Show ratings & reviews for

4.4 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

10 People found this comment helpful

I'm allergic to allopurinol, so I could not take it to prevent gout attacks. For years I had constant gout attacks. It caused me to get the growths, that they take samples of to diagnose gout. My Doc got me on Uloric and it's made a big difference. I haven't had any flair ups or attacks in three years. And my Uric Acid level is between 2-3 which is awesome. It's worth trying if you suffer fr...

Most voted negative review

2 People found this comment helpful

Has not slowed or stopped severe gout attacks

Shared reviews and ratings

jcj1936 | 75 or over | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/10/2020
Condition: Gout
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Chronic gout for years, Operation on long toe of both feet to remove tophaceous gout. Allup did not work. Began uloric (now febuxostat 40 mg) and within six months uric acid level decreased along with attacks. Year later uric acid below norm. I'm CKD3 and side affect caused my kidney function to improve, according to Dr. Only downside is the cost, even with insurance. GoodRx is the best price.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rkymtnmike | 65-74 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/19/2019
Condition: Gout
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had gout for over 10 years and could not tale allopurinol because I was having too many adverse reactions. Starting taking Uloric about 3 years ago and have not had a flare up since. The thing I really like is I can occasionally have the shell fish that I really like (shrimp, crab and lobster), I can also have a steak when I want to, even though I only eat it 2-3 times a year. No fear of flare-ups.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/8/2017
Condition: Gout
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
waikerie | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
8/8/2015
Condition: Gout
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm morbidly allergic to Allopurinol, so had to switch or suffer -- the Uloric has prevented any further episodes of gout, so I'm very thankful that there was an alternative...however, I am losing my hair at a rapid rate - that's the only side effect I can identify however. It works very well for gout.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/25/2014
Condition: Gout
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm allergic to allopurinol, so I could not take it to prevent gout attacks. For years I had constant gout attacks. It caused me to get the growths, that they take samples of to diagnose gout. My Doc got me on Uloric and it's made a big difference. I haven't had any flair ups or attacks in three years. And my Uric Acid level is between 2-3 which is awesome. It's worth trying if you suffer from gout and your allergic to the other meds for it like allopurinol.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/2/2014
Condition: Gout
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking Uloric for over 3 years. I used to get gout attacks about once every 2 months or so. Since taking Uloric, I haven't had a single flair up not have I had to watch what I eat or drink.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
srrp135 | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/27/2014
Condition: Gout
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Has not slowed or stopped severe gout attacks

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
WalkingonSunshine | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/21/2013
Condition: Gout
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking Uloric in place of Allopurinol as Allopurinol stopped working for me. With Uloric I have not had any flareups since starting the drug.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
yestowood | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/21/2012
Condition: Treatment to Prevent Gout
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took this medicine in place of aliperinol for two months, the higher dose. The reading was 7 when I started and 7.5 when I finished. It made my condition worse.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More