Show ratings & reviews for

3.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

31 People found this comment helpful

So, I think this worked. I've used Aldara twice before. The first time it didn't really do anything. I think I was putting too much on. The second time, I used it 5 days a week, only used a tiny bit, and really rubbed it in. I was cleared in about 12 weeks. The warts reduced in size/faded until they were no longer there. That was years ago and none of the "successfully" treated warts came b...

Most voted negative review

7 People found this comment helpful

I've been seeing a dermatologist for several years now. On and off, I'll get one wart and he'll electrocauterize it. All of a sudden, I get a ring of very small ones at the base of the glans and on the foreskin. Doc tells cauterizing isn't an option because, He gives me a sample of veregen. I start using it, and not seeing any effects (bad or good) I decide to fill the scrip and keep trying. $150 ...

Shared reviews and ratings

Carl | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/15/2020
Condition: External Genital Warts
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Iâ??ve had GW for over 4 years now after trying Aldara with no results and then partly ignoring them hoping theyâ??d disappear on their own. They got worse instead. I tried Cryotherapy which proved successful only for them to return again after time. I was put on Catephen which is what Veregen is called here in UK. I saw no changes on the biggest cluster whatsoever and only mild changes on the others. During my 2nd week (after taking a two day break) I have decided to stop using it. The side effects were simply too unbearable for me and is not worth losing sleep over (literally). Burning, Swelling, the intense Itchyness... and infected fluid that kept coming to the surface (which as you can imagine was not a pleasant smell). This may be fine for some and not for others. I guess my skin isnâ??t cut out for the chemicals used alongside the green tea extract ! I am going to go back to Cryotherapy and not stop until their gone.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ohohoh | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/30/2019
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm using Veregen 3x daily for Molluscum Contagiosum and so far I haven't noticed any vast improvements after a month of use. I've switched to 17% salicylic acid and apply once daily and then keep the lesions taped up to prevent spreading. So far it seems to be working.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Robin | 19-24 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/22/2019
Condition: External Genital Warts
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Received this cream from my doctor after having GW for "only" two weeks. There were only a few small around my vagina but bigger and a lot more around my butthole. I used the cream 3 times a day for three weeks now, and after the first week of using the cream most of the GW got killed and fell off. I used the cream on the bumps until they're completely gone. Only two new GWs appeared so I'm currently treating them still. The cream dries out the skin extremely, and the GWs will turn white (they die) and fall off. Most of my GWs were located around my butthole, so the drying effect of the cream made my skin VERY sensitive and felt like I was tearing up my skin (it sometimes hurt when I walked, and also pooped). For a few days I honestly couldn't wipe my butt after pooping because it hurt a LOT (I showered right after to make it clean). Fortunately, the cream is a miracle worker for me and it's definitely worth it! I did take extra vitamins every day to help my body become more healthy, but I can't tell if that really made the difference.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dolly | 35-44 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/10/2019
Condition: External Genital Warts
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been using for 2 months and my gw are shrinking but it seems like while some are gone others have appeared. I record them so see the progress and there's improvement. Itching, blistering, and soreness are present but use 2-3 times daily. Had gw for years but they have been increasing more to where I didn't want to just get them frozen. They are small but many and even considered surgery, but not sure if I will wait or just get it done. This is hard. I won't give up bc i have a great dermatologist who really believes in this and told me to keep using to continue irritating it so it can fall off. Bathing hasn't been the same. They look worse but they are shrinking.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
AnotherdudewithHPV | 25-34 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/22/2017
Condition: External Genital Warts
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been using this cream religiously for 2 and a half years, have spent thousands of dollars on it, it's been working great so far, but it's like a game of whack-a-mole and when some areas clear up, more pop up in their place. The physical pain is very intense, I've had ulcers the size of dimes on my shaft, and around the tip of the penis, but it still doesn't hurt as much as the emotional pain coming with it. I have yet to try Aldara, but after having used this cream for years and seeing the results very slowly i'm down to try anything else. The cream does work, but like I said it takes a very long time it seems, or it maybe the fact that I kept it untreated for around a decade, have faith in the product and good luck to anyone on it.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/11/2017
Condition: External Genital Warts
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed with HPV by my dermatologist after multiple trips to the gyn, who biopsied twice and told me the tiny bumps were "freckles" or "moles." My derm prescribed zyclara but I did not get the 'rash' I was warned about; I only got SUPER itchy in the area and surrounding areas. After ~3 months of small bumps popping up every week or so, and no improvement from the zyclara, my derm prescribed Veregen. Within 2 weeks of using Veregen twice a day, the bumps completely stopped showing up. I did "freeze" them with liquid nitrogen as they appeared, so I cannot say the Veregen "removed" them, but the Veregen definitely seems to have prevented them from returning. I have been wart-free for ~2 months.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
StudentDoc123 | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/23/2016
Condition: External Genital Warts
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Senior medical student here hoping to help others out with some first hand experience + science behind effects. Had one wart appear 6 years ago that failed treatment with Podofilox. Used Aldara, had some skin irritation but wart cleared. Returned a few months later with a lot more appearing last year. Got Veregen. Weeks 1-3 didn't see any change except for in one small "fleshy" wart that swelled with redness then disappeared. This has fluctuated a lot since then. Weeks 4 and on, I started to get the side effects. Swelling, redness, small scabs around the wart (another user said these are NOT smaller warts appearing, and he was correct). I started to then use a smaller amount, more focused on just the wart, bc the surrounding skin was problematic and not the actual warts. I have one that is dark like a mole, and hard (not fleshy), called "keratinized" in the med field. This is similar to skin on palms of hand and soles of feet. They will be harder to get rid of. I have seen a decrease in size of all warts, with the "fleshy" ones getting so small and disappearing that I can't even find them to apply the ointment onto, but they'll come back in a couple days. I am currently on week 12 because I have to keep stopping due to extreme inflammation and ITCHING. Itching is by far the worst. I have some warts in creases on my skin that inflames the skin adjacent to it. This can be prevented by applying lotion or cream to that skin that will be touching the wart. *Do NOT apply lotion to protect skin that is already inflamed. It will get worse. The inflammation is from immune cells under skin and will "trap" this process in that area and make it worse. The skin is not red and dry from lack of moisture. That is why. So if you have skin that will be rubbing against a wart after applying veregen, start the preventive lotion cover BEFORE getting the side effects*. Continued on next post....Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
VeryPleased | 19-24 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/12/2016
Condition: External Genital Warts
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used veregen 3 times a day, during the first week, there was no side affects or change in the amount or size of the warts between the vaginal and anal region, but by week two I had ALL the side effects burning,intense itching, blistering,swelling, reddness, I couldn't even sit down and it burned to pee, so I took a break from veregen for two days to give my skin time to heal,over the next 3-4 weeks the warts first turned white and hard then black and fell off. This product really does magic, if you want results stick through all the side effects even though they make you feel like your in hell.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
taxmeless | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/2/2016
Condition: External Genital Warts
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

10 year history of genital warts with no significant solutions with medical support until Veregen with freezing in office too. Complete remission of warts for one year now. Warning it took 5 weeks and it looked worse initially. I must add that I don't think by itself would of rid them all without work at the dermatologist office to freeze the remnants as well. Take a day or two rest before and after freezing to apply ointment to avoid potential pain or scarring. This was a absolute success story for me. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Male | Patient
2/24/2016
Condition: External Genital Warts
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

6 weeks in and very little change

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
listentomedonttakethis | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/11/2015
Condition: External Genital Warts
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

How can I put this in the most simple terms... This medication made me want to die. Honestly I would've preferred the warts rather than the unbearable pain I experience whilst taking this drug. I was prescribed Veregen for a minor case of external warts about a month ago. After using it for a week, I had no problems. The largest wart I had fell off. Fast forward to a few days later. Unbelievable itching. Then the next day came. It was as if someone had lit my vagina on fire. Burning, irritability, bleeding, pain and difficulty urinating, blisters all over the area. It hurt to sit, it hurt to stand, it hurt to lay down, it hurt to be alive. I also have an extremely high pain tolerance, and this is no laughing matter. I experienced a large degree of success in removing the warts, but at what cost??? I spent four days essentially bedridden and in tears. Don't fuck around with this shit. Explore other options and use this as an absolute last resort. I quit using it just a few hours ago and I can already feel the difference. I don't know how the hell green tea seared my skin off the way it did. Maybe I had an extreme allergic reaction, who knows. But I definitely experienced every possible side effect out there. PROCEED WITH EXTREME CAUTIONRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Happy Feet | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/2/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a large group of plantar's warts, the size of a nickel on my heel for well over ten years. Had it frozen many times, surgically removed, Aldara, duct tape, bleach, vinegar, etc., etc. All it did was grow. My dermatologist's PA prescribed Veregen along with two blister beetle juice treatments (to burn through the thick skin). Cost of Veregen was crazy but, I was sick of the pain when walking. Applied Veregen 1-2 times daily then bandaged. Had no side effects. Noticed reduction in wart within two months. Completely cleared in four months. Happy feet now!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/30/2014
Condition: External Genital Warts
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After several weeks, the area where I had been applying the Veregen seem to be getting better, although extremely slowly. The past few weeks I have been taking a very warm and soapy bath in the morning and at night. Within minutes of drying off, I have applied the Veregen. It seems as though my skin has been absorbing the Veregen much better now. Although my skin seems to be very dry. It looks like the warts have become much smaller, more quickly since I've been taking the warm soapy bath prior to applying Veregen.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mr.Simba | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/14/2014
Condition: External Genital Warts
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It's working as it suppose to. I have a question: It says that you can only use it for 16 weeks. What time you need to wait to use it again if necessary?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
hanginthere65 | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/16/2014
Condition: External Genital Warts
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After 5 years of acv, cryo, and aldara, I was 5 days ago prescribed Veregen. Nothing short of a miracle drug. All my old sites rising up,turning white then black, beginning to clear completely! More persistent areas now darkening and shrinking as well. I applied 3 times in 24 hours, reapplying immediately after morning shower. It appears im on track to clear completely. Veregen is the real thing. Spread thinly over entire areas effected then be patient. My success thus far is exactly has those who stuck out the initial stages and experienced the amazing anti viral relief Veregen offers. Im so excited to apparently be ending what seemed to be a lifelong constant recurrence. I SUGGEST EVERYONE RUN TO THEIR DOCTOR..WORTH EVERY DOLLAR! And whats a super bonus, it doesnt burn good skin, even scrotum skin! Best wishes to all of you suffering. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/11/2014
Condition: External Genital Warts
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had began treatment for my external Genital Warts last fall, and was on a regiment of cryo treatment and Aldara. I did not have very large or pronounced warts but smaller ones mostly around the base of my penis, and on the backside of the shaft. Aldara did absolutely nothing except tear my skin up around my scrotum. I was very discourgaged as the cryo was working, but when other smaller warts would appear the Aldara was completely ineffective. I thought I would try Veregen, as my dermatologist had briefly mentioned it and gave me a pamphlet. I started using it as directed, 3x a day. Probably after the first 2 days I noticed a smaller outbreak of what looked like more very small warts. I was very upset but continued the treatment.To my suprise teh small spots started turning black and eventually disappeared, and within two weeks most all the warts were gone. I am very happy with the product, and my dermatologist is excited because he said to this point he hasn't really recommended it to many patients. Every now and again Ill get a small wart , and resume treating it with the Veregen and it will usually be gone within 3-4 days. I know everyone's immune system is different, but it's worth a shot! Good luck! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
hope | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/11/2014
Condition: External Genital Warts
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I noticed what seemed to be a single mole near my scrotum, then it became more. I went to the doctor and he recommended veregen. I've been using it now for five and a half months. I'm extremely compliant, and diligent. I apply twice a day, morning and evening, and always after a shower for maximum contact. I have seen a slow, and I mean slow dissipating of the hvp over the months, then at five and a half months into this therapy of veregen there exploded, literally overnight, new areas of presentation just at the base of my shaft. These were very large and shocked me. I am continuing the treatment and hoping this is the 'death throws' of the hvp. This new area seems to be in the state of almost crusting over after just a few days of treatment, something the other area took months to do. After this stage, if it holds true, there is a scabbing and then healing. But even in the previous areas where it has gone away, and now feels smooth, there are dark dots marking the areas they existed. Hopefully this will go away over time. I have an appointment to see the doctor again in a few weeks, will report back. Hang in there everyone, it is just 'life'. And for those despondent over future relationships, this may not convince you, but people in generally are more interested in the bigger part of who you are than an issue like this. And there is a vaccine. Funny, I asked my doctor for this vaccine some years ago and he said "unless there is something about you I don't know, you don't need it". I took it to mean that it only affects those who are gay. I'm a male, and just took his advice as good advice. I do not know why he shunned my request but I would insist if I could go back in time. Take heart! Think positive! Heal! :)Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
uttvaa | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/10/2014
Condition: External Genital Warts
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

So, I think this worked. I've used Aldara twice before. The first time it didn't really do anything. I think I was putting too much on. The second time, I used it 5 days a week, only used a tiny bit, and really rubbed it in. I was cleared in about 12 weeks. The warts reduced in size/faded until they were no longer there. That was years ago and none of the "successfully" treated warts came back. But there were a few areas that I may have missed with the Aldara due to the redness and irritation I experienced, and simply removing them wasn't fixing the problem. Veregen took about three or four days before I started having a skin reaction: redness, flaking skin, and lots of small blisters that scabbed over (many reviewers seem to think these are warts, but I think it's the blistering side-effect). My skin was often warm, red, & slightly swollen. It was uncomfortable. I noticed some significant changes around week two and three. The skin got very red and the warts seemed to become swollen or more raised (they were fairly small to begin with). The itching could be pretty bad, but ibuprofen helped a lot (and helped me sleep). I had some slight pain, and the treated areas were pretty wet with a clear discharge. Then around week three/four, the warts began to reduce in size and each day they became more difficult to find. Now, they appear to be completely gone. Twice in the four weeks I've been using it I had to take a break and let my skin heal. I usually gave it about two days, then continued on as usual. I am going to continue to apply for the next few weeks to make sure they are completely gone, and monitor for any others that may pop up. It's difficult to find useful reviews of this product--there is so much incorrect information on forums, etc. I get that this isn't something people like to face, but maybe this review will be helpful. I hope it really worked. It looks like it may have. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/7/2014
Condition: External Genital Warts
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used this product 3 times a day. I saw results in a week, and complete disappearance of each wart in 2-3 weeks. I had no irritation at all.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nour | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/10/2013
Condition: External Genital Warts
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Veregen Helps me a lot, way better than Aldara cream. I read a lots of comments about its getting worser when using Veregen, thats very logical it wipes away also the underlying warts you never saw hidden under your skin! Veregen thrown out the underlaying virus under the skin, so yes thats why in the beginning its always getting worser. Unfortunately it isnt painless but if you hold on to this, it will become calm and you will experience a smooth skin again

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More