Show ratings & reviews for

4.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

9 People found this comment helpful

This medication helped me by stopping my post-nasal dripping which was causing me to experience a great deal of coughing. My cough was so persistent that I was unable to sleep; that is, until I took 1 tablet of Wal-Act. Twenty minutes, or so, after taking this medication, my coughing ceased and I was finally able to sleep. Drowsiness does occur with the use of Wal-Act, so it is advisable, at le...

Most voted negative review

2 People found this comment helpful

OMG!! I took Wal-Act because the pharmacist told me that it would be good to clear my head. I had a sinus infection, and after I was finished with my antibiotics, I could still tell that my sinuses were clogged. Although I had no stuffy nose or congestion that I could tell, my ears kept getting clogged with what I assumed was congestion from the sinus infection. The stuff was still in my head ...

Shared reviews and ratings

Eric | 55-64 | Male |
9/9/2021
Condition: Runny Nose
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

For me, Walact-D (Previously, Actifed, and Walact) is a miracle drug against a runny nose that won't stop, and it only takes 1 small tablet. Walact-D can cause some drowsiness, so it's best to use it when you're planning on staying home. Because of the drowsiness effect, it can double-up as a sleeping aid. I feel it beginning to dry my sinuses in 20 minutes. I think Walact-D could be successful in fighting some of the symptoms of Covid-19 by drying the sinuses before it gets to the lungs, but not much is being said about it. Keep some around because you'll never know when you'll need it.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Propman01 | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
4/9/2020
Condition: Cold Symptoms
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

When I get that "scritchy" feeling in the back of my throat -- indicating congestion of some sort -- I take Wal-Act at least twice, about 8 or 10 hours apart. Usually, the next day the congestion is gone. Now, I'm hoping it may help people with COVID-19, and have asked Google to check that out!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/29/2019
Condition: Allergic Conjunctivitis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Only allergy medication that has worked for me, and I have tried everything.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
WAL-ACT or ACTIFED | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
4/20/2018
Condition: Stuffy Nose
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have used this or same ingredient drug for over 30 years. I have seasonal allergies. It is the only thing that works for me.....I actually cut them in half and take it at night.....sometimes I rotate using a decongestive nasal spray, but very dependant on it from April through August!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
merrybear | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/18/2018
Condition: Inflammation of the Nose due to an Allergy
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

this medication is amazing! it works for me every time, it is by far the best nasal decongestant out there and really knocks out my allergies and sinus pain!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Freebird | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
10/16/2017
Condition: Inflammation of the Nose due to an Allergy
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is the generic equivalent of Actifed. It is the best medicine for my sinus and allergy issues, which include pain and pressure.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Long Term User | 45-54 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
9/6/2017
Condition: Inflammation of the Nose due to an Allergy
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is the only medicine that works when I get serious pain from blocked sinuses. It is also great when your sinuses continue to run, due to allergies.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Stayc79 | 35-44 | Female | Patient
2/14/2017
Condition: Cold Symptoms
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Amazing! Drys up that post nasal drip caused by colds and allergies. Warning, it will make you drowsy. I take it to help me sleep and when I wake up I feel great! This is my secret weapon for colds and allergies.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
11/26/2015
Condition: Seasonal Runny Nose
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'll suffer virtigo after nasal congession if don't use this medicine.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
nosespraynow | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/4/2013
Condition: Inflammation of the Nose due to an Allergy
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

As with some, this is the only remaining '-fed' product w/triprolidine hydrochloride 2.5 mg, which relieves my symptoms (which, for me, are swollen sinus membranes, restricting passages and causing pressure, leading to pain/tension). Unlike most, they make me hyper. Sometimes good ('energy'), sometimes bad (restlessness).

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
3/28/2012
Condition: Inflammation of the Nose due to an Allergy
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Perky44 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
3/6/2012
Condition: Cold Symptoms
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I can only tolerate one of these tablets at a time. It knocks me out, but when I awake, I feel so incredibly better. It truly dries up the post nasal drip that leads to an annoying cough that brings no rest. I suppose in that regard, the drowsiness it causes is a good thing. I wouldn't take it during the day if you have a job to do. With me, I am sound asleep within 30 minutes of taking it. I am usually so allergic to most meds, but I seem to tolerate this one very well. I have taken this med off and on for quite awhile.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
wal-act | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years |
2/13/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

When I am using computer\\\\\\\\\\\\ Sometimes I experience a dizzy feeling when I am in the process of writing for a while. Wal-Act -I get it at Walgreens, need to sign for it.It seems to help my problem. I do not see a "pull down list.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/28/2012
Condition: Inflammation of the Nose due to an Allergy
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Wal-Act is fantastic. I have a deviated septum and get horizontal nasal congestion. It's a terrible combination as I cannot breath when laying down for sleep. I used to take Triaminicin for nasal congestion relief at night, but that went off the market. Then I went to Flonase, but got headaches. A pharmacist said to try Wal-Act. That was three years ago and this product is perfect. I take 1 tablet or less at night when I go to bed. As soon as I lay down my sinuses close and I cannot breath. But within 15 minutes of taking a Wal-Act my sinuses are open and I can breath all night. No side affects, except I think I cannot sleep without them now. They are a miracle for me. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
5 star | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/6/2012
Condition: Allergic Conjunctivitis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Great medication for seasonal allergy type symptoms but needs to be taken cautiously as it will make you extremely drowsy.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kimkea | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
7/31/2011
Condition: Non-Seasonal Allergic Runny Nose
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i have sinus problems year round and asthma, this works better for me than anything my doctor has perscribed in the last four years. So glad I found it again. I used this for years until they took it off market. I have suffered since then, it should be tested for asthma it really helps mine.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | Patient
12/28/2010
Condition: Cold Symptoms
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is a great drug to take for a cold or allergies. I would not suggest taking two though, because I did and I fell asleep at work!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Scaredtodeath | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/16/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

OMG!! I took Wal-Act because the pharmacist told me that it would be good to clear my head. I had a sinus infection, and after I was finished with my antibiotics, I could still tell that my sinuses were clogged. Although I had no stuffy nose or congestion that I could tell, my ears kept getting clogged with what I assumed was congestion from the sinus infection. The stuff was still in my head and it was giving me a forever headache. I was constantly yawning or opening my mouth wide to pop them clear. After taking the first tab, nothing happened. Six hours later I took another. About an hour later, I had a terrible urge to 'go'. When I did, I felt constipated and could not go. Then, about five minutes later, I got terrible 'gas-like' symptoms, so I tried to go to the bathroom again. That's when all hell broke loose. I sneezed. Then, I got a little tickle in my throat, then my sinuses completely clogged up. I could not breath at all through my nose, and my ears were clogged. I immediately had diarrhea. My lips started tingling and I thought I was not going to be able to breath. I called the pharmacy and was on hold for forever! When the pharmacist answered and I told her what was happening. She was not very understanding. She told me that I had an allergic reaction to something. I told her that I thought it was the medicine and she said my symptoms are what the medicine was supposed to cure. No kidding, huh? My ears clogged up, there was stuff dripping down my throat and my nose was dripping clear post nasal drip. My nose was throbbing! My throat was killing me. She told me to take Benedryl. I took two teaspoons of Benedryl that I bought for my daughter and within an hours my congestion began to clear. One ear is still clogged and my throat is terribly sore. I will never take that medicine again! She said I could get a full refund. That was a very scary incident.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
1/20/2010
Condition: Cold Symptoms
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Karen | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/9/2010
Condition: Seasonal Runny Nose
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

relieves runny nose, itchy eyes & nose, general cold & allergy symptoms, tickle in the throat(coughing) with no adverse reactions or interactions with other drugs. For severe symptoms I have even taken 2 tablets, which was the generic equivalent to something my doctor had prescribed(RX), with success

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More