Show ratings & reviews for

3.4 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

19 People found this comment helpful

I have been on Pristiq for a week now. The first 2 nights were rough, I had bad anxiety and restlessness thoughout the night, I didnt sleep much but was wide awake for work the next morning and in GREAT spirts! My husband has noticed the changes and has said to me that it was nice to have the old me back. This pill has completely zapped my appetite though, and I have lost much weight in a week ...

Most voted negative review

7 People found this comment helpful

I have celiac disease and was not aware till I called that the active ingredients contain gluten. Worst 3 weeks I have had in a long time.

Shared reviews and ratings

Pristiq101 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/14/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Favorite AD so far. Take with adderall 20mg x2 daily and abilify 5mg. Been on pristiq 50mg for 3 weeks, now up to 100mg on my fourth week. Was tapering off trintellix while starting this med cause trintellix didn’t ever help my depression at therapeutic dose of 20mg. Feel so good and alive finally - just excited for life and content. Was sooo depressed before, or having mood swings of darkness and then ok-ness. Now feeling perfectly where I want to be - able to live life again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
6/8/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is one of the only medications that has worked for my depression and anxiety. I have taken it for 5 years without pause (starting at 19yo), and then started again 8mos ago after a two-year pause being off medication entirely. I guess I would say the depression and anxiety relapsed even after therapy. I have taken it previously in combination with Wellbutrin which worked well. I currently pay $9/mo for this medication. I wouldn't say it makes me feel at 100% but I feel probably 75%, which is worth it to me. I did not have side effects other than weight gain this time around, but that is because I am eating full meals again and enjoying food. The downside is skipping a dose or forgetting to take it gives me the shakes but once I take it again later in the day (when I remember) it fades quickly. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/20/2022
Condition: Posttraumatic Stress Syndrome
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

First off, I was one of those people who took to heart every review and was scared to start taking this medication but I gathered up courage and took it. It took me over a month to take it but I did. No side effects at all for me. I took it for several weeks and didn't feel too much of a change. I'm giving it more time but don't let other people's experiences stop you from trying to find some help. Trust me. I was just like you. Try it and don't give up.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Doresearch | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/30/2021
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The first few days I felt wired. Then about a week I started experiencing dizziness when I made sudden movements and couldn’t think very well. Then a little over a week I started to have an upset stomach and diarrhea. The dizziness got worse. My heart rate had increased to the point I was concerned. Then I’ve had hot and cold flashes. Started vomiting, diarrhea got work, dizziness got even worse. I had the shakes. I was having shortness of breath off and on. I now have heartburn extremely bad. I had to go to the emergency room. I was told to discontinue the medication. I’ve never had this bad of an experience with any antidepressant in my life. I told my doctor I took Effexor in the past and I learned this is pretty much the same medication. Why would she put me back on something that didn’t agree with me before regardless of the new changes. This has discouraged me from taking any antidepressants in the futureRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
R | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/27/2021
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medicine was listed after the swab test, I've been on it for over 3 years still struggling with mood changes, depression, anxiety up, it's so frustrating. Wondering if it's enhanced the negative reaction when exposed to chemical cleaners like bleach?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mike A | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/1/2021
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Sadly after 4 weeks I had not gained any relief.My symptoms had actually gotten worse.I also read it contains gluten. So back to the drawing board.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Disappointed | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/8/2021
Condition: Posttraumatic Stress Syndrome
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The doctor recommended this medication for depression, anxiety & PTSD. I've been on it for over a year but still having issues with anxiety, depression, etc, and it's a challenge to deal with the side effects (most meds cause issues for me) of sweating & blurry vision.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ana | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/22/2021
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Everyone complaining took it for a few weeks. I've been on it for nearly 2 years. It has helped out A LOT. I was on fluoxetine during high school which helped my depression, but around 19 fluoxetine slowed down (its normal as its meant for teens). Went to psychology. Spoke to my GP. Swapped onto Pristiq 50 mg. Worked for about a year and a half. About 3-4 ish months ago I was getting bad again. Suicidal thoughts, couldn't control my thoughts. It was really really bad. I was scared of myself. Spoke to the GP again, now I'm on 100 mg and I am doing good again. Hopefully it'll stay like this for a while. The best way to explain it.... is I can't get sad ?? of course some things would make me sad but I'd be sad for like 3 mins and then I'd stop and be fine. Unlike before I'd sleep all day from how depressed I was. It has helped A LOT. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lisha | 35-44 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/31/2019
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had the mouth swab done and Pristiq was listed as one of my effective medications for MDD. I have been taking it for over 2 years. I do not like that you have to take it exactly the same time everyday if not you will experience things like fatigue, headache, upset stomach, or electric shocks in your head if you run out of medicine. So set an alarm, or take it along with something that you do at the same time daily. Otherwise, a great medicine. I wass increased to 100mg daily about 6 months ago and am doing great! I don't feel depressed but do have periods of sadness and grief, from losing my 8 year old suddenly to a virus 4 years ago. This had been the most effective medicine for me after trying many. I also take clonazepam for anxiety with the Pristiq, it's great! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Willow | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/29/2018
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After a saliva test to see which drug works best, it turned out I needed to take desvenlafafaxine. Seemed to work, no special instructions.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/19/2018
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take Pristiq for Generalized Anxiety Disorder w/ Agoraphobia, PTSD, and some depression, brought on by being born with "gender dysphoria". This is the only medicine that has seemingly worked for me, to a limit, and NOT given me any side effects worth mentioning. I have dealt with this battle all my life, and tried different anti-depressants at different times in my life, but always suffered side effects. I have noticed a slight reduction in appetite sometimes, but I have been watching what I eat for a while anyway just to maintain my normal weight. Sugar is a vice! Anyway, it's nice to finally have something that doesn't give me "brain zaps", sexual side effects, weight gain, unbelievable tiredness/exhaustion, etc. I'm already kind of weary of crowds because of my illnesses and also due to being assaulted from behind really badly about 8 years ago, and maybe sometimes I think/feel like I don't want to do anything. But I can honestly say I notice a difference in my ability to conjure up motivation and do things and see people. I take 50mg right now once a day, in the morning with breakfast. I started at 25mg for several weeks. I would give it 5 stars, but I am only about 4 months in! Thanks! Good luck to anyone looking for HELP. - JonathanRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/2/2017
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been experiencing high levels of anger and irritability. I am so sad most of the time. I am taking 150 mg daily and wonder if it is too much. I never want to go anywhere or see people.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Feelingawesome | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/15/2014
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

When I started taking the drug, I experienced quite a nasty headache, which lasted about 24 hours gradually getting better. My focus levels went though the roof, along with my concentration and energy levels. It was a great feeling that lasted around 4-5days into the medication. After that, I settled down back to "myself" except I wasn't depressed, I felt like I should feel, and it's been like this while I've been taking the drug :). Its the best med I've had and I have no intention of coming off it yet. I will point out that I missed a dose a while back and I had the worst headache I've ever had. I immediately took the dose I had missed and within 3-4hours the headache went. Hope this helpsRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
qwerty | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/15/2014
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bev | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/23/2014
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have anxiety issues. At first this medication wired me up , for about two weeks I talked nonstop ! Also I couldt eat much for several weeks. I have been on this med for 3 months and it is not helping with my anxiety at all.In fact I feel like it may be adding to it. I also get aggitated easily on this med. I tried to get off of it, but started to have the shakes after just 2 days so I started it back !!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/5/2012
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i was so deppressed that i dropped out of school, was bringing misery to my own family, and with all my heart wanted to die. but I did not have the will to do it because i thought of all the people that would miss me and all the people who needed me. The thing that lifted me up enough out of my depression to come to this realization is desvenlafaxine. I owe my live to this medicine. It has given me the resources to move on with my life.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/23/2010
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have celiac disease and was not aware till I called that the active ingredients contain gluten. Worst 3 weeks I have had in a long time.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
yankee | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/1/2010
Condition: "Change of Life" Signs
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

just 1st day but i feel dizzy and lightheaded,plus sleepy. has anyone else been given this for menopause symptoms too?? not sure about continuing,seems very strong for me....

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CHER | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/15/2010
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

For many years I have suffered with an anxiety disorder. Without getting into any particulars the anxiety ruled my life. I was fortunate to find a new family physician and after really listening to me she said she wanted me to try Pristiq as she'd had other patients who had very positive results. I've just finished 6 weeks. The first few weeks I did experience tummy issues, rapid heart beat and one or two panic or anxiety attacks that took me by surprise. But as I write this today I can honestly say I haven't felt this good in a long time. I feel I can be more spontaneous and something as simple as taking a long walk with my husband doesn't throw me into a complete tizzy. Sorry for this long note but I'm so happy I can share my positive experience.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
KIM | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/15/2010
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

In response to Sandy: Pristiq is the L-isomer (I think that's what they call it) to Effexor. Pharma companies come out with new versions of drugs that are getting ready to go generic. Sometimes the newer drug is tweeked to be better but mostly no difference. They just want to recoup their investment and make a profit from research for original..so basically Pristiq took the place of Effexor. Therefore, I would think it would have the same effect on your blood pressure. I'm surprised your doctor wasn't aware of this. You should check with them. Effexor and Pristiq are the only effective drugs for my depression and ADD symtoms. Hopefully you can switch to something else. BE SURE TO TITRATE DOWN PER DOCTORS INSTRUCTIONS WHEN GETTING OFF OF THIS DRUG. STOPPING ABRUPTLY HAS HORRIBLE SIDE EFFECTS. GOOD LUCK!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More