Show ratings & reviews for

2.9 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

256 People found this comment helpful

I have been unable to take any of the osteoporosus drugs for the past several years. Reclast is working for me both as an easier application, once a year, and better health. One thing I have noticed is that my fingernails no longer break and are becoming hard. The same with my toenails. I took Reclast 2 months ago and so far so good. My veins are very tiny and hard to find so I take the IV in...

Most voted negative review

25 People found this comment helpful

haven,t tried it yet

Shared reviews and ratings

Patty | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/13/2023
Condition: Osteoporosis
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had osteoporosis since 45 years old I am currently 58. I was on Fosomax, and 4 years ago Reclast. This past year 2022 my immune system started attacking my kidneys because of an allergic reaction to Reclast. I am a very healthy 58 year old besides the osteo and this can happen to anyone. I want to make people aware that this can happen.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kay Preston | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/12/2023
Condition: Osteoporosis caused by Anti-Androgen Drugs
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Flu-like side effects after infusion yesterday. No issues after first treatment. Haven’t had a scan yet so unsure of efficacy in treatment of osteopenia.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Debbie C | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/20/2022
Condition: Post-Menopausal Osteoporosis Prevention
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I just had my first Reclast infusion after being on Prolia injections x 3 years. I took the reclast to prevent spinal fractures after stopping Prolia (based on MD advise). I prepared for the infusion after reading a ton of materials and patient experiences online. For the three days before, and 5 days after the infusion I: Took Claritin daily; Took Tylenol around the clock; drank plenty of fluids (non-alcoholic). I did not have one side effect from the Reclast infusion.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
12/14/2022
Condition: osteoporosis in postmenopausal woman at high risk for fracture
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Within 10 hours of infusion I had paralyzing agonizing pain through my body. I could not walk. I self medicated with high level drugs for 3 weeks. Muscle and joint pain has been persistent 1 year later. At the 7 month point my teeth were so painful I went to dentist for X-rays and to check if jaw deterioration. Teeth/jaw ok but took a month for pain to subside. Have walked stooped for the year because I cannot straighten up hips. I did water aerobics and recumbent road Trike 5 days a week but I believe degraded physical state due to reclast as I have had no other changes. Have taken Tylenol several times daily for the last year. As a lap swimmer I always flipped my turns but have been unable to flip turns this whole year. Was considering second infusion but because of my severe reaction and no empirical data anywhere on second infusion will ask for alternative. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Emily Campbell | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
12/7/2022
Condition: osteoporosis in postmenopausal woman at high risk for fracture
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I will not take this drug again. Was an active person who walked 5 miles daily, rowed in the ocean on a crew team, and swam. Due to a sudden fall and positive bone scan (for osteoporosis), I was convinced to take the Reclast infusion. My endocrinologist has faith in it, and so I went forward. Lots of pain first week or so and just felt lousy. Then the diarrhea started after several weeks. I had horrendous diarrhea for 5 months!! Then it stopped slowly over two weeks. Is pretty much controlled now, but pains in my neck, legs, and now my right arm. Glad I am left handed, but still difficult to have one arm in such pain all the time. It wakes me up at night. That is my experience with Reclast. I have heard similar from others.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
9/12/2022
Condition: Osteoporosis
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My mom had the Reclast infusion and one week later had a left femoral neck hip fracture. She has not had any hip pain prior to the infusion. She has been hospitalized and is now in a nursing home. Not sure how something that is supposed to help the bones causes fractures. I would not recommend this for anyone.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ReclastVictim | 65-74 | Female | Patient
9/4/2022
Condition: osteoporosis in postmenopausal woman at high risk for fracture
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

On March 1, 2022 I had my first injection of this drug. Four hours later, despite being well-hydrated and taking Tylenol as advised, I ended up in Urgent Care with debilitating headaches like I had never experienced before. I genuinely thought I was dying, which is why I went to Urgent Care. I got some initial help, which wasn’t effective past a few hours. I had to go back to Urgent Care a second time, where I was given anti inflammatory drugs, which were also effective only for a few hours, though for longer than the drugs given during the initial visit. I was referred to my PCP to handle my non-stop headaches. I had to be on migraine medicine almost non-stop for months (approximately every 3 hours). In addition to this, my neck and back hurt constantly as well. It felt like I was sleeping on wooden planks. For the first 5 weeks after the initial injection, I was forced to sleep in a strange, sitting position, leaning over the back of my couch. After those 5 weeks, the headaches began slowly resolving, but my back, shoulders, and neck continued to hurt for several more weeks. After that, the muscles and bones in my arms, hips, shoulder blades, and legs began hurting terribly. I went back to my doctor for this, and was prescribed anti-inflammatory drugs. My symptoms seemed to be better only while I was on the drugs, and would come back immediately when the effects of the drugs subsided. All of this, the migraines, the bone pain, and the muscle pain made sleeping normally impossible. I was constantly waking up because of the pain and stiffness, and was unable to get a decent night’s sleep for months. I used to be very active for my age, but the Reclast made me borderline immobile. Now, I’m still experiencing constant side effects. I have acid reflux and indigestion due to the different anti-inflammatory drugs I was taking to offset the pain the Reclast caused me. Now I’m having to stop taking the anti-inflammatory drugs, and I’m half immobile again. This experience was absolutely miserable. I’m now on my 7th month of daily pain, pain that wasn’t present prior to taking the Reclast. I do not feel like it is going away at all. It is constantly present. At this point, I hope that maybe the effects of the Reclast will subside on the yearly anniversary of my first shot. I will never take this medication again. It legitimately destroyed several months of my life, and is still continuing to do so. I’m still trying to stay as active at home as I can, doing stretches and exercises through the tear-inducing pain. I will look for other alternatives for osteoporosis treatment. I will post an update if anything changes, but as of right now, this medication was horrible.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Trina | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/4/2022
Condition: osteoporosis in postmenopausal woman at high risk for fracture
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I know fevers and flu like symptoms are normal, but nothing was mild about any of this. I suffered worse with this infusion, than I did having covid. Have bruising on back of both legs as well and just weak as a kitten. I wouldn't give this infusion to my worse enemy. Ban this poison before it kills someone!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tricia | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/1/2022
Condition: osteoporosis in postmenopausal woman at high risk for fracture
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My doctor recommended reclast last last year and after reading all the scary comments about horrible side effects I refused the infusion and opted for an additional year on alendronate. My bone density decreased a significant amount in my hips and I decided I better risk the side effects for the potential benefit. doctors I had the infusion and had not one side effect. I felt completely fine. I did drink lots of water for a few days before but took no Tylenol or Claritin which I had read might be helpful. I never post anything like this and I'm sure people who suffered side effects legitimately did and shared for the benefit of others but I just wanted people to know that you can also take it and feel absolutely fine. Good luck to anyone considering this medication.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Alicia | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/31/2022
Condition: osteoporosis in postmenopausal woman at high risk for fracture
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Yes, the first infusion I had severe pain musculoskeletal. My second and third infusion no problem whatsoever. It has helped my bone density. I'm pleased.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
TE | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/30/2022
Condition: osteoporosis in postmenopausal woman at high risk for fracture
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am a physician and was concerned. I reviewed everything I could. Here’s my experience after one week. I drank extra water (6 bottles a day- 16 ounces each for 2 days) I read several recommendations including taking Claritin (loratadine) the day before, the day of and 2 days after. I saw the recommended dose of 2 500 mg acetaminophen prior. And took this. I usually take 400mg ibuprofen before vaccination and after. So, understanding that the reclast is metabolized through kidney I made a decision to hydrate, premedicate with acetaminophen and add ibuprofen and take Claritin. All was fine, no symptoms for 3 days although I sensed some hip discomfort. when I stopped Claritin, I did feel some hip discomfort(1 of 10) at day 4. Ibuprofen relieved this. Continue to hydrate and now reintroduced Claritin. Will update. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lorri | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
8/24/2022
Condition: Decreased Bone Mass Following Menopause
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’m having my second infusion today. I had a bone scan last week, and I’m sorry to say, my condition got worse and my risk factor for fractures increased. I did not have any side effects after the first infusion.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sandy | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/28/2022
Condition: Decreased Bone Mass Following Menopause
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had done on a Friday. Saturday could not move or get out of bed My knee was size of cantaloupe. Only one knee. My neck..I could not move it. Every joint hurt.I was absolutely fine before. I couldn't drive for 2 weeks. I would call this a poison. Should not be given out. We are guinea pigs.I failed to mention..No bladder control for 2 days.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Colleen Mullins | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/24/2022
Condition: osteoporosis in postmenopausal woman at high risk for fracture
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am new to osteoporosis but had a bone scan that showed my spine was in osteoporosis stage and the rest of my body was in osteopenia stage which had dramatically changed from my previous scan. I was experiencing pain in my back. My ob recommended Reclast to keep things from deteriorating more and to rebuild the bone. I had bloodwork done showing my body was in good shape for the infusion….primarily my kidneys. I had my first treatment two days ago by infusion since it was difficult for me to tolerate the medication in pill form due to my digestive issues with gerd. I hydrated with water prior to infusion and took an extra strength Tylenol before the infusion. The infusion was quick and easy about 20 minutes. I usually do not react well to medication and asked that I get the medication in a 60 minute drip rather than a 20 minute drip to give my body time to adjust to the medication. I had read that could help with reactions.The nurse seemed in a hurry and didn’t want to do it that way so I succumbed. I got the injection at 11am and about 3am following the injection I awoke with fever,chills body aches, and a very bad headache. Lost my appetite as well. I used Tylenol extra strength that helped the body aches but did nothing for the headache so switched to Aleve and that helped with my headache. It is now 48 hours from the infusion and I am feeling better and eating again but still a little weak. If you get this Reclast infusion, give yourself a couple of days for flu-like symptoms and keep your schedule light. Overall I am glad I did it and hope I see good results on my next scan.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/17/2022
Condition: osteoporosis in postmenopausal woman at high risk for fracture
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I recently received my first reclast infusion 4 days ago. I like many others read some of the patient reviews and was a little scared from what I read. I am happy to say that I had absolutely no side effects from the infusion. I will say that I did hydrate myself and took a Claritin and Tylenol before my infusion. My infusion was at 1:00pm so I took Claritin that morning and Tylenol a hour before. It’s now 4 days later and still no side effects. I hope my review is helpful to those considering the infusion.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Linda | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/14/2022
Condition: Osteoporosis
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had 3rd infusion 3 days ago. Insisted on Full Hour Infusion! Took loratadine 3 days before and two days after. Drank LOTS of water AND took electrolytes. Took Tylenol before and for 2 days after. Was tired but no other side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Reclast | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/13/2022
Condition: Glucocorticoid-Induced Osteoporosis Prevention
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had the reclast infusion on 7/11/22 at 8:30 am. Was told to drink a couple glasses of water before treatment.I had asked about side effects and was told that very few people have any problems. I felt great when I got home and had a good lunch. But at 1am I woke with chills so bad my teeth were chattering and I had to put on winter clothes to warm up. And hour later I got the sweats then the headache started. No sleep so I got up and was very dizzy and nauseous, I drank my water tried to eat a soda cracker and a warm 7up for my stomach. I was down for the day. Day 3 I still have headache and I have back pain and sore knees that I did not have before. I’m not sure the pros of taking this drug is worth it. Don’t think I’ll do it again. I am only taking multivitamin and xtra calcium and I am very active so being laid up for 3 days might not be worth it. Not sure if I’ll take this next year.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sue | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/9/2022
Condition: osteoporosis in postmenopausal woman at high risk for fracture
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am a 55 yr old post bilateral mastectomy/hysterectomy patient with osteoporosis. My docs had recommended reclast. When I read about the side effects I decided to wait (I have severe allergies), but when my 82 year old mother with lupus (who also has severe allergies) took the infusion with no problem I thought I would give it a try. I received the infusion at 11 am. By 11 pm I had severe head, jaw and strenum pain. I also had pain in my thighs and my joints were very sore. All through the night uncontrollably shaking from chills (no sleep). The symptoms improved but it took a few days and the joint pain persists a month after my treatment. My GP said if I can boost Vit D levels (currenlty 28-30) I would have fewer symptoms. Also, they would make the infusion time longer versus 15 minutes. I am not sure if I will have another infusion...I am waiting to see what my bone density scan looks like! (ps I consume huge amounts of water daily but this did not seem to help me).Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
J | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/8/2022
Condition: osteoporosis in postmenopausal woman at high risk for fracture
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is the worse drug ever prescribed. I had an infusion 2 days ago, and can't walk, lift my arms, turn my neck or bend over without pain. I feel very sick and can't leave my home. I am a very active person, still working, and walking 3 miles a day, and do yoga and Pilates. It's the first time I took it because the doctor changed me from Prolia. I will never take this again. This should be recalled and not prescribed, it's not worth it. I hate that I went through with it and hope I don't have long term effects and can get back to my regular routine.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Female | Patient
7/7/2022
Condition: osteoporosis in postmenopausal woman at high risk for fracture
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am 60 years old and had my first Reclast infusion 3 weeks ago after completing two years of daily Tymlos injections. I was good for about 12 hours after the infusion and then felt like I was hit by a ton of bricks! Severe muscle pain which made it hard to roll over, sit up, take a deep breath. It almost felt like I had broken my back again (did so 2 years ago). After reading everyone's experiences I just started getting fearful that it wasn't going to go away! It took about two days for the symptoms to start to subside slightly and then my knees started to hurt when I went up and down stairs. I had the infusion on a Friday morning. My back and muscle pain were much better by Tuesday but not completely back to the usual. My knee pain resolved by Friday. I didn't feel fully back to normal for a solid week but now I feel 100 percent. I did not hydrate before hand (it was so early in the am, and I didn't want to set a middle night alarm to hydrate) but did take Tylenol which didn't seem to do much. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More