Breast Cancer
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took this during a clinical trial comparing Tykerb to Herceptin. I was supposed to take this for a year, but after two weeks I had to stop. I was exhausted to the point I could not get out of bed. My diaherra was so severe that I could not eat at all (not even crackers or popscicles). Finally, after losing 13 pounds in two weeks and becoming so dehydrated that they had to give me two bags of fluids, I was taken off the drug and given Herceptin by IV for the rest of the year. I have one more treatment left. I have been very happy with Herceptin. It has hardly any side effects. I think Tykerb works for some people, but if your side effects are this severe, please make your doctor change your meds! It was worse than the 20 weeks of chemo!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
marrod231 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/11/2009
Condition: HER2 Positive Breast Cancer
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was a success for me, also easy.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/8/2009
Condition: HER2 Positive Breast Cancer
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

good results, keep tumors stable, but causes itchy skin, acne, and diareha daily.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
coleyfarm | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/11/2008
Condition: HER2 Positive Breast Cancer
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My Mother takes tykerb 5 pills daily at one time for 3 weeks and off for 1 week per doctor, satisfied, but she has such a terrible itching spell all the time and there is nothing she takes that can get rid of it, I rub lots of creams and have her to take benadryl 2 every four hours and that is not good because she wont be able to do her chores like she wants.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
golfgal711 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/21/2007
Condition: Breast Cancer that has Spread to Another Part of the Body
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

While I am still on the treatment, my last CT scan showed that the lung lesions were shrinking. However, I have had more nodules forming on my skin on my breast. I haven't had any severe side effects from the medication. Just some fatigue, hand/foot tingling, and some digestive symptoms which might be due the Xeloda (I don't know for sure). The doctor has just started me on Femara. I had my ovaries removed also.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More