Show ratings & reviews for

3.3 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

13 People found this comment helpful

I have been cancer free one year now however, I find it hard getting out of bed I hate to go any where as I am so tired plus I have gained over 30# my joints hurt all the time. What is a person to do. Jeri Moore

Shared reviews and ratings

pomander | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/6/2012
Condition: Hormone Receptor Positive Postmenopausal Early Breast Cancer
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started this drug August 2007 and will finish my treatment August 2012. I am in remission so Arimidex has worked for me.I cant wait for treatment to end as I have had a great deal of weight gain acid reflux and lots of aches and pains all over my body, but at least I am still alive.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/27/2011
Condition: Breast Cancer
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm 4 years and 10 months "into" this medication so should be off it in November 2011. I've watched my diet but have still gained 20 pounds and feel very bloated. Am hoping that will end soon.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/15/2011
Condition: Breast Cancer
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
grandmom | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/1/2011
Condition: Breast Cancer
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been on arimidex since May of 2007. I'm hoping to be off it by May of 2012. I've gained about 25 excess lbs. With out trying. I've been told that once off it, my weight should go back to normal. I can only hope so.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/16/2010
Condition: Breast Cancer
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

what i dont like about arimidex is i'm gain an feel bloaded.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
silverdoe43 | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/8/2010
Condition: Cancer of the Ovary
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have recurrent ovarian cancer, 9 years out from diagnosis. I have tiredness, heavy legs but none of this keeps me from doing most of what I want to do. My tumor is growing slowly now but for several years (2-3 years) I was stable. I get the medication in bottles so don't have the bubble wrap problem. My legs also have neuropathy from previous chemo and so I don't know what's from the Arimidex and what is from previous chemos.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
7/14/2010
Condition: Hormone Receptor Positive Postmenopausal Early Breast Cancer
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Thank you everyone for writing, I'm glad I'm not alone. I have virtually the same symptoms: I have been on Arimidex for almost 2 years- Fatigue. Joint stiffness and pain, Excruciating leg cramps almost nightly, Getting depressed, although I am usually a very positive person, Having a great deal of trouble with my memory- I am at the point where I worry about alzheimers. Hot flashes continue, although they are not quite as bad as a year ago. Am post-menopausal, and look like I aged 10 years in the last 2... Weight gain: just a few pounds. Does anyone have any suggestions? I am trying to stay hydrated- drink tonic for the quinine and bananas for the potassium, because I think the leg cramps are from dehydration, lack of sleep causes fatigue and depression. Very slight improvement. Any other ideas out there? ThanksRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Irma | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/9/2010
Condition: Breast Cancer
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on Arimidex for 1 yr. Legs feel like bricks (stiff & heavy), gaining weight w/edema, fatigue, and depression. Thankfully, I do not have the hot flashes.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Linda | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/13/2010
Condition: Hormone Receptor Positive Postmenopausal Early Breast Cancer
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've had several of the side effects, headache,bronchitis,hot flushes and vaginal dryness.Just hoping I'll feel better soon.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
gkirua | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/11/2010
Condition: Breast Cancer
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

All in all this medication has not bothered me particularly, but I am having trouble with constipation and some depression. I just wondered if this drug could be causing some of this.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/3/2010
Condition: Breast Cancer
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

have been taking arimidex for approx. 6 mos. don't know what the other people are talking about but mine comes in a container not a bubble pack. have had several leg and hand cramps and a few hot flashes but overall I'm not complaining. my only problem is waiting for it to go generic in the U.S. at these prices my $2000 deductible gets eaten up quickly. does anyone know for sure when this is going to happen, I'd been told Feb. 2010!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
eyelee | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/14/2009
Condition: Breast Cancer
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

my tumors are shrinking

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
loretta | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/15/2009
Condition: Hormone Receptor Positive Postmenopausal Early Breast Cancer
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking Arimidex for 2 1/2 years have 2 1/2 to go. Have no side effect.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kcripplecreek | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/16/2009
Condition: Breast Cancer
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This has been a very difficult medication to use. The pain it has caused has been horrible, especially the bone and joint pain. I have had shortness of breath, depression, confussion, memory loss, insomnia, extreme fatigue anxiety, tingling and numbness in hands and feet, and now arthritis in both knees and need surgery for damage in knees as well. I can't imagine taking this for 4 more years. Quality of life is more important than longevity to me. I am going to quit taking this as soon as I consult my doctor. The package is rediculous!Who came up with this anyway? Longevity at what cost?Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
eyeleev | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/26/2009
Condition: Breast Cancer
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

the pain in my legs and overall body aches are wicked been on it for two months, tumors seem to be shrinking. i hope it works

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
l46 | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/19/2009
Condition: Breast Cancer
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

have been on this med for one yr. about 2 wks ago woke up with sever stiffness in fingers, tried to straighten out fingers, middle finger locked, also right thumb,extremely painfull. my cancer doc. said it and my other aches and pains not from meds,i beg to differ from him. i get meds from drug com.no ins. used to get those horrible packs. kept requesting bottle finely did. ask,no demand!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
iwonder | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
5/21/2009
Condition: Hormone Receptor Positive Postmenopausal Early Breast Cancer
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had taken this medication for 5 yrs. Had hot flashes in the first few months, then got better. Lower back pain,caused from degenerating lower disk..Not sure if its caused from this meds?? It's better then tamoxafin and the other one thats out there. good luck, do your homework, it pays off in a long run. God bless

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
katiep987 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/31/2009
Condition: Breast Cancer
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had my right breast removed Feb.01,2008. I have been on this drug for 10 months. I have had very little pain until the last few weeks, and It gets worse every day !! Ache from my waist to my feet,extream pain !! I just hope I can stay on it, to keep the cancer from feeding off my overies. I do not for the life of me know who in the world came up with that package. Don't they know we have problems with our poor arms? Way to much hard work to try and get one darn pill. This package has to be a flop. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
2/28/2009
Condition: Breast Cancer
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The Arimidex is doing its job in keeping the breast cancer from coming back but the joint pain is horrendous. I am 55 years old. My doctor started me on Lyrica, which has almost totally blocked the pain thank God, but when I forgot to take it for three days, extreme joint pain came back. Started Lyrica again and the pain is now gone. I despise the bubble pack. I don't have any arthritis, etc., but it is impossible to get that tiny tablet out of that bubble. I have to use a pen to poke the tablet out and it is really aggrivating to have to do this. Why can't the tablets just come in a bottle like other meds do. God bless you all Sisters, and I hope that you remain in recovery and live life to its fullest. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
happier now | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/27/2009
Condition: Breast Cancer
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took arimidex for 7 months. I had a very hard time sleeping and had hot flashes. I kept trying to fight depression but because of my extreme lack of sleep I decided to stop taking arimidex. I'm sleeping better and my depression has gone. I thank God!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More