Show ratings & reviews for

3.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

98 People found this comment helpful

I hate to break it to you folks, but you could not feel better hours after taking this for the first time. I have tried every kind of antidepressant known to man. This has worked. No side-effects, it took some time - but IT WORKS. Don't listen to all the negative reviews. Everyone has a different chemistry so what is deemed "horrible" for one means in no way, shape, or form that this is the ex...

Most voted negative review

13 People found this comment helpful

i truly thought that there was a magic pill out there that would cure my depression and anxiety. i have been on 9 different medications since 1998 most recently Pristiq. NONE of the medications i have been on have helped because there is no magic pill. i am NOT telling anyone to stop their medications but i am saying (for most people out there) you have to face what is depressing you-- figure out ...

Shared reviews and ratings

Alley | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/22/2022
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've only been on this for a couple of weeks. I have tried every antidepressant on the market. The SSRI which are most of them have always made me worse. Sometimes I'd hit on one that didn't have many side effects but it didn't pull me out of it but I just decided that this was as good as it'll ever be. Then one day I thought there's got to be something that will help me. I started seeing a therapist did no good because it wasn't due to circumstances every thing was great it had to be a chemical imbalance. I have spent years in bed never wanted to go anywhere or do anything. I'm not like that. I don't like wasting time I like being productive but depression is the worst. Dr decided to do the DNA test it came back with only one antidepressant pristiq. I don't have anything to lose I just hoped I could stand side effects. THERE'S BEEN NO SIDE EFFECTS. I'M FEELING SO MUCH BETTER. I KNOW IT'S GONNA TAKE A LITTLE TIME TO WORK COMPLETELY. I LOOK FORWARD TO TAKING THIS JOURNEY WITH PRISTIQ. ????Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sienna | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/21/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Pristiq was prescribed to me as I was feeling down from the pandemic, severe bushfires locally/climate change, an unplanned move interstate, and a significant career change all within the previous year. I had never taken an antidepressant and never will again. Pristiq nearly killed me. I ended up in emergency three times and sustained a fractured skull, broken and dislocated arm, and cranial hematoma. It completely flipped my life upside down for the short period of time I was on it and cost me the small amount of savings I had left after moving, because I was bedridden with severe vertigo from the injuries and unable to work. Pristiq caused the onset of fainting spells. I thought I was slipping over, but it kept happening and unfortunately I fell down a flight of stairs. It also caused the onset of severe and previously non-existent suicidal ideation and visions within a few weeks of being on it. I was assessed by a psychiatric team and told to keep taking it, despite it being completely out of character. Pristiq provided no benefit whatsoever. I experienced extreme depersonalisation and derealisation for the six weeks I was taking it. This horrible experiment that I allowed my doctor to trial resulted in months of debilitating illness that extended well beyond the time I was taking it and I had no support to come off it. I ended up quitting cold turkey and going through the bizarre withdrawals (surreal and disturbing nightmares, out of the blue agitation, insomnia, and mood swings). I would not recommend taking this drug to anybody.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/20/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had really bad anxiety and low moods but this has been very beneficial and has eased my anxiety tremendously. I was previously on Lexapro and Wellbutrin which has a negative impact on me and seemed to not help as much. This did the trick so far. I still get anxious every once in a while but I am better able to handle it and it only lasts a couple of hours vs the whole day.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kiele (Kylie) | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/14/2022
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I wanted to like this one so bad... It worked until it didn't. I felt my depression get better for a little bit but I'm terribly depressed now and I can't take it anymore. Switching to paxil now

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
RH | 45-54 | Male | Patient
9/13/2022
Condition: "Change of Life" Signs
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

What's the "End Game" for taking this? is it to always have to rely on this because I cant be Undepressed? I get to live a medicated half life? There's no surgery to relieve me of this condition. I cant talk my way out of it . So I guess in order to have a life I get to have a "fake" life/ medicated life with side effects, the issue is from within not a condition that can be "cut out" or operated on

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nicole | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/6/2022
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It took several months to become fully effective but now that I've stayed with it my daily anxiety and triggers have calmed down as well as depression/general well being. My only real negative is how quickly you feel the withdrawal the next day, it's enough to help remind me if I forget. Overall, I'd highly recommend. -- my main issues are depression, generalized anxiety, social sit, and IBS

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Meds101 | 19-24 | Female | Patient
8/28/2022
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Wonderful med! Helped my depression immensely

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kathy | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/30/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug made me worse. Nervous and shaking. I have never experienced such bad side effects like this. Could only take it for 4 days and had to get off it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DavetheDad | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
6/29/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took Pristiq for over 10 years. It was a great benefit in the early years and over time became a problem. Dosage was increased over the years to combat diminishing returns. Side effects included severe constipation from time to time, restless leg Syndrome and impacted my central sleep apnoea. I have now been off Pristiq for 6 months and although it was very good for me initially, it became a problem and I am now fearful of trying any other anti-depressants. My Advice from my experience - try it, but put a definite time limit on its use. 6 months to 2 years and no more. Make sure you can deal with restless leg syndrome and constipation.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Wendy | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/25/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on antidepressants since the 1980s for depression and anxiety. This is the best one yet. Recently, my husband tried and failed on other meds. He was switched to desvenlafaxine and he's back to his normal self. I'm very happy.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
maura | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/9/2022
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

worked extremely quickly, and had a massive impact. each med does something different for each person, it is not one size fits all. this one was absolutely amazing for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
NC | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/4/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've had doctors try every med under the sun for my major depressive disorder. Nothing ever came close to helping me until a mental health professional tried Pristiq. It was the difference between night and day, and honestly I'm so grateful to finally have a med work. I'm no longer overwhelmed by depression which is saying a lot because I've been battling it for decades. Do not miss a dose though, makes me feel like everything is moving constantly. This med changed my life, and I didn't want to be dependent on meds, but I'll never be without this one again. I can't stress enough how much good this has done for my life.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kris | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/29/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I went from feeling like a no-energy zombie to feeling like "my old self" that I had lost for years. It does disturb my sleep alittle but not to the point of fatigue. I take a low dose Seroquel for that. I am 75 yrs. old

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Janet | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/27/2022
Condition: Panic Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Pristiq changed my life. I have had anxiety off and on for 12 years and resisted prescription medications. Sometimes my anxiety would last for 3 months and sometimes for 3 days. This last time it lasted for 6 months. My doctor recommended Pristiq and I resisted even then for 3 more months. I analyzed every drug on line and was scared to take anything because each drug had issues with some people. Finally one day I had enough and told myself I had to try something. I was in "analysis paralysis" according to a friend. For the first 10 days I stressed and stressed and felt like I should not have started this. I had a tremor, headaches, still had anxiety and other side effects. However about day 11 I noticed a sharp change for the better and after about another 10 days even more. For the first time in a long time I was in a good mood for the majority of the day. I also have insomnia and take different meds for that....I was able to decrease my insomnia meds and that makes me even happierRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
littledove | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/24/2022
Condition: Panic Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I need to preface this by saying I took a birth control called Yaz for a week and it gave me every symptom of a panic disorder. Lexapro and zoloft didn’t work; I wasn’t depressed at 22, but I was so anxious I couldn’t leave my house. I felt panicky, like I had to leave wherever I was the second I got that feeling. Doctor put me on 25mgs of Pristiq since I was having panic attacks every single day. I couldn’t hold a job, I had to stop going to classes. It was awful. I took the pristiq in the morning since I’ve had issues with insomnia in the past, and in the afternoon i started having a panic attack, but right before that high point of anxiety, I slowly felt myself come back. I got diagnosed with ADHD a few months later and was told the Pristiq also helps symptoms of ADHD and that it’s VERY likely my anxiety stems from my ADHD but was aggravated by the change in hormones from the birth control. So, not a magical pill, but if your problem is anxiety from your flight or fight system, I suggest trying this. Absolutely changed my life.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Benito | 13-18 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/18/2022
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've struggled with crippling episodes of Depersonalization/Derealization. Since starting this it has relieved some of my symptoms and overall improved my quality of life. Keep hope and keep trying to get better, it will!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
NebraskaGuy91 | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
3/25/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve been on Pristiq for 10+ years now & it’s worked the best out of the many different drugs I’ve tried for my depression.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Male | Patient
3/4/2022
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

All side effects. Feels like poison. Can't sleep. This drug is the worst of all the ones I've tried, including Zoloft.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Carrie | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/3/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Before you take every comment on here to heart, remember that everyone's experience is different because every BODY is different. I had tried Prozac and Lexapro before trying Pristiq, and those "horrid side effects" people talked about with this medicine is what I experienced with Lexapro and Prozac. They just weren't for me. I started taking Pristiq 4 weeks ago, and I can't tell you how HAPPY I am that I made the switch. I finally don't feel exhausted all day every day; I finally don't have suicidal ideation on a regular basis, or get depressed from hearing a certain song or the weather changing; I feel so much more confident, energized, and happy! It really has been a saving grace for me. The moral of the story here is that if this doesn't work for you, check on other options! And if anything, please talk to a psychiatrist! I went to my GP for the other two medications, and they clearly didn't understand my needs. My psychiatrist got it right, and I am so grateful for that! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Crazy2 | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/3/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

None of the benefits, but I got all the terrible side-effects. Worst medication I've ever taken.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More