Show ratings & reviews for

3.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

23 People found this comment helpful

I have hynerated dics in both back and neck and stay in pain constantly. I just started taking this medicine about 5 days ago. I have taken flexeril for years now and never really received the releif I felt I needed. I'm guessing that since this is extended release it could be the reason I feel a little relief. I don't feel groggy or drowsey from taking this medicine. I plan on continuing this med...

Most voted negative review

11 People found this comment helpful

could not afford to buy it even with my copay, the full price is over $200.00, with a copay it cost$72.50, why is this medicine so expensive???????? so i could not really do the reiview with the stars above, can't use it if you cannot afford it.

Shared reviews and ratings

Liz | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/17/2016
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've tried many different antispasmodic medications, plus other relaxants, including valium, flexeril, and methocarbomal, without results that made the medicines worth the side effects. I have had cervical dystonia, aka spasmodic torticollis for the past 8 years, for which i also receive botox injections every 10 weeks. After 11 weeks on amrix, I can honestly say that I'm feeling significant relief and a ray of hope that my pain can be managed. I do still have pain and stiffness, but almost no silent migraines, dizzy spells, or violent neck spasms. I do need extra sleep, but this side effect is less with amrix than other meds I've used, especially valium. I do take amrix at night, so the worst sedative effect is during my sleep time. I have been able to delay my botox treatment as this medicine seems to help better, and doesn't cause the muscular assymetry that botox does. The price is insane, my 60 pills cost $1,800, but my plan allows me to afford it, and it makes such a difference that I am eternally grateful.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
12/26/2015
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Hi, have severe chronic upper back pain due to disc degeneration, tried lots of medicine, finally found amrix( though the brand name is Prolax ER 15/30mg. Since i stay alone had terrible time, had many sleepless nights, started taking since two weeks, could sleep better, pain is vanished, only side effect is sore throat, otherwise it is good.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gina | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/30/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Received a sample from my Dr. for persistent neck pain. Took it before bed and slept like a rock.Slept in much later that usual and felt "out of it" for the rest of the day. I was nonfunctional, "quiet", and useless on this drug for the entire day. This might go away with repeated use, but I'm not willing to find out.It did take away my pain but it wasn't worth it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/22/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was given this drug for insomnia due to both Fibromyalgia and RA. Amazing for me. Sleep through the night so I can continue working. Take daily & able to work

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
snowglow | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/10/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took this pill on a Saturday night to help get some sleep since I was having insomnia and these usually helped me sleep. Well, I did not wake up until MONDAY morning at 9am, freaked out. I totally lost a whole day, Sunday. I am just glad I woke up. Never again. This drug should be taken off the market.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
hippo213 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/24/2014
Condition: Disorder characterized by Stiff, Tender & Painful Muscles
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have si joint dysfunction and this is the first medicine that made a huge improvement. I don't feel groggy, just less pain.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Working Man | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/19/2014
Condition: Disorder characterized by Stiff, Tender & Painful Muscles
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was prescribed this today after I complained about my 10 mg. (generic, immediate release) Flexeril not working any more. Well, the price of Amrix is outrageous - it made me angry - but at just 3 hrs. post-dose it loosened my neck right back up. I'm very surprised, because I orignally viewed it as just an expensive gimmick-version of generic Flexeril. But it's really effective, that's for sure. Expensive but it delivers.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/3/2014
Condition: Disorder characterized by Stiff, Tender & Painful Muscles
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I just started this medicine, I wanted to know the side affects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/4/2013
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have MS and this is the first medication that I can take in the afternoon to relieve spasms and not get drowsy; very happy my neurologist recommended. It has made a huge difference.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
betty | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/20/2013
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug is a wonder drug for me. I have very few side effects and it has stopped the terrible spasms I used to suffer from on a daily basis. I used to take a butalbital combination drug for my muscular spasms and that was a very difficult drug. That drug had MANY side effects, but this one does not. Drowsiness when I first started taking it, but that resolved in about a week.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
W60 | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/17/2013
Condition: Disorder characterized by Stiff, Tender & Painful Muscles
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Life is worth living again,

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SUZY Q | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/8/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm taking this for neuromuscular discomfort. Even though it's extended release and supposed to work for 24 hours, for me it seems to work only 5-7 hours. I take 15mg at night. It doesn't really make me sleepy even at night and I'm wide awake during the day so that's a good thing. No side effects

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/2/2013
Condition: Disorder characterized by Stiff, Tender & Painful Muscles
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sherri4gk | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/1/2013
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The Medication seems to work well enough, but nothing extraordinary. The biggest problem with the drug is cost. I have excellent ins. and even with that I am still paying 75.00 per prescription. I won't continue to take it for this reason. I will be looking for an alternative medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
nls | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/17/2013
Condition: Disorder characterized by Stiff, Tender & Painful Muscles
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Coughing, difficulty breathing

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Help! | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/24/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is my first week to take Amrix. I suggest you call around to different pharmacies for pricing. Walgreens charged $826.09 for 30 pills. I recieved a card from the doctor that took $450 off. You want to make sure if your insurance covers this. Everyone says they sleep well on this med. I have only been taking it 2 days but I am going to bed at 10pm and waking up almost every hour after midnight from pain and have to get out of bed by 3 or 4am because I can't sleep. Is anyone else having that problem? I am thinking about taking it at 9pm and see what happens. As of this moment I wish I had my money back. Does it work better after it has been in your system for a week or so? Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
8/23/2012
Condition: Disorder characterized by Stiff, Tender & Painful Muscles
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/3/2012
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
new user3 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/9/2012
Condition: Disorder characterized by Stiff, Tender & Painful Muscles
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

is there a generic name for this drug

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
backpainsucks | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/18/2011
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Having gone thru 4 spinal surgeries, I ended up with failed back surgery syndrome. Previously my resultant spasms were treated with narcotic pain medications. Feeling frustrated that I was unable to be up on my feet for short periods of time, I dug out my Amrix ER. This has made such a difference in my stamina. My spasms started from my low back up into my neck. Amrix has made a total change in my symptoms. I do experience a bit of drowsiness, but feel like I have gotten part of my quality of life back. Granted, I have a high tolerance for pain, but I firmly believe in this medication for the treatment of back spasm symptoms.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More