Show ratings & reviews for

3.8 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

40 People found this comment helpful

I'm female, 71, and for years have had chronic rhinitis which leads to sinusitis, and bronchitis and worse. I have tried almost every allergy tablet and spray both here and in Germany. Finally, my new, young physician told me that he used Xyzal and gave me a few samples to try. It is the only medicine that has helped. Effective after the first three days. But the best thing of all is that it g...

Shared reviews and ratings

CA | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year |
6/26/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medicine was prescribed to me by my doctor after feeling tired whenever I would take Certizine. This medication does help with my allergies, but I noticed that my heart pounds fast at night when on Xyzal. Also, it's been hard for me to sleep when I take this. I've experienced weight gain, hunger, irritability extreme depression/anxiety and just the little things tick me off while on this medicine. I tried a restart on it but experiencing the same symptoms. I probably wont go back to take this medication. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jamepartsmaker | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/13/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been using this product for over 2 years now and the very first time I tried it was the hardest time it hit me. It made me extremely tired and I slept 8 straight hours for the first time in my life. My only concern was that I was still light headed the next day and I'm a machine operator but it didn't effect my focus or ability to do my job. After that day my sleep pattern was back to my normal 4 to 5 hours a night but the product always relieved my summer allergies (running nose sore throat and sneezing) where no other 24hr medication worked for me in the past. I've tried Claritin which didn't work at all, then I used Alavert and it work the first season but stopped working after that. Then I managed to use Zyrtec for a couple of years but it's effectiveness wore off the more I took it. So I will stick with this one because it's been the most consistent and reliable.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/11/2021
Condition: Allergic Conjunctivitis
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Does not last 24 hours. Had to change to Allegra, which was more effective and longer lasting,

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cass | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/4/2021
Condition: Non-Seasonal Allergic Runny Nose
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Benefits: This product is AMAZING at clearing up allergies. I have been on many OTC allergy medicines as we recently discovered I was allergic to my dogs. This is the only allergy medicine that beats the itchy eyes, sneezing, and running nose. Downsides: SLEEPY. It takes about 1-2 weeks to get accustomed to this medication. Until then, you are in a fog when awake. For me and my husband, the other downsides are: weight gain and acne. I know that sounds odd but the experience of being on this medication is a very similar feeling as being on a steroid regimen for bronchitis or another illness. You are consistently hungry, your skin feels very oily, and you break out in places you don't normally break out. I gained 5 pounds in one month and my husband gained 10. For us, this was a large enough deterrent to search for other options.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ursel | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/3/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I must say that Xyzal did help with my post nasal drip. I was taking it every night for about 2 weeks until I notice that my hands, hips, legs & joints were so stiff & sore like arthritis was running all through my body. I couldn't figure out why I was so stiff & sore throughout my entire body. So I stop taking it for a few days & I all of a sudden notice the arthritis like symptoms diminished. I will not be taking anymore. I will go back to sudafed & mucinex. Good bye Xyzal...

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Stacy | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/22/2021
Condition: Inflammation of the Nose due to an Allergy
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I switched to Xyzal from Zyrtec because I thought my body needed a new treatment for worsening seasonal allergies, and this was a huge mistake. I have taken the medication 2-3 hours before bed for the last three nights, and I will not be taking it again. I am someone who normally goes running before work, but I have not been able to get out of bed to do so all week; instead I have been drowsy, sad, depressed, irritable, and just generally exhausted. In addition to being extremely tired and having no motivation to do anything, I have also been ravenously hungry/craving junk food. I will not be taking this medicine ever again. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
HopeForTheBest | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/19/2021
Condition: Inflammation of the Nose due to an Allergy
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Really terrible brain fog side effect. Even if taken at night - next morning. Bad headache & ear ringing.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sammy | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/28/2020
Condition: Seasonal Runny Nose
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After taking Xyzal for several weeks, and being completely satisfied with it, I began having nosebleeds. I see that is listed as a serious side effect(especially for children, which I am not), but I stopped it immediately. The nosebleeds have stopped as well. After having 3 bleeds within 24 hours, it got my attention.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/2/2020
Condition: Inflammation of the Nose due to an Allergy
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took this at around 10:00pm last night and now it is 6:00pm the next day and I am still super tired and in a fog. It works the same as Benedryl with the same reaction, so why would you pay the big price. Never again will I use thIs medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bad Experience in NJ | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/15/2020
Condition: Non-Seasonal Allergic Runny Nose
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

DANGEROUS SIDE EFFECTS.This drug should not be over the counter. I have been taking Zyrtec for many years with no complications. I ran out and on a whim decided to take Xyzal. After a few days, I could not sleep, was have trouble urinating, had confusion and then the muscle weakness started to the point of falling down. I starte on my daily two mile walk and half way through I could hardly take a step. A neighbor saw me and took me home. After drinking several pints of water I started recovering. I then took a mental inventory of what had changed. As the packaging of Xyzal is so small, I looked it up on the internet and there it was...many people have had adverse side effects. I do not suffer from other maladies and am not overweight. My only issues is age. I am reporting this reaction to the FDA.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
romart67 | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/9/2020
Condition: Seasonal Runny Nose
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication even though great for allergy relief for a 24 hour period, the side effects were more than to be desired. The side effects that impacted me were: constipation, depression, agitation, aggression, irritability, and aggressive mood swings. I was out for 3 days. I will not take this medication again, I will revert back to my old reliable Zyrtec and saline nose flushes. It was one of the worse experiences I have ever felt.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/20/2020
Condition: Seasonal Runny Nose
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Within half an hour of taking this, first time, felt dizzy. Within 2 hrs could hardly stay awake, after 12 hrs fell asleep. The oddest thing was that my stomach growled all day and I couldn't stop eating. Next morning felt really groggy and still hungrier than normal. Today is 2 days past my only dose ever. Still feel a little sluggish. Never again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JustSayNo | 25-34 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/17/2019
Condition: Seasonal Runny Nose
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I saw a commercial for Xyzal and it compelled me enough to go buy it. That is about all the good I got out of this drug. I took it for 3 days at night as suggested, and it made me so tired and unmotivated during the day. On the 3rd day I expressed to my husband that I was concerned because I was feeling downright depressed and felt like I was in a rut or a slump. The only thing different was that I was taking xyzal. Today is the 4th day and I didnâ??t take it last night and itâ??s like 180 turn. I am not as tired and am already feeling more motivated. Do not take this drug. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
EDJ | 75 or over | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/27/2019
Condition: Non-Seasonal Allergic Runny Nose
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Benadryl helps a little bit without any side effects, so I tried this. It seems to be another of the antihistamines that sacrifice effectiveness to reduce the possible drowsiness, such as Claritin etc. It neither significantly helped nor did it give me side effects. I will ask my allergist for a serious antihistamine.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Melissa | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/12/2019
Condition: Non-Seasonal Allergic Runny Nose
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took this once for allergies. Almost instantly had major panic attack, disturbing thought, with waves of anxiety and hot flashes. Most uncomfortable 3 days of my life..Serously thought I was losing my mind...not a good drug!!...that's an oxymoron, there are no good drugs.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
NO RELIEF FOR ME | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/1/2019
Condition: Inflammation of the Nose due to an Allergy
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I tried this product for typical running nose, sneezing, burning nose,watery eyes. I took it in the morning desperate to get relief. This didn't even improve any of the symptoms. Now I can't take any other product for 24 hours.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bitmap | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/8/2018
Condition: Seasonal Runny Nose
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am grateful I read the box. I received a sample. My allergies are driving me nuts with post nasal drip and a runny nose. I worked okay. However, thankfully I did ahead because it knocked me out cold sleepwise. I was super groggy the next day. Should be marketed as a sleep aid...

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jenzy | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/14/2018
Condition: Seasonal Runny Nose
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This stuff left me dangerously sedated. I took it 19 hours ago and am still way too impaired to drive and too unsteady to stand up in the shower. Worst drug ever.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jonesy | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/12/2018
Condition: Non-Seasonal Allergic Runny Nose
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is the only medication that has proven effective for my allergies. Claritin had no effect. Zyrtec and Benadryl at night had some effect. This on its own is highly effective for me,it does cause a deep sleep and drowsy hangover in the morning. Perhaps this will subside as my body becomes used to it. I also use this with Flonase and a Nett Pot... But will be cutting Flonase now too.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sparky | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/27/2018
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I recently started taking this drug for seasonal allergies. I am convinced it is the cause of the sore throat, and stuffy nose that have led to a full-blown sinus infection that antibiotics isn’t curing. Check the known side effects. You will be shocked.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More