Show ratings & reviews for

3.9 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

24 People found this comment helpful

I have experienced less acid reflux than on many previous medications, so I feel it is doing what it's supposed to do. The only side effect I'm noticing is a little more constipation than previous -- so far remedied with increased fiber and stool softeners.

Most voted negative review

1 People found this comment helpful

I am all was thristy and i am losing weight because i am full of water are gatorade and i am all ways tired know because i am never hungry just thristy

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/10/2011
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have had Reflux for 10 years. Took Zantac until it stopped working. Started on Kapidex 4 mo ago. Immediate relief but am now experiencing severe headaches and heart palpitations. Will try going off to see if side effects stop, but am afraid that Reflux will come back. Might seek natural remedies.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Teena | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/4/2010
Condition: Inflammation of the Esophagus with Erosion
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this medicine for three weeks. It started off well I felt it working, however I found myself running to the bathroom at work for bowel movements 3 to 4 times, gas has gotten worse, headaches daily and now my left eye is twitching. I will stop the medicine until I can be sure there is nothing else going on. The headaches scare me as I am already taking medication for hypertension.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/29/2010
Condition: Excessive Production of Stomach Acid
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was taking multiple Zantac and omeprizole and they weren't working anymore. After taking this only a few days, my acid reflex stopped. I have been on it for several months and haven't had heartburn once! My husband even went and changed his Rx too as it helped him. Only side effect is that sometimes I feel bloated, but its worth it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/16/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mariasprstnclnn | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/26/2010
Condition: Stomach Ulcer
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/4/2010
Condition: Excessive Production of Stomach Acid
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been told I should not take this medication for more than 8 weeks without a gasterointeralogist approval although another physician prescribed it for me. No explanation was given why. I'd like to know the answer to that question.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/31/2010
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sharon | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/19/2010
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had been on Prevacid for over a year and felt it wasn't helping much anymore. My doc ordered Kapidex and gave me a month supply of samples. I took it for 3 weeks and the reflux was worse than ever. I asked to go back to Prevacid until I am able to have another EGD.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kitkat | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/11/2010
Condition: Excessive Production of Stomach Acid
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on four different PPI's before taking the Kapidex 60mg. My pain has stopped, my GERD is controlled as long as I take every day. I have been eating better than I have in 5 years. My only issue is concern over long term use and possible side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jfdyates | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/11/2010
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

BEST OF THE PROTON INHIBITERS

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
acid REFLUX patient | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/25/2010
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

having heart flutter, tightness in chest,hurting in between shoulder blades left arm aches total exhaustion.medication stops acid build up and works very good.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
acid patient | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/25/2010
Condition: Excessive Production of Stomach Acid
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

having heart flutter, tightness in chest,hurting in between shoulder blades left arm aches total exhaustion.medication stops acid build up and works very good.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
elizabeth bunch | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/5/2010
Condition: Excessive Production of Stomach Acid
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

sometimes this pill takes a long time for it to be effective. Can I take more than l per day?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/26/2010
Condition: Excessive Production of Stomach Acid
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is the worst medicine i ever took! It made my heartburn worse to where i felt like i couldn't breath! I lost 30lbs in just a few months from not being able to eat! It was awful! Would not recommend to anyone! Switched to Nexium! Much better!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/21/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been having extreme vomiting (4 to 5 times per day). doctor prescribed kapidex and it has been great. The only problem is that I take it in the morning and it wears off before dinnertime. Just wish it would last 24 hours. Has cut the vomiting back to once or twice a day....like a Godsend!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/19/2010
Condition: Excessive Production of Stomach Acid
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kathy | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year |
3/10/2010
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After having fundoplication surgery and still having to take a PPI, I am finally heartburn free on this medication. All other have quit working after a period of time. No side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months |
3/6/2010
Condition: Excessive Production of Stomach Acid
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Since I have started taking Kapidex I have put on weight. I have given up ice cream and cookies for lent. You would think that I would loose weigh, instead I put it on. The only thing that has changed lately is I started taking Kapidex. You do the math. (I have struggtled with my weight all my life, I don't need this.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
tmirby_in_texas | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/6/2010
Condition: Medication Treatment for Healing Erosive Esophagitis
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Several yrs of reflux (GERD)took several prescription medications, good results didn't last long. Went on Kapidex, every 3 days or so of taking, would go through vomiting episodes it was awful. Every day had abdominal cramps, gas, bloating. Had trouble with vitamin B12 and iron absorbtion on this medication as well. Had to stop taking it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/5/2010
Condition: Excessive Production of Stomach Acid
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More