Show ratings & reviews for

4.0 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

29 People found this comment helpful

this medicine has worked very well for my back pain and muscle pain my pain was unbarable and disabling now im able to live a more productive life if you plan on taking this medicine keep it in your system as directed by the doctor and dont wait an extra 5 or 6 hours after the last 12 hour dose take it as directed

Most voted negative review

6 People found this comment helpful

the treatment that i have recived has'nt help me to much because i stay in pain i have taken hydrocodone,mobic,ativan and effexor,lipitor i have a high amoun system to drugs i'am taking kadain,cymbalta,lyrica,hydrocodone and voltran now with very little relief ialso take wellburtin

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/28/2019
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

...This is a ridiculous product. My Dr feels the need to switch my meds out according to how much publicity it's getting.As in ..as Fentanyl gains negative publicity he needs to eliminate it from his practice. So my comparison is between these two meds.I'm guessing Kadian is now the flavor of the month, being pushed by the endless parade of drug reps buying the office lunch on a daily basis. A kick back is probably involved with every new prescription. Anyway...Kadian is garbage compared to Fentanyl...unless you enjoy restless nights filled with bizarre dreams and MONUMENTAL dry mouth. It's main function seems to be COMPLETELY blocking up one's bowels, not pain relief. Avoid this disaster of a product if possible. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/22/2018
Condition: Neuropathic Pain
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Seems to be most effective at about 8 hours after admin for me. The insurance would only pay for one time a day admin so I am on 60 mg. Only odd event is shortly after i developed a cardiac arrythmia... anyone else have issues

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kadian | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
5/14/2015
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After being on numerous other drugs, this is the only drug with the least side effects and the most effectiveness

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Relief at last TT | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/26/2015
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Just started on this medication and so far it is working well for me. I was on oxycodone, 15mg x 6 a day which was not working. This is the first time I have had any relief from most of my pain in 20 years.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kadian worked | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/10/2015
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I tried everything my pain clinic recommended for my spondylosis, including fusion surgery. Kadian was the perfect treatment although over time I'm beginning to experience more breakthrough pain and I wonder if the disease is progressing or if the generic Kadian is not as effective?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lucy | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/29/2014
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have severe Scholiosis and went through everything, but couldn't function at work (fuzzy). Was prescribed Kadian and its worked wonders! It does not make me tired, my heads not foggy, BUT I have a huge issue with constipation. Hopefully will be weaning off over the next year, but its a Godsend.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
hurting2 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/23/2014
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dwayne | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
6/18/2014
Condition: Severe Pain
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking Kadian for 5 years now, 14 years ago i was in a industrial accident that left me with a broken neck and lower back and shoulder, now i have no feeling on my left side.i was taking percocet 10/600 for 9 years before that..it helped more then Kadian. unfortunately i was taking way more then prescribed and had to hit the streets for more..i don't drink, smoke and never did any drugs until i was hurt. with the Kadian i take two a day as prescribed.now i can handle my pain with out complications. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
susieqw2ca | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/19/2014
Condition: Chronic Pain with Narcotic Drug Tolerance
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had chronic pain, fibromyalgia, Degenerative Disc Disease, herniated & slipped discs among other ailments for over 20 years. I have literally tried almost everything there is & finally found Kadian! It truly gives me the full 12hr relief. I take 30mg oxycodone for breakthrough pain. I highly recommend this to anyone suffering with chronic & severe pain! I can enjoy life again!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tired of Pain : ( | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/3/2014
Condition: Severe Pain
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on so many pain medications for severe lower back pain for over 10 years. The latest was morphine 60 mg twice a day. It wasn't helping anymore so my pain management dr. put me on Kadian. As always, when I start a new medication I come here to see the reviews on it. I was so hopeful after reading all these great reviews. But sadly, it did nothing at all to relieve any pain whatsoever. I am happy for those it helps because I know what real pain is to try to live with. It just did not help me at all & made me extremely nauseous & quite sleepy during the day. Hopefully I will find something soon. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Pain4Decades | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
8/8/2013
Condition: Severe Pain
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

There is so much wrong w me i would have to write a book.I suffer sever chronic pain. I have been on every med from codine to ??? Kadian has helped alot was on 80 but too much break through pain just increased to 100 hoping it doesnt turn me into a mummy ...its always hard transitioning . The fentanyl helped for awhile but made me sleep alot ...not the Kadian 80 so my fingers are crossed. What i wouldnt give for just a glimpse of my old life . Good Luck and fear not and alot of times you can request exceptions from the insurance companies. Its expensive and thats been the biggest battle getting the ok from insurance. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | Patient
6/28/2013
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have tried MS Contin, Oxycontin & other time-release morphine. Kadian is the only one that lives up to the 12 hour relief claim. Kadian has given me back my life-working full-time again and am able to work in garden & feel fairly normal.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
julie | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/22/2013
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

my experience is that it just make you sleepy

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
PainGuy | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/15/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm on about 60mgs of Kadian. I need my medical records for Dr. Youyen in Honolulu, HI. I take morphine, and I'm thinking of using the ocean for a boogie board. Kadian is garbage. I've lived in Honolulu, HI. It's OK. I'm going to goto Honolulu, and I'm going to take Kadian, OK? Kadian is total garbage, and Canada is kinda nice. I should totally take that Kadian.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
5/8/2013
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/26/2013
Condition: Neuropathic Pain
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

started taking Kadian about 4 years ago. At first worked well. Does take about a month to start working to fullness. It only last for about 7-8 hours for me now not the 12 that are reccommended. Doctor will not increase b/c of my age. Says I'm to young to start taking so much now.What will I do in 10 years with the pain.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
3/24/2013
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Valerie | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
2/13/2013
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I suffer from arthritis in all of my joints,spinal problems, connective tissue disorder and neurophy in my arms and feet.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
maidenblue | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
12/9/2012
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used to take generic time-released morphine(MS Contin)for the chronic severe pain as a result of Relapsing Remitting Multiple Sclerosis. I didn't get adequate relief, so my pain doctor switched me to Kadian, and it has been so helpful! I don't get the drowsiness as I did before, which is a relief!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/22/2012
Condition: Neuropathic Pain
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

the doctor is switching me from this to nuerotin and loritab cause of my diabites

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More