Show ratings & reviews for

2.8 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

19 People found this comment helpful

After reading all the reviews, except very few, I was so scared and almost did not go through with the test. It was not the best test I ever had, but nothing like what some of these reviews have said. I was short of breath about 30-45 seconds, a little increase in heart rate, a little warm, slight headache, but all in all not that bad at all. After the lexiscan injection, walked on treadmill abo...

Most voted negative review

4 People found this comment helpful

I began to convulse immediately after injection. No heart problems but my head felt as if it were splitting wide open. This lasted for at least 20 minutes. I have multiple allergies of which the doctor is aware. I have yet to learn exactly what caused the reaction--probably one of the fillers or agents. Never again.

Shared reviews and ratings

Texas Gal | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/27/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

If you have lung disease be sure to bring your rescue inhaler with you to your Lexi scan. I have bronchiectasis and really was hard on me as far as breathing..Chest still really sore after 24 hours but test necessary related to meds I'm on So weigh the pros and cons

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Maryann | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/22/2022
Condition: Medication to Aid Study of the Blood Flow in the Heart
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I read the reviews and was very fearful. I had pharmalogical stress test around 7 or 8 years ago and it made me feel as if I were having a heart attack, but I don't know what drug was used then. Compared to that experience this was a walk in the park. I just felt my heart race and I was breathing hard for what seemed like only 10 to 20 seconds. Was a little light headed. No chest pain, at all. . I'm writing this so some one who is fearful can relax. I was having this for a surgery otherwise though I would not have agreed to take the test.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Eldon Roy | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/9/2022
Condition: Medication to Aid Study of the Blood Flow in the Heart
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I havn't had a LEXI done yet but think this is in my future. I've had SOB for two years and now have gastro issues. Seems like heart failure. After two trips to Mayo and local docs here, still no answers. I'm scared that a Lexiscan will kill me and much of my discomfort now occurs at rest. Wish I could just walk on the treadmill but I'm using a wheelchair these days. Woke up yesterday with pain in right arm and nauseas early today. Be glad you're not me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/6/2022
Condition: Medication to Aid Study of the Blood Flow in the Heart
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was the most horrible experience in my life . I had a Pulmonary Embolism in 2017 which was uncomfortable.But the LexiScan was 10 times worse on the pain scale ! I'm still traumatized from this LexiScan For Real.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age incorrect | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/29/2022
Condition: Medication to Aid Study of the Blood Flow in the Heart
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I instantly felt like I was having a heart attack and have had problems since. It felt like an elephant was sitting on my chest. They told me to keep exercising while they were injecting Lexiscan and afterwards as they said the medicine worked best that way. On a pain scale from 0-10, my pain was a 20! I would never take Lexiscan again and I will never believe that I did not have a heart attack. I started crying and told them I felt like I was having a heart attack and sat down. They said it was normal. Nothing that hurts that bad could be normal.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Munchkin | 55-64 | Female | Patient
1/14/2021
Condition: Medication to Aid Study of the Blood Flow in the Heart
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It wasn't near as bad as a lot of things I'd read online. Honestly, I think if I hadn't scared myself I may have been fine. I felta very slight flushed sensation followed immediately by a sense of panic and a bit of breathlessness. The staff allowed me to sit up and helped me through it. It lasted maybe a minute and then it was gone. Totally bearable. Getting the pictures was a snap,just had to lie down with arms above my head. They said they had "gotten some pretty good pictures." So, for me, totally worthwhile.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
AmyM | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/4/2020
Condition: Medication to Aid Study of the Blood Flow in the Heart
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Terrible. I am still having chest pain, coughing, weakness, shaking, fatigue, poor concentration, rapid heart beat 22 hours later after I was given the reversal agent because the nurse said I needed it. I have contacted my doctor to see if this is normal.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
None | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/4/2020
Condition: Medication to Aid Study of the Blood Flow in the Heart
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I could not breathe as soon as it was injected. The NP said that is normal. I am a physician that is not normal. I struggled through the test as you have to lay flat for the imaging. There were very little side effects with Persantine.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Frances | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/8/2020
Condition: Medication to Aid Study of the Blood Flow in the Heart
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Horrific experience. I am a cyclist, jogger, and weight lifter. Iâ??m used to my heart rate reaching 160 bpm. Increased heart rate comes on suddenly. My heart rate went from 70 to 140 in a few seconds. I initially couldnâ??t catch my breath until I started doing my breathing exercises. I was huffing and puffing like I was cycling uphill on a windy day. Thatâ??s how I got through the test. No other side effects but Iâ??m used to pushing myself this hard. This should never be given to the elderly. I can see how this can cause heart attacks. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
GrannyGoose | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/11/2020
Condition: Medication to Aid Study of the Blood Flow in the Heart
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

As soon as the Lexiscan was injected into the IV, I immediately remembered that at my prior PET scan, the year before, the technician had advised me that he was going to use 3/4 the usual dose, due to my extremely low body weight (I'm 5'1" and weigh 88 lbs). The normal adult dose was injected this time, and man, I thought I was going to die. Heart was RACING, I felt the urge to cough, then felt nauseous. I persevered, and got through it. I suggest anyone who is tiny and receiving Lexiscan for a PET scan, ask their doctor to be sure the dose isn't too much for them. It felt like way too much, even though, clearly, I survived quite intact, with only residual headache now, several hours later..Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
RebelRebel | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/15/2020
Condition: Medication to Aid Study of the Blood Flow in the Heart
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I went in not knowing what to expect. I felt it just a few seconds after the injection. It's quite odd. I suddenly felt like I had over exerted myself. I was a bit breathless, a little lightheaded, and then it was over. This isn't a pleasant drug, but it's not horrible either-and it's over very quickly. It's been about an hour since I had it done, and I do have a headache and feel slightly out of sorts.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/6/2019
Condition: Medication to Aid Study of the Blood Flow in the Heart
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I think everyone might be different. I just got back from the lexiscan stress test. I don't know the results but they had me walk on the treadmill to reduce symptoms but as soon as she put the drug in my heart was pounding, I felt weird all over and couldn't walk anymore. The test itself is quick but it's been a couple of hours and I still have some heart-pounding, ear ringing, dizziness, and a headahche. Not sure I'd want to do this again and feel I could have done the treadmill to get my heart rate up instead of the drug.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mjoy211 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/26/2019
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had a nuclear stress test done today. Reccomend by the cardiologist. Was hesitant after they told me This med may make me feel like I can't breath but passes quickly. Making me feel like I can't breath is an understatement. I literally felt like I was going to die and lose consciousness. Not sure if it was a panic attack or what. Tried to calm myself but seriously don't think it was anxiety. Literally started getting numb and my head real fuzzy. They had to counteract it. Afterward felt shaky, dizzy. It's been 4 hours and still feel very funny. Resting HR about 100 but the slightest move it shoots to 120+. Called the office twice. Told me to rest and take it easy. I'm leaving for a road trip tomorrow. Regret having this done today...well at all! Called them again few hours later and told me to drink caffeine and rest. Assured me the teacher see t came out good. So now I feel like this stuff caused issues! Keep feeling short of breath, heart racing and feeling funny, dizzy, headache, stomach pains and aches. Will never do this again. Praying I'm feeling better later today and by tomorrow so I can make this trip happen for my kids Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Marie | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/27/2019
Condition: Medication to Aid Study of the Blood Flow in the Heart
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm 65 yrs old and had this test done for history of SVT. I was very skeptic and had refused once but then my (Cardiologist) talked me into it. As soon as the med was injected I started to feel increasingly short winded and heart pounding. My heart rate went from 67 to 149 beats/min in 2-3 min. I was sooo anxious from the medicine. I became extremely sweaty, my extremities suddenly became weak and gave out. I couldn't move. I felt like my blood pressure bottomed down. Had a pounding headache and felt like vomiting. I really thought I was going to die. I noticed The 2 techs in the room were very nervous and kept asking me am I allright. They put a fan in front of my face. Soon after the symptoms subsided but the headache and jitternes remained till the next day. This was a horrific experience for me and I will never EVER have this test or recommend to anyone specially the elderly. I don't think my sob (Cardiologist) should have submitted me to this test. I told my (Cardiologist) that I rather have SVT with a heart rate of 180 than go thru this test with all the accompanying symptomsRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bethy | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/12/2018
Condition: Medication to Aid Study of the Blood Flow in the Heart
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had the Media can in the morning. I felt slight chest pressure, left arm achyness heaviness, ring and pinky finger tingling and had slight headache. I was given caffeine drink to counteract the headache. My headache was gone about 3 hours after I got home. That afternoon I experienced severe leg stiffness like walking through sand. My legs ached/hurt and were stiff from Thursday afternoon (day of test) until the following Tuesday! I had difficulty walking and had to stay in the house until I returned to my normal baseline. I have Multiple Sclerosis and believe the medication used for this test exacerbated my Multiple Sclerosis condition.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
df | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/2/2018
Condition: Medication to Aid Study of the Blood Flow in the Heart
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was super nervous about getting this test. I layed on a stretched with ekg. The nurses were fantastic about explaining how i would feel. Next thing they pushed in the lexiscan. Immediately I felt internal pressure and like my breath was stolen. I stated barely omg i dont like this. but the nurses coached me to breath deep through the whole thing and in seconds it was over and completely. I received the antidote immediately after which stopped all effects of the lexiscan. It was not a horrible experience due to the nurses. 2 cardiologists were on site but not in the room. would have preferred one be in the room. I have minor chest discomfort this evening probably due to anxiety. I worried more about what was going to happen, while what actually happened was not so bad. This is mostly because i did heavy internet research on nuclear lexiscan tests. If you are due for one, stop reading. you will be fine. It helped that i brought 2 family members with me for support.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Shelly | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/4/2018
Condition: Medication to Aid Study of the Blood Flow in the Heart
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was hospitalized in Oct, '17 with radiating chest pain. They performed the Lexiscan after checking my bloodwork. I have had previous MI, so they wanted to be certain. I am a 69 yr old female and have had two lexiscans in which there was no problem. This time I thought my chest was going to either explode or cave in. It was horrible for a few minutes, then backed down. I immediately developed a terrible headache and later was released from hosp. About a day and a half later I started itching and broke out in hives all over my body. The dermatologist has used every tool in his arsenal to help me and he thinks it must be a drug, but I don't take that many drugs at all. Then it dawned on me that this all started after the lexiscan and I started to research side effects. Sure enough, it is a side effect of lexiscan, though a small percentage of people get it. I am very sensitive to all drugs so it doesn't surprise me that this might be what is causing my hives. I can't sleep at night and can't wear clothing because it hurts so much. I have been house bound for over 3 months...it started in late Oct, and it is now March 3rd. I want to know how to flush this drug out of my body! Can anyone help me? This is literally driving me crazy! I have never had any skin problems in my entire life and now I look a mess. Neighbors stopped coming by because they think I am contagious, even though I assure them I am not! This has been the absolutely worst period and most painful in my life, and I have had three children, 5 major surgeries, and other traumas...This tops everything! HELP! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bigt | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/13/2017
Condition: Medication to Aid Study of the Blood Flow in the Heart
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

got this stress test for D.O.T. clearance so i could keep my C.D.L. when it to this test blind not knowing the side affects. after the I.V of Lexiscan i started getting really heavy breathing after about 2 min's. then the left side of my face started getting really tight and tingling. y legs got cold and weak. my hands and arms done the same. felt like i was on a vibrating massage chair.after about 4 min's seem like every thing was going back to normal. after the test was complete i felt like i was in a daze, but never got a headache or the tightness in my chest. other than that no problem. just a little worried about the tightness in my neck and jaw on both sides. has anyone experienced anything like this?Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
isurvived | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/25/2017
Condition: Medication to Aid Study of the Blood Flow in the Heart
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had a Lexiscan study today, wasn't too worried about side effects. Everything went fine, they injected the drug, within seconds found myself breathing hard like I had been working out, a little light headed but not bad because I was expecting it, after a few minutes they injected a drug that reversed the lexiscan medication, breathing returned to normal, felt weird sensations in the skin on my forehead and around eyes, after a couple minutes all lightheadedness and other symptoms went away but felt just a little foggy in the brain. That went away after about a half hour. By the time I left, I was feeling about the same as when I got there and I drove my self home with no problems. I know not everyone is the same, but for me, this test was a breeze. The worst part of it was having to lay very still for the 12 minutes it takes to do the scan in the machine. I moved twice during the scan and finally got it right on the third time! I honestly would not hesitate to do this again if it helps my doctor fix my problem. Now I go see the Cardiologist tomorrow to find out whats up! Yay! Worried about that appt...we'll see.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/31/2016
Condition: Medication to Aid Study of the Blood Flow in the Heart
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Lexiscan was used for my stress test 6 days ago. I am diabetic and have one kidney. I have not yet recovered from the side effects of the Lexiscan. I felt like my head and my heart were bursting during the test and my blood pressure was in the "stroke zone" (nurse's words) for more than one hour after the test. My blood sugar and blood pressure levels both have been significantly elevated since the stress test and I continue to feel generally horrible. I had a similar reaction to a chemical stress test several years ago. At first, I refused to submit to my most recent chemical stress test because of my earlier bad reaction to a chemical stress test. Hospitalist told me Lexiscan was new and had less side effects - the less side effects part of statement definitely not true. Anyway, I let Hospitalist talk me into a procedure I knew was wrong for me, especially since I am capable of riding the recumbent bike used in the physical stress test. The point I want to make in this review is YOU KNOW YOUR BODY BETTER THAN ANYONE ELSE AND DON'T ALLOW DOCTOR TO TALK YOU IN TO ANY MEDICAL PROCEDURE YOU FEEL IS NOT RIGHT FOR YOU UNLESS IT IS A MATTER OF IMMINENT DEATH IF YOU DON'T HAVE THE PROCEDURE. Will never have another chemical stress. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More