Show ratings & reviews for

2.9 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

4 People found this comment helpful

Works well in low dosage, too large of a dose will lower your defenses and will make you very lethargic.

Most voted negative review

1 People found this comment helpful

My daughter died after being treated with this drug for 14 days along with proponol to keep her in a medically induced coma.

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/23/2020
Condition: Administration of Local Anesthetic Drug
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was given Fentanyl to help with local anesthesia procedure. Still had pain. Had hallucinations during procedure. Memory problems in days following. Never want this drug again. Sad that most anesthesiologist force this drug on you!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
VaB55 | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/23/2015
Condition: Severe Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I found this medication to be extremely effective as a pain killer. It was easily administered, had an immediate effect, took all pain away. Was able to maintain a consciousness or semi-consciousness as required. Was significantly better than percoset/Oxycontin. Took between 25-50 mcg every couple of hours everyday for a week and had no withdrawal symptoms.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
faithprays | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/6/2015
Condition: Regional Anesthesia for Surgery
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was given Fentanyl for a colonoscopy because Demerol makes me very nauseous. The Fentanyl worked well, no nausea, the next morning I had a headache but attributed that to dehydration.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lpwgirl | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
6/23/2015
Condition: Calming of Intubated Patient by Administration of Sedative
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My husband was on a liver transplant list 3 yrs. In 2013 he was in the hospital every month until he died Sept 2013. While in the hospital he fell & hit his head, I was with him. He had a concussion & while in MICU when dr drained blood from his brain, he couldn't sit up for 3 days which caused so much congestion he could hardly breathe & could not get any oxygen. They put him on the 2 different types of nose pieces then intubated him. During this time he was given Morphine IV then he was switched over to fentanyl IV I had never heard of fentanyl & had I known then what I know now I would not have allowed it. One of his drs said this was stronger than morphine and thought he would be in less pain. He went totally unresponsive. I ask another dr to check the amount he was getting & she said it was being administered in a dosage too high & wanted to know who did it. I really believe the morphine would have been better, however I'm not a dr., but I knew my husband & I was with him 24hrs a day. I knew he was going to die if he didn't get a liver, but I'll always believe that all the pain medication he received contributed to cause his life to be shortened. It was days then he died after taking him off the intubator. The ratings need room to add comments.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
stevenaklineaol.com | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/17/2015
Condition: Severe Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Used on 2 ocassions. 1st, broken neck from car accident. 2nd In Hospital broken neck When morphine injections didn't help, Fentanyl removed pain 100% in 15 minutes! Absolutely wonderful pain killer 100 times stronger than Morphine. No side effects whatsoever.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
IXLR8 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/31/2014
Condition: General Anesthesia
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Unfortunately the dose wore off before my procedure was done. I could hear everyone talking in the room during the Bronchoscopy while Dr was taking biopsies of my lung. I will request another general anesthesia for future tests if given a choice. It very well could have been Doctors choice NOT to give me more. No side effects. I was alert in recovery quickly.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/25/2014
Condition: Acute Pain Following an Operation
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

ordered post operatively after total hip replacement. Not effective for pain relief, but did affect me seriously in the head very spaced out

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | Patient
6/22/2014
Condition: Severe Pain
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Vasculitis planter area left foot. Excruciating pain not at all relieved by injection. Three administrations, no difference at all.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
none | 75 or over | Female | Patient
1/11/2014
Condition: General Anesthesia
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It was given for a procedure. It made me very sick with emesis. Also needed a little oxygen because my level dropped & I could not breath deeply.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bonnie | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/22/2013
Condition: Severe Pain
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After 20 years and 2 operations on my spine, I am now using a back brace because I cannot stand up strait. I am sure I have been on every pain medication available. I started using Fentanyl transdermal system a week ago.(transdermal,a patch)25mcg. 1 patch every 72 hours.This is the first medication that gives me 90% relief from the pain,also no nausea, no side effects at all!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/10/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Administered prior or surgery. Confusion, memory loss, three days of inability to speak clearly. Vision problems. Confusion lasted 10 days. Age 78.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/6/2013
Condition: Severe Pain
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug was given to me by the paramedics because i had a dislocated shoulde. It did not do anything but make me woozy, nauseaed and weak. The paramedics even said that it wasnt working and that they havent seen it work for many people. I was still in excrutiating pain after this was administered through IV.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
images0546 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/1/2013
Condition: Calming of Intubated Patient by Administration of Sedative
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My daughter died after being treated with this drug for 14 days along with proponol to keep her in a medically induced coma.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Seriously in PAIN. | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
2/12/2013
Condition: Severe Pain
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Well after 4 back surgeries,now a cervical disc problem, rhemutoid art,osto, ten in my shoulder and hand and multitude of other pain factors that my body had become immuned to over the years my doctor switching me up to monitor my level of pain and choose the level to the medication. if you are not and abuser than this treatment would be helpful with the doctor monitoring as well as one self. it is terrible that we are being held to and old saying about one bad apple. i moved to georgia and was suprised as to the abuse and how if i became worst what would happen to me in getting lost in a shuffle of people who chose to abuse in one way or another. i want to at 50 be healthy and functional with my grandchildren and i cannot do that with constant severe pain some of everywhere and different things. more screening, and better honest doctors are the difference and the key to better treatment and nonabusive patients which is what i am and always have been since 1992 after walking around for one whole year without being able to walk but, work and attend school mother 3 children and still push myself regardless of the pain until one day so serious i was told if i didn't do something right then i would never walk again and never being able to walking again at that time would have been better than the pain i sustained because of my doctor and the then HMO. i will report any abuse as a productive citizen and one of critical pain daily.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/3/2013
Condition: Acute Pain Following an Operation
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was given this med IV during and after minor surgery. I am allergic to many medicines so this was chosen for me. It worked very well, controlling the pain and allowing me to sleep for a short time post-op. I was a little jittery during the day but that is typical for me. Grateful this med worked good for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
KJ | 55-64 | Female | Patient
6/9/2012
Condition: Sedation with Ability to Respond to Stimulation or Speech
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Received this drug along with versad twice for out-patient varicose vein procedures. Found it to be effective- meaning I had no pain and wasn't aware of the procedure but could talk with the Dr. alomost immediately after he finished.. Felt and acted a little goofy for the next 24 hours but recovered well. Only after effects for me were slight nausea and slight headache.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Didi Paano | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/27/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had lumbar facet injections past week; doctor used Fentanyl as an anesthetic. Broke out in severe rash/itching, which has lasted for over a week. Extremely distressful. Medication to stop this is also very scary; i.e., Prednisone and Hydroxyzine. Will NEVER have them use this on me again...not worth the hell I've gone through this past week!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
4/28/2011
Condition: Acute Pain Following an Operation
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My 13 y/o son was given this following a crushing injury to his foot without effectiveness, after they had given him enough to 'knock a horse down' they gave him demerol with relief. After orthopedic surgery to fix his foot,(I told the Dr about the first experience with it) he was again given this, without effectiveness. Transferred to Ped unit from Recovery with blood pressure out of this world and in an extreme amount of pain. They all want me to believe was just a reaction to coming out from under the ansethia.........Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Female | Caregiver
4/3/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
pctman | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/18/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

my husband was given 175mcg for an endoscopy 1 wk ago and has been forgetting major stuff for the last week like forgetting he already started the car and came back inside to look for his keys and turning the shower on and leaving the bathroom forgetting he had turned it on

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More