Show ratings & reviews for

4.0 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

8 People found this comment helpful

I took Estrostep for over 10 years and loved it, but it was too expensive. 8 months ago I switched to Trilegest FE expecting it to be the same as EstroStep, but I have had horrible side effects. I experience full PMS symptoms during the blue pills (9 days): super moody, easily irritated, bloated, gassy, pregnancy symptoms, etc. I wish I could afford to go back to Estrostep.

Most voted negative review

1 People found this comment helpful

Immediately after switching to this pill I began to break out everywhere on my chin and cheeks; I have never broken out on my cheeks before. This pill is absolutely terrible, I have cramps and constantly feel bloated during each period. Would not recommend!!!

Shared reviews and ratings

Anna# | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/8/2022
Condition: Premenstrual Disorder with a State of Unhappiness
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started tri legest fe to help with acne because my previous birth control gave me severe mood swings. This seemed to make my acne worsen with other side effects including major bloating, cramps throughout my whole cycle, fatigue, and an increase in mood swings and anxiety. I would not recommend this birth control to anyone. The only positive attribute to this birth control was the lighter periods that lasted a span of 2-3 days.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Carlita | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/27/2019
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rowan | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/19/2019
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication helped with the pain of my periods and made them lighter in general, however, after about seven months of taking it, I have experienced worsening depression and worsening suicidal thoughts. It made no changes to my acne, either. I am looking into changing medications, as I am not benefiting enough from this pill.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Em | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/7/2018
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started this pill after an abnornally long period. It made me dizzy, light headed, and short of breath. When I got my first period while on the pill, the cramps were worse than I’ve ever had. I could not move. Overall, it stopped the long period but the things that came with it were not worth it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/23/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was overall unsuccessful with a few pills before getting on this one and it's worked best for me so far. Periods are reduced to only 2-3 days of light flow and cramps are bearable where they weren't before. I put on around 10 lbs since beginning birth control around a year ago and I've been able to lose weight while on this pill. My mood more or less returned to how it usually was before taking any pills but I do tend to get more randomly emotional when I'm PMSing than before. I haven't noticed any negative skin changes. One pill isn't perfect for everyone but 4 months in and I have no complaints!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/10/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Immediately after switching to this pill I began to break out everywhere on my chin and cheeks; I have never broken out on my cheeks before. This pill is absolutely terrible, I have cramps and constantly feel bloated during each period. Would not recommend!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/13/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

When I went off the pill to try and conceive, it only took one try and one month of no pills to conceive. It was great not having to try for a long time waiting for the pill and the hormones of my body and missing pills to conceive.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/25/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

No weight gain. Less acne. Calms my moods. Light period. Hair thinking.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
chloe | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/10/2015
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was scared about getting trilegest fe instead of estrostep at first because of all the bad reviews. But so far, I'm liking it. I'm 15 and this is my first bc pill. I am in the middle of my 2nd month of taking it. During the first month, my acne was terrible. I didn't really experience any other nasty symptoms though, other than occasional upset stomach and loss of appetite. I've lost almost 10lbs already. My acne started to clear up after my first period on it, though, and now its very minimal. I highly recommend setting an alarm on your phone to remember it, and use lavender oil for any acne scars it might give you (I got a lot) and once your acne starts to clear, start moisturizing your face if you don't already because your skin will get dry an red.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Hopeful | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/11/2015
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I just started taking this medicine 3 weeks ago. The 1st set of 5 pills (pink ones) made me a little sick to my stomach. But as of today, I feel fine. I'm a little more emotional, but I have lost weight, so it's worth it. I have more energy and don't feel depressed. I hope this continues to work. I have tried so many different birth control options including IUDs.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
7/17/2015
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took this for acne as well as birth control. First month a I had a lot of side effects such as mood swings, acne, headaches.however, after using for a couple of months all the side effects went away. My breasts grew a little and I didn't gain any weight. My acne persisted for about 6-8 months but then it began to clear up dramatically! Now my skin is better than it has ever been before. Once my body adjusted it worked wonderfully.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Banananee | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/21/2015
Condition: Premenstrual Disorder with a State of Unhappiness
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Pharmacy was out of estrostep fe so I was given the generic instead. It's been almost two months and I have gained weight, increased PMS and major dizzy spells. I've been on estrostep fe for over 15 years and love it. I can't wait to go back. I will never use this again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/24/2014
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Third month taking treatment, first time birth control user. Used to be level-headed and relaxed, now will take any excuse to lash out at someone. Has worsened previously controlled anxiety issues. Has not wanted to have sex with partner since completing first pack of pills (whole reason for using pills). Exploring other options- would NOT recommend to anyone.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
f kristine | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/29/2014
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It has worked in preventing pregnancy and easy to use. You just take 1 pill a day, but the side effects have been HORRIBLE. My stomach is always bloated, worst stomach pains, constipation, tender breasts all the time. I stressed for 3 months thinking I was pregnant. I hate this birth control. It also made my acne terrible.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ccgirl | 13-18 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/22/2014
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Starting third week of pills. Extremely emotional. The second week I had RAVENOUS cravings which subsided but the water retention I presently have is very noticeable. My breasts are painful and swollen all the time…

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/3/2014
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I loved Tri Legest Fe. I only stopped due to the cost and it not being an 'approved' bc for my new insurance. It had my acne down to a minimum and I was a lot nicer on this pill. The one I was one before gave me some crazy mood swings. Also, no weight gain but I have been continuously on birth control for about 5 years and I only gained weight when I first started my first kind (Yaz).

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lav36 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/26/2014
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Good things: no bloating, breasts haven't grown, haven't gained weight, not pregnant, lighter period (2-3 days), no mood swings. However, it's not great for your skin. I think my acne got a bit worse after I started using it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | Patient
2/16/2014
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Just like some of the other reviews, I've been on estrostep first-ever. Pharmacy gave me this generic and I'm at the end of my second month taking it. I too feel bloaty all the time, and gassy. Periods seem lighter, abd not as steady as with estrostep. I will be switching back next month

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/11/2013
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take this pill continuously without a break since I only need it for acne. It does a pretty good (not 100%, but maybe 90%) good job controlling the acne. But weeks into a new pack I get break through bleeding for several days.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lboogie82 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/26/2013
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Speaking as a 30 year old woman who has been on every single birth control around trying to find one that WOULDN'T cause break through bleeding (cuz this was a major problem for me being on birth control pills), I can confidently say I have finally found the answer. Every single BCP I have ever been on has always caused break though bleeding for me, but finally I have found the magic bcp. Tri legest has shortened my period from 5 days to three, I have absolutely NO break through bleeding, NO acne what so ever (some pills made my back break out horribly or get that one BIG pesky one on my face, but not this pill), and minimal cramping. I am so happy with this pill, and would def recommend it. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More