Show ratings & reviews for

3.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

21 People found this comment helpful

Was taking 2 pills a day for HBP before beginning azor. The azor brought my blood pressure down to readings like 107/70. The first couple of weeks on it were pretty good some dizziness, heart racing, etc. but nothing I couldn't live with to achieve those numbers. However, beginning between the second and third week of treatment, I began to notice that within an hour or two of taking my azor I w...

Shared reviews and ratings

Dinny | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
5/21/2018
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication ruined my life for 6 years. Very costly trying to find out what was wrong. 24 hrs after stopping Azor because insurance considered it not covered and I had to change meds, I felt . I could walk more easily and the coughing and wheezing stopped.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
siddy | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
6/29/2016
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/19/2016
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Overcomer_40 | 35-44 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/3/2016
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I began taking Azor after experiencing severe side effects with Lisinopril. In the beginning, Azor worked wonderfully! Very little side effects. After a year of using this drug it became my worst nightmare. I began experiencing severe side effects. Irregular heart rhythm, itching, tingling, nausea, anxiety, the list goes on! I thought I was going to have a stroke or heart attack everyday for the last two years! Side effects were so severe, I spent the past two years doing very expensive and time-consuming test only to be told the doctors couldn't find anything wrong with my heart, my liver, gallbladder etc! Tons of test to find out the Azor was the cause of all of my medical issues. I had changed insurance companies and they would not pay for the Azor. So I was given a prescription for amlodipine and Benicar. I couldn't afford the Benicar so in the mean time I only had the Amlodopine to take. While I waited for my doctor to get back to me, after going a week without the olmesartan, I realized I hadn't had any heart palpitations and I felt like my old self again. That's when I realized it was the Azor! After two very scary years of E.R. visits, being told I had anxiety, and was paranoid, I find out that the Azor was the problem the whole time! Please do your research. I am sure had I not stopped this medication, it would have resulted in a worse outcome for me! I thank God that I was forced to go without it. Otherwise I may have never discovered what it was doing to me. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
J9Texas | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/9/2015
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this medication for 3-4 years with no discernible side effects. My blood pressure has gone from 200/100 down to 118/68 consistently. I am very happy with the results. I had the option of using a Beta Blocker but did not want a med that interferes with my heart rhythm.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
azor | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years |
11/2/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Relaxes me as I am a.d.d and a.d.h.d in the evening I have irregular sleeping patterns... I have less mood swings and sleep so much better .

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
noname | 65-74 | Female | Patient
11/1/2015
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

did not bring down my pressure and my feet ankles and legs were always swollen. stayed on it for about 9 months and a soon as I went off it the swelling went down

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
GBS | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/9/2015
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After 3 years I started to get uncontrollable reflux and occasional diarhea. MDs didn't know what caused it. 6 months later diarhea was severe and I started to loose weight. 3 months later hospitalized with renal failure, elevated liver enzymes, dehydration, low BP. Colonoscopy severe spruelike enteropathy (celiac disease)did not respond to gluten free and no DNA or antibodies to confirm gluten intolerance. Sent to NYC hospital they found it was due to Azor 5/40 Now 6 months later still battling vitamin and mineral deficiencies, loss of hair, skin rashes, weak nails, inflamed vocal chords due to acid reflux which is now under control. The MD who prescribed it told me he knew of the "side effect" which nearly killed me, but he never connected it to my symptoms, of which he was made aware early on..He is no longer my cardiologist!dRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/23/2015
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

no problems what so ever

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
PA | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/14/2014
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I experienced dizziness and fatigue

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
barney | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/10/2014
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
st mike's | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/2/2014
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Immediately lowered blood pressure; however am experiencing leg cramps and extreme fingernail thinning and cracking coupled with hair loss. Drug very expensive. Shall discontinue.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/25/2014
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

AZOR causes me to be sun sensitive even when using sun screen, turned my skin to a darker color and I have burning of my skin. I will no longer take this medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/28/2014
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
prissy | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
4/14/2014
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

HAVE UBCONTROLLABLE HB HVAE HAD TO CHANGE MEDS ABOUT EVRY 4 MONTHS, I WAS AS HIGH AS 210/90 AFTER MY DR PUT ME ON AZOR 10MG IN AM WITH BYSTOLIC 10MG PM BYSTOLIC 10MG GUANFACINE 2MG I HAVE GOOD READINGS IT HAS BEEN AS HIGH 130/70 USUALY 100/70 TO 120/60 I AM RETIRED NURSE MY DAUGHTER IS RN ALSO SHE CHECKS IT DAILY I DO NOT TRUST DIGITAL FOR MY BP I HAVE HAD THE BEST AND GOT FALSE #S I USE A CUFF no side effects5c

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Chuck | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months |
4/8/2014
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Take 5-40 dosage. After a few weeks, BP dropped to 99/64....too low. Now take 1/2 pill every morning. BP around 112 to 120 over 70 to 76, sometimes a little higher. No apparent side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/30/2014
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

When sleep on back feel like a turtle can't get up to heavy. when on stomach feel like a load of bricks on back. left arm muscle and shoulder hurts. body scan at airport failed left arm showed something because muscle too tight.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lynn | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
2/14/2014
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm having major side effects from the Azor.Gross swelling in my lower extremities for which I have to take a diuretic .Mood swings I tried meds for that like to killed me .My heart rate stays in the 40"s. My gums have receded for no apparent reason. I need to find a more competent MD.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/8/2014
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
klove | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
12/31/2013
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescibed 5-40 MG daily but experienced low BP so had to cut the tablet in half. It has lowered my BP to a consistent 120/80 and I'm very pleased. I haven't had any of the side effects mentioned in other reviews. Tried several different medications before my doctor recommended this and I'm very pleased with it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More