Show ratings & reviews for

3.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

29 People found this comment helpful

I was on metformin for 4 years, and it worked to regulate my weight and numbers as long as I was careful about what I ate, which, according to my doctor, I didn't do well enough. He switched me to janumet, and I lost 40 lbs in 6 months. Weight just started melting off because I only crave yogurt and granola bars. No more cokes, fast food, sweets, and I don't even miss them. This has been a miracle...

Most voted negative review

6 People found this comment helpful

I DO NOT RECOMMEND ANYONE TAKING THIS DRUG AS MY DOCTOR PUT ME ON THIS DRUG FOR 3 MONTHS.IN THE THIRD WEEK I THOUGHT I WAS DYING.CHILLS ,HEADACHES,NERVOUSNESS,WEAKNESS(COULD NOT EVEN GET OFF THE COUCH),JOINT PAIN,MUSCLE ACHES,COULD NOT SLEEP,DECREASE IN APPETITE,AND MANY MANY MORE PROBLEMS.HOW COULD THE UNITED STATES GOVT. ALLOW SUCH A DRUG TO BE SOLD TO THE AMERICAN PUBLIC IS BEYOND ME.IT SHOULD ...

Shared reviews and ratings

Ceecee | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/5/2022
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The worst medicine for me I’m dizzy jittery nervous having anxiety attacks palpitations I just left the er

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
RegisG | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
12/25/2021
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken Janumet for over 30 years. My glucose has been good enough to keep my A1C between 5.9-6.2 over 30 years.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
John | 45-54 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/28/2020
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Janumet is the poison pill! Stomach pain, V

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/31/2019
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been taking janumet for several years. I seem to develop low kidney flow which concerns me. But upon my blood work my kidney function is ok.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/20/2018
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Developed horrible blisters with pus and very painful within a week my ignorant Dr. had prescribed this medicine 3years ago and I forgot this medicine did this to me in the past ..I filed a report with the F.D.A.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Galt | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
4/21/2018
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Got a urinary tract infection in 2012 (I am male). Doctor checked my A1c which was over 13. Immediately went on 2x/day Janumet 50/500. My A1c has been at 5.7 - 5.9 since. I no longer check my blood glucose levels since my A1c is so good and stable.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Choppermike1969 | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/14/2018
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started using JANUMET last month. Within the first week, I started having a problem with it. I had began to get ITCHY and HIVES. I spoke to my Doctor, she suggested that I keep using it and see if they go away. 33 days later, THEY HAVEN'T SUBSIDED and I returned using METFORMIN. I will tell as many people I can to NOT USE THAT MEDICATION....

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Joe | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/26/2017
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am reviewing Janumet in case someone else has had blurred vision while taking it. I woke up with blurred vision after the 7th day on Janumet XR 100/1000mg. It is two months later and my vision is stilled blurred but has gotten better.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MaryS | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
11/9/2016
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was put on Janumet when my previous medication wasn't doing the trick. I think the red dye cause me to throw up if I didn't eat before taking the pill. I would miss doses if I didn't have time to eat before going to work.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
aobesojr | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
6/28/2016
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

it's been ok if I diet correctly

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CLK | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/13/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Made me extremely nauseated and threw up violently after taking the firs dose.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kbiles | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/11/2016
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was just prescribed 1000 mg 2x day of Janumet for Type 2 diabetes. Almost immediately, I lost my appetite, got diahrrea, VERY blurry vision. I finally called my Dr. this morning and asked her to take me off of this. Blood sugar has dropped, but side effects for me are horrible.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sharon | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/17/2015
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on metformin for 4 years, and it worked to regulate my weight and numbers as long as I was careful about what I ate, which, according to my doctor, I didn't do well enough. He switched me to janumet, and I lost 40 lbs in 6 months. Weight just started melting off because I only crave yogurt and granola bars. No more cokes, fast food, sweets, and I don't even miss them. This has been a miracle drug for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lisad | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/5/2015
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

On medication for 1 year and a half. I love i. i lost tons of weight and my blood sugar levels are between 95-119

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dcpm18 | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/23/2015
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Very happy with the medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ms. Gail | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/11/2014
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

been taking 50/500 twice a day for 4 years and have no side effects. has lowered sugar levels significantly.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
norman | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/17/2014
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
rodeo58 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/15/2014
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

T2 since2011 curr. Metformin 1000 x2 day bs still 150+ dr. gave Janumet(Januvia .5/metformin 1000)x2 daily and while it lowered my bs to great range 80-120 I started having severe leg cramps until I could bearly walk, so discontinued and cramps immediately went away. Back to Metformin for now. Dr. wants me to try Onglyza next.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
p | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/30/2014
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am feeling comfertable with this treatment

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kiwizmom | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/10/2014
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking Janumet 50/500 twice a day for over 2 months. I started with one pill a day for 6 days at bedtime. I am eating 1200 calories per day with 150 g carbs. I have had no negative side effects. My glucose dropped 100 points after one day. It is now hovers around 100 first thing in the morning. I have lost 32 pounds and am not hungry. I also don't crave sweets anymore. I feel the best I have in years.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More