Show ratings & reviews for

3.0 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

13 People found this comment helpful

My husband and I have both been taking Simcor for almost a year. We take it in combination with 3 pills of Welchol each day, along with a pharmacy grade fish oil capsule (2 per day). At first, the flushing with this drug (caused by the Niacin it contains) was annoying. However, if you take an aspirin or benedryl with it for the first few weeks, you will begin to tolerate the flushing. Occasion...

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
12/1/2014
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been on drug for approx 4-5 years. It's done wonders for on Cholesterol level, down to 150. I too experienced the flushing, but resolved via baby aspirin. However, my doctor reviewed new research on Simcor recently and recommended I change meds. So, now taking Atorvastatin; will run blood tests in two months to check cholesterol and triglyceride levels. Good news - new med a fraction of the price of Simcor; bad news - TBD.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Olive oil | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
11/26/2014
Condition: Combined High Blood Cholesterol and Triglyceride Level
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have taken Simcor several years with no side effects. The only med that lowers my cholesterol within limits. Cigna has dropped Simcor from their formulary for next year! United American is only part D provider now. Will switch to them Dec 7th. I take it at bed time and fall asleep with no problems. It is expensive which is why Signa dropped it from formulary!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
A.B.S. | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/15/2014
Condition: Combined High Blood Cholesterol and Triglyceride Level
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Drug caused intense boiling-like burning,intense itching, nausea,dizziness, redness of skin and I passed out, hesrt my back and my head, vomitted, and ended up in the emergency room twice. Almost died! Very dangerous drug!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/2/2013
Condition: Combined High Blood Cholesterol and Triglyceride Level
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mari | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
9/17/2013
Condition: Combined High Blood Cholesterol and Triglyceride Level
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken Simcor for over 5 years and it has done wonders lowering my cholesterol where statins alone could not. I have never experienced any bad side effects except for possibly some slight hot flashes at times but not a daily experience and not severe.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kenn | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
9/13/2013
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have used Simcor for around five years. Only problem is the classic - flushing, wanting to pull my skin off, sweating, rapid heart beat. I can associate it with what I have eaten, especially spicy Mexican. Easily controlled by taking 3 baby aspirin as soon as I feel it coming on. May happen 4-6 times per year.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
deno | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/2/2013
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i sometimes get sinis infection

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/9/2013
Condition: Combined High Blood Cholesterol and Triglyceride Level
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

You cannot take this medication with any food item containing fat. The trick is to take it in the morning before eating or at night. A delay of 30 minutes minimum between taking it and any fat containing food is safe. If not, it feels like ants crawling all over your body.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/22/2012
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Broken Heart | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/24/2012
Condition: Low HDL Cholesterol
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is my second week taking this medication, I take one pill before bed and also an aspiring thirty minutes before simcor. I also take Omega3 pills three time per day. Today was the first day that I saw my face red, like sunburn red, butI was not in the sun at all, it lasedt a couple of hours and then it was gone just like that, I also noticed a change a slight change on my bowel habits more often and lots of rumbling noise from my stomach. The only side effect that seems to be bothersome is the dry skin, I feel my skin unusually dry and I'm constantly applying body lotion, hand cream, even my lips seemed dry, which has prompt me to drink more water. I never liked just plain water now I crave water all the time which seems to be helping loose the weight that I must loose. only two weeks since I began taking this med, I sure hope that I do not get the flushing that seems to be common. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jsmith | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/26/2012
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i only took this pill for 4 days....the 4th day i felt like i was dipped in fire from head to toe, i felt like i was going to throw up, i was very, very dizzy. The worst part of this 45 min "living hell" was....my vision was pretty much gone....all i could see was a white blur on everything, and that lasted about 10 mins.....this was the longest 45 mins of my life...needless to say, i wont be taking this pill ever again....

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Janpot | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
11/19/2011
Condition: Combined High Blood Cholesterol and Triglyceride Level
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Flushing controlled by taking 325 mg aspirin 30 min. before taking Simcor. Have decreased dosage of aspirin to 81 mg over a period of time and found this amount works for me as well.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/28/2011
Condition: Low HDL Cholesterol
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was taking 1/2 pill per day without any side effects. My doctor told me to increase to 1 whole pill per day. After about a week, I woke up with my face feeling like it was on fire. I tried getting to my feet but was very light headed and fell, hitting my head on the dresser. I didn't know at the time that it was all associated with Simcor, and it scared the hell out of me. I thought I was having the "big one". I'm going back to 1/2 pill and intend to take some aspirin with it. I'm also going to take it at dinner time, because if I have intense flushing like that again, I'd rather have it when I'm awake than in the middle of the night.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
darcyh24 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/19/2011
Condition: Combined High Blood Cholesterol and Triglyceride Level
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking Simcor several months ago. I never had a problem with te "flushing" it kind of felt like a hot flash every once and a while. Thst is until I got a horrible migraine (nothing to do with this med) and I stopped taking all of my other medications because I was on some heavy pain meds. When I got that situation cleared up I went directly back to taking 2 pills before bed. the second night after taking 2 pills I was on FIRE! It was scarey I'll admit, but the Dr. did warn me about it. I went back to 1 pill for 2 weeks then resumed with 2 pills. I haven't had another problem since.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Potcinske | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
8/10/2011
Condition: Increased Triglycerides and Cholesterol
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had no side effects at all. Both my bad cholesterol & triglycerides have been lowered to the good level on Berkeley blood tests.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jgeo | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/4/2011
Condition: Combined High Blood Cholesterol and Triglyceride Level
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking simcor about 3 months ago. The first week was a living hell.I turned into one big red hot chili pepper.It made my skin tingle and burn like theres no tomorrow.I thought my ears were going to explode they were so hot.But after the first week my body got used to it and there was only minor flushing here and there.Simcor worked good for my cholestrol but its done nothing for my triglycerides.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
quinnmcb | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/27/2011
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Let me first say that everyone complaining of the ON fire feeling...that is really normal. It's the niacin not the simvistatin. Also take 325mg of asprin...not 81 baby asprins...I am 30 and my cholesterol isn't that high but the size is and my bp isn't good. I can see where it would scare people that haven't been explained the "flushing" feeling. Yes it feels like a sunburn. So here is my advice. Use soft sheets, wear hardly anything, take asprin, and do not take this medicine until you are sure that you will be sleeping. If you have problems sleeping on this ask your dr about sleeping meds. It isn't as bad as some say on here. Good luck on your journey. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
RBinCA | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/12/2011
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Last night was my first night on this medication. As directed, I had a snack one hour before taking the pill. I woke up at 2:00 in the morning with flushing so severe my scalp and torso felt on fire. As the flushing steadily intensified I became extremely dizzy and fainted within seconds of standing up. The hot flash eventually subsided in 30 minutes, but it was a looooong 30 minutes. Today, I have a slight headache accompanied by some lightheadedness. I am going to pass on this and all Niacin meds. I’m going back to my Welchol and adding flaxseed oil to my daily regimen.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JJ | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/4/2011
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have been on Simcor for about 5 months now for high cholesterol. It's very important you follow label (or your docs)instructions when taking this drug. I take mine with a low-fat snack and a coated aspirin 30 minutes before bedtime. Flushing seemed to be the only side effect I experienced, off and on for the first couple of weeks. Not going to lie, the first couple episodes of flushing were horrible, I felt like I was being burned alive from the inside out. Told my doc I wasn't going to take it anymore and he said I really needed it and to give it a few days. By body seemed to adjust pretty quickly and I rarely experience problems anymore. On the very rare occasion I do experience flushing now, it's so mild it really doesn't bother me.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
daviddou | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/15/2011
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After taken it for a few weeks, I was ok, felt a lil flushing..was a bit uncomfortable but then it passed. Then one night...... I'm not sure, but I believe this is what HELL will be like. The burn starts in the brain, it swells the head, a fire w/in my arms erupted like a volcano, the tingling set in and introduced in concert the FIRE...ahhh the fire.... I really felt like I was burning from the inside.. I jumped into a cold bath. i took aspirin, benedryl.. i felt dizzy..i thought i was going to die... yes its that bad.. I've since started to go to church - as I dont want to go to hell when I die. I am now very religous and attend bible study once a week. As for Simcor - well its working, both physically and religiously as I've a new found appreciate to stay away from HELL!!!! You too may go there one night at 2.30am , get ready to BURN!!! works great though... Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More