Show ratings & reviews for

3.4 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

43 People found this comment helpful

I have been on several anti-depressants over the past 30 years, but none made me feel like "my old self." Seroquel XR (I take 200 mg at night) has turned my life around. I no longer get so depressed that I want to hurt myself or others, and I am enjoying life more than I have in 30 years. I feel perfectly "normal" on this medication and credit it for saving my life.

Most voted negative review

30 People found this comment helpful

My dad is on this med and it zombies him out! He's is super angry all the time on it. He does things that make no sense what-so-ever! Tore stove apart to clean but cleaned it with mayo cause the drug screwed him over bad!!! It has caused my parents to get divorced actually! He even asked his doctor to get off it and she made it higher dosage! People You DO NOT HAVE A PROBLEM! Just look for the goo...

Shared reviews and ratings

Bellows | 35-44 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/25/2021
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

All I can say is WOW! This has been such a game changer for me. I donâ??t obsess over things I canâ??t control, I still have all my feelings, (happy, sad, compassionate,secretive). I like that i feel like myself. I have felt antidepressants made me numb and have no sex drive and I couldnâ??t tell if they worked, or they worked TOO well. I take seraquel alone. I donâ??t take it with anything else. Iâ??m sleeping better, maybe to well. I have to make sure to take it at a reasonable time because I will fall asleep 30 min after taking it. I tend to need at least 12 hours of sleep with it. Thatâ??s the downfall. However for me itâ??s so much better than nights on end of nightmares, and no sleep. I use to have night sweats but seraquel has helped those stop. I donâ??t get at as irritable and imapatient. I find I am able to not be so in my head and more present. I havenâ??t had any disassociation episodes, suicidal thoughts, or anxiety attacks. I FEEL LIKE ME! I love it so much I could cry. I was in such a mental prison before. I felt like I was always climbing an endless mountain with my nails pulled off and fingers bleeding. I was tired and life was hard. Now I have motivation, started a business, have better relationships, able to work more and not be in a â??moodâ?. I love this stuff! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
3/5/2021
Condition: Mania associated with Bipolar Disorder
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug makes me feel very sick. I feel like I have the worst hangover ever when I wake up in the morning. I have to go back to bed until it passes. I've gained 80 pounds on this drug, and all I want to eat is sugar. I can't get any housework done or any type of excercise due to the fact that I'm exhausted 24 hours a day. I sit in front of television all day everyday because of exhaustion and no desire to do anything. I watch other people having fun including my husband as life passes me by. It does help me sleep but it's not worth being ill all the time. My doctor is weaning me off from this awful drug but it's going to take a long time. I have other problems with this medication but they are too numerous to mention.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jaffa | 45-54 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
3/5/2021
Condition: Manic-Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been on 1200mg per day for over 5.5 years plus other antidepressant meds. I stopped taking it when I started to collapse when I got up from lying down. I've basically spent the past 3 years in bed on average of 20 hours each day. I got to a point where I could have swapped my bed for a coffin I had no drive or interest in anything. I decided to get off the shit without my Dr's knowledge at the time. The first couple of days free I was abit emotional and agitated but that soon passed and I started to function like normal people and this has improved my overall outlook on life the downside is I've had insomnia for the past month and its causing me to be short tempered and agitated and sleeping meds have had no effect at all. I think it will be a while before my system gets back to normal due to the dosage and duration I was on seroquelRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jennifer bounds | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/17/2019
Condition: Additional Medications to Treat Depression
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My treatment with this drug made me exhausted I had munchies gained weight i am the heaviest I have ever been. Worst of all it made me sleep walk I was in the back yard at one point. i have Major Depressive Disorder with anxiety difficulty sleeping I am now on a different med.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
1/24/2019
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on 50 mg of Seroquel XR for 7 years with 1 mg of ativan when I need it. At first the medicine did wonders for me. I could sleep at night, wasn't having panic attacks on a daily basis, anxiety went down, and I felt normal again. However, after being on the same dose of it this long I am no longer getting those affects from it. Also I don't have bipolar or schizophrenia so don't know how useful it is to me anymore. I would say for people who need short term relief from severe anxiety/panic it is very helpful. I would say after taking it for about three or four years then I would get off it. The long term side effects are not worth it. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Eli Johnson | 25-34 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
5/12/2018
Condition: Schizophrenia
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking Seroquel for 17 years. I started taking seroquel 25mgs per day and now Im on 800mg seroquel xr per day. It puts me to sleep. I gained 10lbs or less in 17 years. I have developed gynecomastia and cant wear a t shirt without some people mentioning my gynecomastia. My prescribing doctor says I look emasculate and skinny. My other doctor says my gynecomastia is noticeable when I take my shirt off. My doctor recommended that I see a specialist to check for male breast cancer with ultrasound and mammogram and the test is covered by my insurance. The doctor said there were no cancer cells thefore surgery to remove the gynecomastia isn't covered by insurance. I cant afford to pay for the true gynecomastia surgery to remove the hard breast tissue.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Shawn Low | 25-34 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
8/16/2017
Condition: Schizophrenia
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking Seroquel XR 800mg daily for almost 11 years. Before this I was on regular seroquel for many years. It really helps with my racing thoughts and sleep. Sometimes I get hives and have to take an antihistamine. I have recently noticed male gynecomastia and hard glandular tissue growth on my chest.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LowEndMusic | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
5/25/2017
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Very satisfied. I've been taking Seroquel for about 8 years and have had no side effects, not even the weight gain. Only reason for 4 stars instead of 5 is because I still get some depression (mania is completely calmed) and because as much as I love that it helps me sleep, I work nights and can't always get 8 hours so I am a bit groggy for the first few hours I'm up. Still satisfied and I wouldn't change off it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JohnsonBoy | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/2/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

When I was prescribed Seroquel XR for severe anxiety recently, I wasn't expecting good results. Instead I anticipated getting bad side effects. I didn't like the idea of taking an anti-psychotic medicine. But almost immediately this XR version of Seroquel showed itself to be the best answer for me. It literally makes me 'normal', more normal than I've ever seen myself, and so far none of the side effects I expected have occurred. Not even after the doctor doubled my dose to 100 mg. I am Cool-As-a-Cucumber around the clock, but not lethargic or lazy. I convey my thoughts in a measured and logical fashion, yet my personality isn't dulled. I stop sweating & trembling when around people, I don't fear everything. I sleep well and don't feel so depressed & hopeless when I wake up. And all that crazy paranoia seems to be gone now. Best of all I don't feel like a drugged-up zombie, nor is my vision blurred or my mouth dry - none of the side effects one would normally expect from an anti-psychotic drug. I wish I'd been introduced to Seroquel XR sooner. It doesn't give the same harsh side effects that regular (immediate release) Seroquel does.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Michael | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/19/2016
Condition: Manic-Depression
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Only take this drug if you're terminally ill! Because the withdrawal effects are sooooo unbelievably nightmarish you will certainly wish you could die. Seriously, do your research, google "Seroquel Withdrawal", you have been warned.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tony | 35-44 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
5/28/2016
Condition: Mania associated with Bipolar Disorder
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

300 mg at night for 7 years. Stopped on my own once and for about 6 months I was very manic and wound up in jail. That was 2014. No major problems since I take many other meds but if you try and stop on your own be careful the people you live with notice changes first. For me I thought I felt better to the point of casinos girls cocaine and 30000 in debt that still haunts me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
James | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/27/2016
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been on this med for a year now and have only had one depressive episode, which I was able to work out on my own without having to see my psychiatrist. No noted weight gain or sedation.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cicih | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/14/2016
Condition: Bipolar I Disorder with Most Recent Episode Mixed
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I think this has definitely been effective in controlling my moods, limiting paranoia, allowing me to focus and this has helped a lot for my work/life balance. However, I think it also makes me completely robotic and lifeless and the 'balance' I have in my life is actually me totally placating. I started on regular release and am now cutting myself off of XR. This drug makes me always groggy/hazy. Cannot wake up in the mornings. Pretty oblivious to things outside of myself. Totally uncreative. And, MAJOR weight gain. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
INeedSleep | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/19/2016
Condition: Mania associated with Bipolar Disorder
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Within 10 minutes of taking ONE pill I fell to the floor and became catatonic. I have no memory of what happened but was told I was screaming at people, shaking like I was having a seizure but still talking, and very uncooperative. A complete opposite of my normal personality. The only thing I remember is taking the medication and then someone waking me up the next morning in the hospital. Every doctor that I've seen or talked to said that is not a side effect of Seroquel.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
And3555 | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/13/2016
Condition: Additional Medications to Treat Depression
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My doctor added this in addition to taking an anti-depressant to better manage my mood. It does help and will help to keep me asleep through the night most of the time.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
11/4/2015
Condition: Manic-Depression
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication has helped with the manic side of my depression. it helped control my impulses and mood. it work great with the insomnia as well. the only part i dont like is i have a very hard time sleeping without it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
goosegirl | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
8/22/2015
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Here is the thing about Seroquel XR, by the time I started taking it I was so desperate for sleep and some relief from my depression, I didn't care what it did to me. Five years later, my dosage doesn't work to help me sleep but twelve hours later I still can't get out of bed. It makes me feel DEPRESSED! I am so unmotivated to do anything and yes I get the late night munchies even though I'm almost falling down the stairs to get food because I'm groggy. I'm determined to wean myself off this drug. I think its good for a short term, but not long term. I tried cold turkey and I felt like I was dying for well over a month. I went back to half a dose. Sometimes if I haven't slept I take a whole dose. It's been months and that's as far as I've gotten. I don't know how long it will take me to finally get off of it. But I want off. Even at half a dose I have more energy than I have in the last five years combined. I feel like I belong as a participant rather than a bedside observer!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mare Mare | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/29/2015
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The med did do what it should do. Help alot with my moods and best of all I could sleep at night. Was never over tired but did gain weight and with bad heart it that was getting hard to do things with getting worn out. Was given samples for almost a year but then hard to get and cost was 300 copay a month I then stop taking it. And i want to warn others do not just stop taking it. follow a doc plan to slowly stop it. I did cold turkey and was the worst 2 weeks of my life.( Still having problems) Very heavy headed and it was just a feeling i cant describe.Would not wish this on anybody. If it wouldnt been the cost, I would had stay on it.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/3/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

If I could opt out of giving any stars I would. I'm almost 17, I took this between November 2013 and March 2014. I got switched to this because I found Abilify and Lexapro were not working and requested to be taken off and onto a new kind of anti-depressant. My doctor gave it to me so I could sleep through the night and because I had "mood swings" that I didn't actually have. I started off directly on 200mg and then 250 in less than a month. The first week or so was fine but after I went down hill. I was not able to stay awake during the day for school. If I wasn't sleeping I was eating and if I wasn't eating I was either screaming at people and crying or shut off into my room alone. My mental health continued to go in the gutter until I had a break down that resulted in me having to go to a Psychiatric Center over the summer when beds were open. Other than the mental side, on the physical I was getting very sick. I was constantly nauseated and had stomach flu symptoms at least once a month. I gained 40lbs. I was not getting my period either. My energy was gone and I did not have the motivation to do anything. I pleaded with my Dr to take me off but instead she had boosted me up to 350 within two months and was going to put me up to 400 and then 450. This drug ruined my life before I took myself off of it. I had the highest grades in class and I came close to failing last year because it was hard to rebound from the damage in my grade. I do not suggest this drug if you have some sort of obligation in your life because if I were to be on it now I would probably have lost my job already and wouldn't be able to hold my grades for my goal of college. I honestly don't suggest it in general. This medicine is evil.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ihateseroquel | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/30/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Seroquel caused me to gain 40+ pounds in a matter of 2 months. Yes it stopped the anxiety, but all i did was sleep. I could not tell you anything about those two months aside from what I've been told, except that I was suicidal and had hallucinations until I was completely numbed. I'm covered in stretch marks and it took me over a month to get off of the medication. I hated every minute of it. Never take Seroquel.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More