Show ratings & reviews for

3.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

19 People found this comment helpful

yes, this medication has lowered my BP and I have has no further episodes of racing heart. However, the swelling of my feet is severe, causing discomfort. Really find this side effect life changing and worrisome.

Most voted negative review

3 People found this comment helpful

started on 2 meds a day 30 mg. got palpitations which have ceased/ at first constant "spiking" 18/074 heart 99/100/ 3 trips to e.r. then they doubled my meds - bad vertigo all the time. my pressure is not high now at all and I think I am overmedicated and am easing off the pills. when I take only 1 pill I have extreme vertigo for a couple of days.

Shared reviews and ratings

hyacinth | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
4/15/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on Cardizem CD 240 for ten years or more. Even though it has helped my SVT the side effect of sever drowsiness has been a real problem. Doctor says to take it early a.m. but I don't. Two hours after taking no matter when I am hang dog sleepy. Doctor says it is better than being in the E.R. isn't it?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/17/2014
Condition: Ventricular Rate Control in Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

havent really decided yet ithink it lowers bp to much have feelings on shoulders and back that feel like they are buring some musicle aches

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mamma1 | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/18/2014
Condition: Ventricular Rate Control in Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Rarely have problems with A-Fib, but when I did recently, doctor prescribed this medication. My energy is gone! I double over several hours a day with the severest of stomach pain and sometimes lack of control with BM's which is a new issue. Also, shortness of breath. Got to contact doctor early next week. Taking for about a week now. Hate it!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mollly1cat | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
1/1/2014
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking Cardizem for about nine months. At first, it was fine. Now I am dizzy, occasionally nauseated, lethargic, have ringing in my ears and flushing. The dizziness is the worst and the feeling I have no pep whatsoever. My urine is a odd greenish shade...

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Chris | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/23/2013
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My blood pressure has been higher than it ever was on previous BP med. I've experienced excessive weight gain in a short period of time. Feet, ankles, legs are terribly swollen and I've had an itchy rash on my feet. I feel weak and tired with no energy for normal daily activities and have had a few bouts of dizziness. I've had joint and muscle pain that isn't normal for me. I saw my regular physician this morning (not the cardiologist who prescribed Cardizem) and am going back on the medication that I took previously. No more Cardizem!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/9/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

When I took it early in the day it made me feel wonky. Taken before bedtime it has been very effective and no longer wonky.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Never again | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/18/2013
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

240 mg Cardizem CD Generic (Diltiazem CD) caused allergic reaction in one week. Red-Itchy Rash on hairy portions of body (groin, underarms, beard, head, chest and back), nothing on legs or arms. Face was red, flush and hot, ears puffy. Rash lasted one week while taking 50 mg of Benadryl 4 x day. It may work for others, but definitely not my chemistry.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rob | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/12/2013
Condition: Ventricular Rate Control in Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Controlled rate very well. But... severe swelling/itching in feet, throat and lips developed on day-4. Difficulty breathing. Stopped medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
maladybug | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/13/2013
Condition: Ventricular Rate Control in Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on 120 mg for 6 weeks, no problem. Dr increased to 240mg and now I have UNBEARABLE constipation. Calling the dr tomorrow. Need a change made.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | Patient
1/23/2013
Condition: Ventricular Rate Control in Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I mhave had feet and ankles swelling.And tired all the time

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
didi | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/2/2012
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

started on 2 meds a day 30 mg. got palpitations which have ceased/ at first constant "spiking" 18/074 heart 99/100/ 3 trips to e.r. then they doubled my meds - bad vertigo all the time. my pressure is not high now at all and I think I am overmedicated and am easing off the pills. when I take only 1 pill I have extreme vertigo for a couple of days.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lkr169 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/26/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am taking this because I have a raceing heart rate. It seams to be helping me. Not as many eppisodes. But I do have a problem with the weight gain !!!!! I have gained 15 extra lb's in 3 mo. So I am going to look for some other drug to take for this that will not make me gain more weight. then I will have to lose the weight I gained on this drug.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
thequeen | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/2/2012
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

yes, this medication has lowered my BP and I have has no further episodes of racing heart. However, the swelling of my feet is severe, causing discomfort. Really find this side effect life changing and worrisome.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
meb1922 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month |
6/11/2012
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Having fast heartbeat and high blood pressure. Was on beta blocker for this but got switched to this drug. Can not really tell the difference.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Helen | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/9/2012
Condition: Ventricular Rate Control in Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Has helped with the SVT, but BP is worse.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/17/2012
Condition: Ventricular Rate Control in Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
na | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/9/2012
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It actually RAISED my BP & my heartrate. I ended up in the dr. office today after the dr. doubled the dose 3 days ago. heartrate was 125 & BP was 200/120. Not fun...

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Coos River | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/7/2012
Condition: Diastolic Heart Failure
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After taking this drug for 1 week my blood pressure is higher than it was before I started taking it. The biggest problem is elavated heart rate it has caused which keeps me from sleeping. Resting heart rate is in the mid 80's.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/13/2012
Condition: Ventricular Rate Control in Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I think my second doctor prescribe to large of a dose 240mg - 1st doctor prescribe 120mg and now I have very swollen ankle and the bottom of my feet - I also have Atrail Fibillation.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jan | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/4/2011
Condition: Ventricular Rate Control in Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After trying many beta blockers which gave me asthma-like symptoms, this drug worked to control the palpitations-took a while to get dosage ok (240 mg; reduced my BP med in 1/2 and BP is ok. Hair loss is a side effect ... going to ask the DR about that.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More