Show ratings & reviews for

3.2 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

13 People found this comment helpful

I started LoSeasonique about a week ago. Previously I have had every birth control under the sun: IUD (I was allergic, got hypopigmentation, eczema), Yaz (Had to go on anxiety medication, englufed breasts, horrible acne), DepoProvera (Bled for 6 months straight, severely anemic, depressed), and I am allergic to Latex, and have Endometriosis. Doctor wanted to put me on Lupron and have surgery, I wa...

Most voted negative review

3 People found this comment helpful

My experience with this medication was horrible. I spotted off and on for almost a year during the "active" pills. When I took the "inactive" pills I would never get my period. I felt very moody, sad, and depressed while on this pill. Sadly, I didn't realize until after I changed pills that the LoSeasonique was what was causing me to feel that way. The constant spotting was why I ultimately ch...

Shared reviews and ratings

Cola | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/2/2022
Condition: Endometriosis
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed LoSeasonique after a fun ER visit. I took too many ibuprofen. I was taking 4 of the 200mg ibuprofens every 3 hours. Why, you might ask? I was on my period. 2-3 ibuprofens did not help my cramps in the slightest and neither did acetaminophen. And surprise! That is the perfect recipe for a stomach ulcer! After that incident, I (very, very reluctantly) decided to go to a gynecologist for the first time to get birth control. LoSeasonique was prescribed. One cycle later, I was pain free! It felt like a miracle. Now, there are two minor problems I have had with LoSeasonique so far, and I'm pretty sure that it's common for BC in general: 1. For nearly a year, I spotted every day. A very small amount, but it happened. I have no spotted since then and it has been another year. 2. I tried the placebos once and then never again. I was bleeding like crazy. Before BC, my periods were pretty light and only lasted about 4 days. A couple days later, I was concerned enough to call my gyno and she told me that I can stop the placebo, and that I don't have to have them again. It took 5 DAYS for me to stop bleeding after I started the active pills again. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | Patient
5/17/2015
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Even though I take this at the same exact time every day for the past 7 weeks, I am currently bleeding heavily with bright red clots. Prior to taking this pill I had many tests and biopsies and.ended up with 2 transfusions due to heavy bleeding so I can safely say this isn't nuisance spotting. I wish. Gyn nurse told me to double up doses for a few days. My period got worse. Now I'm going through a super tampon in less than a hour. No stopping of the bleeding in sight. I've been bleeding since May 5 but it started getting really heavy the past 5 days. My nurse said this was common and should sort out in the next few months. I just got back to a normal hemoglobin count and they don't see there is a problem. Well the nurse doesn't think there is a problem. Going to have to call first thing tomorrow and hope I can get worked in before I end up back in hospital for my 3rd transfusionRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
poofypuff | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/20/2013
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking Lo Seasonique for four days. During this time, I have experienced: severe anxiety, palpitations, nausea, headache, increasing depression. I do have a history of anxiety and depression, and went on this drug hoping that it would help those things, seeing as they recur mostly around my period. Unfortunately, within the past four days, they've only been much, much worse, although for many women, this pill is a godsend. I called my physician and she is placing me on another pill tonight, so I'm crossing my fingers. I've never experienced a pill that did these things to me. I did also learn that if you take Claritin (I take generic), there are some mild interactions, such as headache. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/20/2012
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I got on this birth control because I really liked the idea of only having 4 periods a year. I have always had terribly long periods with all sorts of side effects and they'd last for over a week (I was on Ortho Tri Cyclen Lo). When I first started LoSeasonique, I spotted very little for the first week to week and a half. I have been on it for almost 8 months now and I have never had any breakthrough bleeding. What I don't like is that when I DO get my period on LoSeasonique, it lasts for about 8 days. It is very, very light though. I'll even spot for a few days after taking the active pills again. The spotting always does completely stop, though. I have no intent to ever stop this birth control. It really works great for me.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BF3524 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/1/2012
Condition: Disease of Ovaries with Cysts
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This has got to be the worst birth control on the market. I've been spotting for almost two months now, my mood swings are horrible, I've gained weight, my skin broke out, and my breasts are always sore. I'll be ending my first 3 month pack next week. I scheduled a doctor appointment to switch pills to something else. Anything else! I might go back to Yaz, or try to go the natural route. They shouldn't even make this pill.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
birdluv | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/3/2012
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My experience with this medication was horrible. I spotted off and on for almost a year during the "active" pills. When I took the "inactive" pills I would never get my period. I felt very moody, sad, and depressed while on this pill. Sadly, I didn't realize until after I changed pills that the LoSeasonique was what was causing me to feel that way. The constant spotting was why I ultimately changed medication, but I also was tired of just not feeling like myself. I am on a different pill now and have normal cycles and feel great.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Great Pill | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/24/2012
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

As a 35 yr old woman, I have tried many pills to combat my heavy, painful, and frequent periods. This is the only one birth control pill on the market that has worked! And has controlled my periods without side effects. In the begining there was some break through bleeding (a month long of off-on days) and some breast tenderness. Now a year later, I can't imagine taking another drug. Its expensive but when you break out the cost per month and factor in all the pads and tampoons and advil you won't need, it works out well.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
t.e | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/9/2012
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am on my first pack and I have been spotting for the first 2 months, almost every single day... What is the point of having your period every 3 months if you spot every day!? Considering a new method because this is too high maintenance!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/2/2012
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had very poor experiences with Bc in the past. Found out I'm very sensitive to the high hormones meds. My doctor put me on the once a month lodose Bc and I was very happy with it. When I found out about the same med for 3 months at a time I was more than willing. I had some spotting for the first pack and some Pms symptoms around when I would have stopped before. After that my periods are light and only a few days when they're supposed to happen. I love it. Very happy. It's not for everyone but you need to find what combo works for your body. Oh there's also a generic now. Yeah! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sw | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/29/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am currently on my 3 week and a half of my period on this birthcontrol. I have been on lo seasonique for 8 months now. There has been 1 month out of 8 that I have had a normal month, otherwise I have pretty much had a continuous period. This is rediculous.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LoriBug85 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/22/2012
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on LoSeasonique for 6 months now, and I absolutely love it. I have lost 25-30 pounds since I started taking it, have only had two periods in the last six months, and no evident side effects. The ONLY downside for me is that it is so expensive! For one three-month pack it is $188 at my pharmacy, but when I started taking it there was a discount card given to me by my gyno, which made SIX months around $80! Talk about disappointing when I found out they discontinued the discount card! I have never had such a great BC before, I think I'll just have to shell out the cash!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SammyK | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/7/2012
Condition: Endometriosis
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started this for endometriosis & abnormally long periods. I now have 3 week long periods EVERY month. I just stopped taking this because the nauseousness was out of control. Not a huge weight gain, but an obnoxious 5 lbs compared to other types of bc. I will say I have had trouble with every type of bc I've ever tried, but this tops my list. Not to mention I'm super moody! I'm NEVER moody!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lodose | 19-24 | Female | Patient
1/30/2012
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I really have enjoyed taking this medication. It never made me moody like past BC pills. I didn't notice weight gain unlike in the past, I even dropped a few pounds. A reason there are so many comments about bleeding is because it is a low dose. It may not be strong enough for some women, but for those of us who don't need it strong it works great! My periods have been lighter and I love it! only down fall is that it is super expensive!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
KimInGA | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/20/2011
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been using 13-week-cycle birth control pills for 5+ years now - Seasonique and Jolessa. My doctor recently switched me to Lo Seasonique and it's been terrible!! 2 weeks after starting, I began to spot. It never stopped until I took a week off from the pills and let a period come. Then I began taking them again and lasted 3 weeks before nonstop spotting (nearly as heavy as a period) once again forced me to take a week off. I guess you are supposed to just keep taking the pills and deal with 3 months straight of having a period?!? Right, and I would explain that to my husband HOW, exactly? Plus 3 months straight of cramps and PMS-like extreme annoyance -- it just gets better and better! And did I mention the weight gain? The only good thing I can say is that I didn't get pregnant, although it's basically destroyed my sex life with the nonstop bleeding so I'm not sure there was even an opportunity to get pregnant. The minute I can get my doctor's office to call me back, I'm switching to something else, ANYTHING ELSE!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
RuthAnn24 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
12/13/2011
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

So the first pack I loved got my period a week before the placebo week. I still have really bad cramps so it didn't really help that but it was nice only getting one period.. I started the second pack and it was perfect until the second month. I started bleeding at first nothing but a panty liner but then it changed to full on bleeding for 2 months literally 2 months until I got to the placebo week it got really bad with the cramps again.. Then I'm on my third pack now and no bleeding.. I'm going to stick it out with the third pack just to see if my body is finally adjusting.. And I hadn't gotten ahold of my doc pretty much useless in helping non pregnant girls. but I have had some positive side effects I have lost a lot of weight I weighed 127 when I was put on it and now way 114 I'm 5'10 so that alot for me.. my skin is really clear also.. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
HormoneFree | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/5/2011
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

If you are hormone-sensitive, please read! I have tried every pill family on the market and my doctor recently prescribed loseasonique, as I have not yet tried this type. I have experienced not-so-pleasant side effects in the past from the other pills & nuva ring (severe acne, migraines, nausea, melasma, mood swings, fatigue), so I had high hopes for this one. I had been off pills completely for 2.5 months and felt great. I took my first pill from loseasonique at 11pm Sunday evening, and by 11am Monday morning, I was experiencing shortness of breath, dizziness and even blacked out while laying down trying to calm the symptoms. I managed to drive myself to urgent care and get checked out to make sure nothing serious was happening, but I am 100% sure that what I experienced was a result of the pill. I am an athlete, in great health with a balanced diet, and have never before had these "anxiety" type symptoms. Again, everyone reacts differently, but if you experience something similar, please use caution. Doctors might say otherwise, but I believe that only you know your body best. Needless to say, I had enough of a health scare, and I will not be sticking around to see if these symptoms subside. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/1/2011
Condition: Endometriosis
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i've been on 4 different BC pills in the past 2 years, and LoSeasonique has given me the best experience. i have a pretty bad case of endometriosis. i've been on LoSeasonique for almost 5 months now and my first period was a breeze. i had cramps for only one day (usually 3-5) during my period, which only lasted 4 days. my only concern is that when i first started LoSeasonique i started getting awful migraines everyday from the minute i woke up to the minute i went to bed. luckily after about 3 weeks these went away. i get spotting every so often but nothing that's unmanageable. i also noticed that my bloating has almost completely gone down. i've gained a little weight, but only in my breasts (which is perfectly okay with me). so far, LoSeasonique is the best pill i've been on.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/28/2011
Condition: Endometriosis
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kay1991 | 19-24 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/13/2011
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am on my 4th week of LoSeasonique & I love it! I was a bit nervous about starting it because of all the bad things I had read online- but I have experienced very little side effects. I have a history of acne, and I can actually not take my acne medication anymore & just take this BC. I was supposed to begin my period on the 8th of this month- it's now the 13th & I have began spotting last night- but nothing I could complain about. I love the idea of not having a full period for another 2 months & so far my experience has been great! I am unsure as to the effectiveness, but it sure does seem to be working so far!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
truman212 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/8/2011
Condition: Endometriosis
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Will finish second month of Rx today. During the past 4 days, I have started having pre-period, brown discharge and lower back pain normally associated w/ a regular period cycle prior to period beginning. Prior to this symptom, I have been satisfied with the medication. I suffer from both endometriosis and PMDD and was put on the Rx to stop having menstrual cycles and to trigger sexual appetite (prior bcp had wiped it out). Because I am no longer having a period, it has reduced my PMDD related symptoms by 90% (my boyfriend is elated). My sexual drive has increased only 10% though -- hopefully will increase with time. It is possible that I have experienced weight gain, but could also be a lingering effect from my previous bcp and not-so-stellar diet. I have started exercising and changed my diet so will be curious to see if the pounds start coming off. One noticeable side effect I've had is the need to urinate in the middle of the night/early morning (sometimes both). It doesn't matter how little or much liquid intake I've had for the day, or if I urinate before going to bed (which I do), I wake up with pressure on my bladder and the immediate need to urinate with a significant amount of urine produced (I wonder if it is the result of water retention from the pill escaping from my body??) I feel like an 80 year old! This started within 2 days of beginning the Rx and had never experienced prior to. So far, have found very little research or information on this side effect. Will be curious to see how the next few months go.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More