Show ratings & reviews for

3.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

23 People found this comment helpful

I've been on Tegretol for 18 yrs. For seizures,been seizure free for that lenght of time. After reading reviews, maybe Tegretol is what causes me to be tired alot of the time. I have trouble with memory and recalling words in conversation with people.

Most voted negative review

4 People found this comment helpful

I was given Tegretol after having several mild seizures and after just one week of taking the drug I had my first grand mal seizure. In the space of the 2 months I was on the drug I had 4 grand mal seizures, 15 fitting seizures, 8 stiffness seizures and my absences increased to multiple times an hour. After this my neurologist changed my prescription to Keppra and after some experimenting with dos...

Shared reviews and ratings

nightmare | 19-24 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/19/2023
Condition: Mania associated with Bipolar Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Stopping this medication is awful. It's been a month and I still feel frozen, numb,unmotivated, unable to move, talk, walk without a lot of waiting and self determination. All of a sudden tasks that seemed natural and easy for me are challenging, even writing. My advice: if you don't need it, don't take it. Randomly freezing and numbness in the arms, hands and feet throughout the night and day, total nightmare.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
confusion&more | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/19/2023
Condition: Mania associated with Bipolar Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It was a godsent for the time that i took it, never had my sleep improved so much, I was feeling great until I stopped taking it and now I'm considering going back on it because I feel like I can't function without it. To hell with speech disturbance. This medication is a lifesaver. It reduced my mood swings, made me quiet and calmer, stopped me from laughing abruptly at the most inopportune of moments, reduced my thinking and memory and problem solving skills but who cares when u can feel more like urself. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jobaby | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/8/2022
Condition: Facial Nerve Pain
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Good for the nerve pain but taken with an AD made me flat and emotionless. Not fun coming off, can cause horrid thoughts so take withdrawal slowly

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ADz | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month |
5/4/2022
Condition: Facial Nerve Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Suffer from TMJ from clenching and grinding at night due to stress. Caused dental problems. After a filling, seems like a nerve was struck (pun intended). After almost 2 weeks, sudden and excruciating shooting pain intermittently entire left side of face. Couldn't work, barely wanting to see another day. Along my eye, top jaw, lower jaw, right side of tongue even underside of jaw. Diagnosed dental induced TN Started this medication and in 4 days the 'attacks' are less severe and less often every day. Slightly slower but I really don't mind that. I seem happier too. Bonus.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Laura | 19-24 | Other | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/28/2022
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I actually take it for Bipolar but for some reason that's not listed. I've been on it for 16 years. I do experience some side effects, sun sensitivity, some memory problems and weight gain. The memory problems are not enough to inhibit my ability to work and socialize though. It's pretty good for Bipolar, I can still feel the shifts but they are dampened. Honestly after researching so many drugs I would say none are perfect best of luck finding one you can live with.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
tisha | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/16/2019
Condition: Nerve Pain
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Never had an allergy on medicine but after taking this medicine for 5 weeks to treat my nerve pain on my 1.5cm scalp surgery, I had a severe allergic reaction "Steven Johnson Syndrome which covers 90% of my body with a red patch & blister where I was brought in emergency & being hospitalized for 2 weeks. I'm like a burn person were hands & feet had blisters, mouth sores, & nails almost pop out. Liver & kidney swells.Even liquid hardly pass thru your throat & was put on isolation room due to prone to infection. Now 7 months had passed, dark patches still covering my entire body. Looks like a dalmatian dog :P. Now I had developed massive food allergies & allergens. Only few I can eat Bottom line, Thanks God Im still alive & that dark patchy skin i have wont define me. thank you. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Carolyn | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/16/2018
Condition: Facial Nerve Pain
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I came down with trigeminal neuralgia 1 month ago. Went to ER with agony. Given 200 mg Tegretol. It stopped the pain but has made me a zombie. I am 71 but very active, in school, play cello. Now I am a zombie and I feel like my life is over because I have to choose between crippling agony of TGN or being a zombie, and I have to choose zombie. My heart is broken. I am also depressed now, never was before, and have gained weight, 5 lbs in one month.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
8/16/2017
Condition: Nerve Pain
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Erased my husband's long-term memory. He had a photographic memory, then poof! Gone.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Angie | 35-44 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
6/11/2017
Condition: Mania associated with Bipolar Disorder
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took 1,200 mg of Tegratol daily for 5 years in the late 90's. While it did do it's job it also erased my memory of those 5 years of life. I have virtually no memories of high school

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
skin on fire | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/1/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I couldn't take the medicine long enough to know if it worked. Only took it about 2 wks. I've had mild-moderate psoriasis for 45 years. Within a week after starting Tegretol for mood disorder (probably) caused by traumatic brain injury 15 yrs ago) my skin was burning, most intensely on psoriasis patches but also on unaffected skin. Stopped taking it a few days ago but still I want to tear my skin off it itches so bad. I'm taking a number of other meds for psychiatric problems so not sure what interactions may or may not be in play. But the only thing that seems to make sense is starting Tegretol. So beware if you have PSORIASIS, but that may or may not be due to interactions with meds. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
10/28/2015
Condition: Facial Nerve Pain
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Put my wife in cardiac arrest 5 times

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
atient1989 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
7/9/2015
Condition: Multiple Seizure Types
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have mostly complex partial seizures, but have also experienced petite mal and grand mal. I have taken this for 25 years and it works very well for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
6/19/2015
Condition: Convulsive Seizures
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking the generic Tegretol 2-200 mg. tabs daily for almost 30 years. it has been very effective for controlling seizure activity, of which I have experienced only two lifetime events in my 40s and am now 71 years of age. Lately though I've had breakthrough of the medication and have experienced waking up in the middle of the night with strong feelings of seizure activity, (i.e feelings of convulsing of my brain with copious amounts of drool and feelings of confusion for a couple of days after, memory loss, etc.) I plan to see my internist to see what he recommends for me. I am returning for a Tegretol blood test on Monday 6/22/15. Will update this entry once I have more information.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sandra | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/31/2014
Condition: Bipolar I Disorder with Most Recent Episode Mixed
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am feeling better but, I think I am losing my hair from this med. Anybody else have this side effect?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Boats | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
12/10/2014
Condition: Bipolar Disorder in Remission
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this drug for the last 25 years as a mood stabilizer. Works great! Save the regular blood tests for Tegritol and sodium levels, I have been very satisfied with this drug. Yes it is easy to take.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | Patient
12/9/2014
Condition: Epileptic Seizure
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taking this and still having 6-9 auras a month. Doesn't work for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dan | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/13/2014
Condition: Facial Nerve Pain
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was in pain for a month and went back and forth between the dentist and oral surgeon. The oral surgeon finally recommended seeing a neurologist. The neurologist prescribed Tegretol, which has alleviated the facial pain. However, I'm experiencing the side effect of a pain in my throat. I called the doctor, and he said he's never heard of this side effect and to keep taking the medication until my appointment next week. Has anyone else experienced this side effect?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
scottyipa7mp | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/9/2014
Condition: Mania associated with Bipolar Disorder
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

sever bone marrow supresion . almost died. needed transfusions . double vision . drunk feeling. stay away .dose was only 400 mg.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Alfreduj4 | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/9/2014
Condition: Manic-Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After tegretol at week 8 I developed severe anemia . had to have blood transfusion . very scary almost died.This is very rare people . but it happend to me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Olivia | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/31/2014
Condition: Epileptic Seizure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was given Tegretol after having several mild seizures and after just one week of taking the drug I had my first grand mal seizure. In the space of the 2 months I was on the drug I had 4 grand mal seizures, 15 fitting seizures, 8 stiffness seizures and my absences increased to multiple times an hour. After this my neurologist changed my prescription to Keppra and after some experimenting with dosage, in the space of two years my seizures have become almost completely controlled by my medication. Tegretol was the worst drug I have ever had the misfortune of being prescribed, my experience has been nothing but distress and increased seizures. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More