Show ratings & reviews for

3.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

6 People found this comment helpful

In my dermotologist's words - "You're a responder". After 1 day, itching stopped. After 2 days, no more flakes on my clothes. After 1 week, no scales on my scalp. Makes my hair really greasy too, and not the easiest to apply on the bottom of the head, but I'll take that for not having to scratch my head anymore.

Most voted negative review

2 People found this comment helpful

it is hard to squeeze it out of the bottle and almost impossible to wash it out of your hair the next morning

Shared reviews and ratings

Joanna | 65-74 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
4/22/2016
Condition: Plaque Psoriasis
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Medication is effective treating psoriasis but very difficult to remove because it has white petroleum aka Baseline in it. After attempting to shampoo out several times with little success, I found help on WikiHow searching for "how to get vaseline out of my hair"

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ashtonleeb | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/18/2013
Condition: Psoriasis of Scalp
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have psoriasis on the back of my scalp (near the nape of my neck) and only use Taclonex once or twice a week, mainly during the winter. I think it takes away some of the itch and flakiness for a couple days. I usually leave it on my scalp for 15-20 mins. The main problem is it's so greasy! I have long hair and have to wash it out with Dawn dish soap before using regular shampoo and conditioner (my mom suggested it-hey, it gets oil off penguins and seals, right?) or my hair looks and feels disgusting-no regular shampoo would get the grease/oil out. No extreme results from Taclonex, but better than nothing.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
great2bme | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/28/2013
Condition: Psoriasis of Scalp
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I always thought visible red patches on my scalp were going to be a way of life until my dermatologist gave me a sample of Taclonex Scalp. Within a week, my scalp was nearly completely clear and I only had to reapply 1 to 2 times each week. I just wish I could use it elsewhere on my body as nothing else I have tried works well at all.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/24/2013
Condition: Psoriasis of Scalp
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Messy greasy hair vs itchy flaky scalp. Trade-off seems worth it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
1/10/2013
Condition: Plaque Psoriasis
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It works, but it is a commitment. I have found that using dawn dish soap will work to cut the grease build-up.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LMH | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/15/2012
Condition: Psoriasis of Scalp
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It seems to be working effectively, scaly patches clearing up quicker than with other medications. But leaves my hair a greasy mess. I spent over 15 mins carefully applying only the effected spots, it still turns my hair into a oil slick. Even after washing 3x and rinsing with vinegar still can feel it in my hair.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
top50 | 45-54 | Female |
10/31/2012
Condition: Psoriasis of Scalp
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have long hair and it is really difficult to insure that I get the treatment on fully. I seem to have to use more than needed in order to get enough on my scalp

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cfri | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/1/2011
Condition: Psoriasis of Scalp
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My dr gave me a sample bottle to use and it worked after the first treatment. When I got the Rx filled, it didn't seem to be as effective, but it still worked. I've been using it for almost 2 years. It is greasy so don't overapply, but I only have to shampoo 2xs to wash it out. It may not be as effective as when I first started using it, but now I only have to apply it once every couple of weeks at most. Better than anything else I've tried.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/3/2011
Condition: Psoriasis of Scalp
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have horrendous scalp psoriasis. This medicine has been extremely effective - the only problem is if I run out before my 30 day renewal period, the psoriasis comes back with a vengeance. I highly recommmend Talclonex to anyone suffering from scalp psoriasis.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
W | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/14/2011
Condition: Psoriasis of Scalp
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Only used once due to the oil slick experience. I washed my hair with shampoo & with Dawn 6x and still had traces of oily hair! Worst part...I spent an extra hour on washing the greasy stuff out of my hair which made me late for work. Who has time for this ordeal? Not me!!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
joe | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/19/2011
Condition: Psoriasis of Scalp
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My doc changed my scalp med from clobetasol solution to taclonex scalp. It works in about a week. It does do it job. However, it is very greasy and difficult to apply. I tried applying small amounts at a time but soon my entire hair was also covered in medication. Trying to wash the medicine off my hair the next morning took several rinses which could be painful to someone with severe psoriasis. However, again, it does work.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
john | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/19/2011
Condition: Psoriasis of Scalp
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have used just about everything the dermatologist recomended for me. She put me on taclonex and sulfa top and i can not believe how great this has worked for me in one week. John

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Miik | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month |
4/11/2011
Condition: Psoriasis of Scalp
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Relief came after only 2 days. I had tried clobex for 2 months with little or no improvement. It is 'greasy' but if you wash your hair a couple times it is no worse than a heavy conditioner.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
rovercat | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/29/2010
Condition: Psoriasis of Scalp
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

it is hard to squeeze it out of the bottle and almost impossible to wash it out of your hair the next morning

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | Patient
5/3/2010
Condition: Psoriasis of Scalp
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I love how quickly the spots on my scalp went away when using this product. i have only recently been diagnosed with skin problems, including psoriasis, and i dont feel like i need to try out any other psoriasis medication. Did not like the texture of the solution though, its thick, slimy a little stinky but it works amazingly well and quick.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/27/2010
Condition: Psoriasis of Scalp
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have only been using this treatment for one week, but it seems to be working. I have tried many other treatments, nothing has helped totally.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BigG | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/26/2009
Condition: Psoriasis of Scalp
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been suffering with a progressively aggressive scalp psoriasis for the past 10 years. I've been prescribed Fluoccinonide, Dovonex, Protopic. Taclonex scalp (is not the same as Dovonex) started relieving my symptoms after the first night. No more exfoliating with a fine tooth comb, no more redness, mo more scaling, no more hair falling out. Patches at my hairline and forehead now have the chance to heal. They are healing a little dark, due to the numerous times that they have flared up, but they will lighten up in time. Taclonex applies easily and you don't need to soak the affected area...it's not butter. It is expensive, but there are $50 pharmacist rebates available. Be patient, it worked so well for me, it easily offsets the cost of all the other medications I spent money on. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
2/11/2009
Condition: Psoriasis
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I dont know if it is because of the climte chhange that my psoriasis medication has not worked as good as it should.I know that during the summer it works great.I just dont understand why it doesnt take as much affect on my psoriasis as it should.This is one of the reasons why Im not that satisfied.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
happynsweet77 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/28/2009
Condition: Psoriasis of Scalp
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

In my dermotologist's words - "You're a responder". After 1 day, itching stopped. After 2 days, no more flakes on my clothes. After 1 week, no scales on my scalp. Makes my hair really greasy too, and not the easiest to apply on the bottom of the head, but I'll take that for not having to scratch my head anymore.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/29/2008
Condition: Psoriasis of Scalp
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I cleared up my scalp in two days.. i used this drug along with derma- smoothe. I love it !!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More