Show ratings & reviews for

4.1 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

21 People found this comment helpful

My 6yr. old daughter has been on lupron shots since she was about 7 months, last month she got this implant put in. SO far everything has gone great! It didn't hurt her, her arm wasn't sore, after a week of no rough play shes back at doing all her normal activitys! Me and dad were scared at first about the thought of it. But everything has worked out and she loves the thought of no monthly shots o...

Most voted negative review

1 People found this comment helpful

I would not recommend this plant.It messed my son up.My son has Tourette's syndrome,and it made him have severe tics.we are using some alternative methods to help.No more meds for him!

Shared reviews and ratings

Jane | 7-12 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
8/7/2018
Condition: Puberty at an Earlier Age than would be expected
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Finally, my husband and I decided to give this medicine for our 8.10 years old. She was diagnosed the early puberty when she was 7. Because of her boobs and underarms odors. We took her to specialist Dr. She were recommend to monitor her up till last 2 months ago, her bone age was 11 years old and got some pubic hair on the thing so we decided to give her a medicine. It's crazy that bone grown too fast, she did x-ray November 2017 it was normal, then again May 2018. The incision went well she didn't get ant bruised, but some pain and itching (day 5). She has a mood swing and cried easily. This happens prior supprelin LA so I don't know if this calls a side effect. I hope this medicine work without any scary side effects. I can't take it if something bad happens to her. I will update after one month of a blood test.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MomofSkylar | 7-12 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Caregiver
7/10/2018
Condition: Puberty at an Earlier Age than would be expected
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My daughter has had the Supprelin implant replaced every year for the past 4 years. It has worked well and we are satisfied with the results. She is a bit moody but I have no evidence that it is because of the implant.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gleeia2522 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Caregiver
4/22/2016
Condition: Puberty at an Earlier Age than would be expected
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My husband & I had to decide whether we wanted to put our daughter through the Lupron shots every other month or getting the Supprelin implant surgically placed. After a few weeks past insertion her hormone levels were still not quite where the doc wanted but decreasing. After a few more weeks they were perfect. Breast tissue down, mood was a little better.. she has been on it for coming up on a year. It has done awesomely (besides mood swings, they came back almost 2 months into it unfortunately) until 3 months before the anniversary of placement, her levels have gone up very slightly and breast tissue flaring up some. So now we are back to either giving the implant another shot with risk of having to also do shots if levels don't stay down, or just shots. She does not do well with injections at all, so doing blood work and having injections would be stressful on her. I am grateful for the option of an implant, you can set it and forget it. Leaving my kindergartener feeling 'normal' not constantly reminded with frequent visits to the doc for a painful shot in the butt or leg. Insurance refused to pay so thankfully Supprelin had an assistance program dependant on income. Thank you Supprelin! Overall good/ok drug for my 6yr old.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dealing with precocious puberty | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Caregiver
12/3/2015
Condition: Puberty at an Earlier Age than would be expected
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My daughter was diagnosed with precocious puberty. We did Lupron shots every 28 days for about a year. It was so exhausting to drive to the endocrinologist's office (not close to our small town) and get the awful shot in the butt. My daughter was a trooper, but she would miss an entire day of school for this, once a month. Plus I had to take the day off work. Very quickly we noticed a cycle of emotions from Lupron: the first week after the shot was euphroria/larger than life personality; the next 2 weeks we had our normal, loving, funny, caring girl; the last week was HELL with major ups and downs and emotional outbreaks. When we found out about Supprelin we were extremely worried about placing an implant in our 9 year old daughter's arm. But anything had to be better than the Lupron shots. So we got the approval from our insurance for Supprelin (Note: is is a medical devise, not a prescriptive drug). We found a surgeon who was willing to do the procedure in her office (NOT a surgical hospital) which was much cheaper and faster. She did a great job. I was also pleased that the Supprelin sales rep was present in the room (they asked my permission, of course)- he knew a ton about the drug and made me feel at ease. My daughter almost immediately leveled out her emotions and the boobies stopped growing!!!! She no longer had to feel like a "weird" kid leaving school for secretive appointments all the time that she can't tell her friends about. We did the implant one more time the next year. This year when it was time to be removed, we didn't put a new one in. She is now 11 years old and considered "cured" from precocious puberty because she's just like every other 11 year old girl. WE GOT THROUGH IT!!! She is happy and beautiful!! I am so thankful for Supprelin and recommend it to anyone who's dealing with this horrible condition in your little girl.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Squishy | 7-12 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/17/2015
Condition: Puberty at an Earlier Age than would be expected
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It halted my child's puberty (at stage 4) for 3 years effectively. She had an adverse reaction to the bandage in the Supprelin implantation kit, however, and became very ill - swollen arm, hives, rash, blisters and unbearable itching for 3 weeks.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 7-12 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/18/2014
Condition: Puberty at an Earlier Age than would be expected
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I would not recommend this plant.It messed my son up.My son has Tourette's syndrome,and it made him have severe tics.we are using some alternative methods to help.No more meds for him!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
hannahs mom | 3-6 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Caregiver
11/20/2012
Condition: Puberty at an Earlier Age than would be expected
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My daugther got this implant when she was 2 years old due her bones aging super fast. It has really helped. We were given the option to remove it to see how she does with out it, but im afraid to. so we are going in 3 weeks to replace it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dogcat | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Caregiver
7/18/2012
Condition: Puberty at an Earlier Age than would be expected
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My 9 year old daughter has had the implant in for one year and it has been a nightmare. The implant has worked at suppressing the puberty but the side effects are a nightmare. MAJOR moodiness.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 7-12 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Caregiver
3/14/2012
Condition: Puberty at an Earlier Age than would be expected
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This has been a nightmarish 2 years of treatment for my son. The medicine did what it's intended to do, but came with sooo many side effects. Weight gain, 60 lbs in a 2 yr span and major moodiness. We finally had it removed and we can immediately tell the difference in the moods. If i had to do it all over again i would never have given my son that medicine.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
GreatDad | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
2/10/2012
Condition: Puberty at an Earlier Age than would be expected
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The reps for this treatment are coercing hospital pharmacies to INFLATE the price of Supprelin to make $ for the hospitals. One facility marked up the drug to over $400,000!!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 7-12 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Caregiver
3/24/2009
Condition: Puberty at an Earlier Age than would be expected
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Our daughter has had the implant for a year and is about to get another one!! Extremely effective and the procedure was easy and painless. She is doing great and we would recommend this implant to anyone who is considering treatment for early puberty!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/15/2009
Condition: Puberty at an Earlier Age than would be expected
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

my daughter is also 6 years old and she has not had a problem with it...she's been on it for one year... so far so good thank God.. highly recomended..

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ladybug | 3-6 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Caregiver
10/1/2008
Condition: Puberty at an Earlier Age than would be expected
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My 6yr. old daughter has been on lupron shots since she was about 7 months, last month she got this implant put in. SO far everything has gone great! It didn't hurt her, her arm wasn't sore, after a week of no rough play shes back at doing all her normal activitys! Me and dad were scared at first about the thought of it. But everything has worked out and she loves the thought of no monthly shots of the lupron depot! I would recommend it!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More