Show ratings & reviews for

3.3 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

127 People found this comment helpful

Savella works great. But the first week of side effects while titrating are a bit uncomfortable. After that, it's WONDERFUL for energy, pain & brain fog, although it takes a couple of months to see a dramatic improvement. IGNORE any reviews from people who stopped taking it after the first week, because they most likely didn't take it properly & just aren't giving it a real chance to work. Savel...

Most voted negative review

11 People found this comment helpful

TERRIBLE--

Shared reviews and ratings

Meyer | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/24/2022
Condition: Disorder characterized by Stiff, Tender & Painful Muscles
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This will be the first time I’ve ever left a review for anything. I write this in hopes to helps others like me. Short an sweet, I hate meds an head meds even more. I have RA & fibromyalgia, and the pain was unbearable. I am a single mother with two boys an let me tell you if it weren’t for them.. that’s how bad my pain was. Bones felt broken, my neck was horrible an had them cut nerves out trying to stop the pain. I’d go to the doctor for x rays because the pain was so bad but of course just fine, headache so bad I couldn't handle sound or lights. If your reading this you get it! Savella has helped so much!! Now, pain is not gone but lowered my level to tolerable an bones no longer feel broken. It took months before I noticed anything. I ended up taking it before bed because it would make me so sick. Yep throwing up early in the morning but after a while it went to just a upset belly to not bothering my stomach much at all. It changed my hormones some, garlic an onions, the smell makes me want to vomit. I say this because for a while it sucks with the side effects, but you’ll start to notice your body adapting an you’ll be able to go higher in the dose. Still had to take both doses at night for a long while. Now I can take one in the morning an one at night. My food still sucks but I can walk again, I can think again an I can be part of life on most days. Over all if there is nothing left which was where I was, I’d try it an find a way to do it for a while an take it at the same time everyday before giving up on it.. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
WN | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/11/2022
Condition: Disorder characterized by Stiff, Tender & Painful Muscles
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The first day I started the low dose of savella, it made my belly burn so extremely that I lied down, woke up vomiting from the acid belly burn. So I stopped. My fibromyalgia has been debilitating. I was in bed 18 hours a day! And still very exhausted when awake, foggy. I decided to try the savella again, with yogurt to coat my belly. For the first seven days my symptoms got worse. But on day seven I woke w/o fatigue and the pain was tolerable for the first time in years! So far the past 3 days have felt like a miracle! This is really helping so much! Very life changing! Finally a Dr that listened, and a med that works w/o needing opiates! Yay! Just a miracle so far! If anything changes I'll change my post! Try it, if you have fibromyalgia, try it. Same time everyday, eat with it, and be consistent! I had to set alarms for my morning and evening dose bc I was sleeping so much, so just be consistent. It will start working just out of the blue!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tamara | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/28/2022
Condition: Disorder characterized by Stiff, Tender & Painful Muscles
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

You have to take it for a bit to get the best results..and titrate up slowly and eat before taking it..I was literally screaming at night trying to reposition and i had to have help getting out of been the pain was just unbearable..my pain most days now is a 1-2 ..if i overdo or cold weather a 3..i only take half the prescribed dose have for 3 years and still controls the pain..I did not want to take the full dose so I had room to up my dosage later if pain worsens ..yes first week a little rough but well worth it..another note if you have fibromyalgia it will work within 24 hours ..I fought my doctor for over a year before I gave in and tried it..wish I had listened ..I have alot of underlying conditions and it does not bother them at all ??Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/9/2022
Condition: Disorder characterized by Stiff, Tender & Painful Muscles
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I just been on it two days and can already tell a difference. The first day I took it I experienced Nausea. The next morning I was actually able to get up and walk almost decent. My doctor started me off on a low dose and then I will increase in a week. Don't know what the future of this medication will be for me but I can tell you these last 2 days have been awesome energy and pain are both doing better.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Linda | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
6/6/2021
Condition: Disorder characterized by Stiff, Tender & Painful Muscles
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took Savella for over 5 years and it was a great help. For me not as good as Lyrica but close, and more affordable. As time went on I complained to my PA of being tired. This seemed to slowly grow worse but we had no idea why... I'm sure she attributed to the fibro but never said. After reading an article I decided to try Cymbalta (which made me feel I was going crazy) and to my amazement within a few days I had energy big time. It's obvious now the Savella slowly caused the lack of energy to worsen, so slowly that it was not noticed or cause traceable. TG that Lyrica finally has generic available, it's my lifeline.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Not happy | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month |
5/27/2021
Condition: Disorder characterized by Stiff, Tender & Painful Muscles
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Gave me terrible like vertigo, I could not turn my head without getting a dizzy feeling. Also made me moody and I sweated profusely.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/28/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’m using this medication for only a month for fibromyalgia I just hope it works ..

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sunshine | 45-54 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/26/2020
Condition: Disorder characterized by Stiff, Tender & Painful Muscles
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is my miracle drug. It has given me my life back. I was in so much oain and had lost coordination and fine motor skills. I was using supports such as a wheel chair and cane to assit my walking and getting around for teaching and shopping, and any type of activity requiring longer standing. In 3 days on the meds, 90% of my pain and disfunction vanished. I have had no side affects that are noticable. I recommend anyone with similar problems at least try it. I am no longer on any other opiads or painkillers. I am forever grateful for Savella. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/4/2019
Condition: Disorder characterized by Stiff, Tender & Painful Muscles
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had lupus and fibromyalgia for the last 30 years. I finally had to retire 4 years ago because I couldn't work anymore. I have been taking pain meds for years. My doctor suggested savella and it has helped so much. It has given me my life back. I was even able to cut down on my pain meds.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
PLALS | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/3/2018
Condition: Disorder characterized by Stiff, Tender & Painful Muscles
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

So far the side effects have been frightening. I feel aggressive and short tempered. I’ve been on this for 10 days. I plan to consult with my physician as to whether this should be temporary or if I should stop now.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jcarey | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/29/2017
Condition: Disorder characterized by Stiff, Tender & Painful Muscles
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a severe side effect to this medicine. broke out in hives, blistering skin inside my mouth, confusion, severe dizziness, I would not recommend this medicine to anyone.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sandy | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/7/2017
Condition: Disorder characterized by Stiff, Tender & Painful Muscles
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on this meditation for 3 days, will never take it again it should be taken off the market. It caused me to have a brain bleed, went the Drs. asked if I had taken any new meds, I said yes, told them and they all went wide eyed, they said this has been happening a lot. Now I'm in worse shape then I was before taking savella

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Shieldsgma | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/27/2016
Condition: Disorder characterized by Stiff, Tender & Painful Muscles
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Sooooo nauseated. On only 1 per day because of the nausea. Supposed to be on 4 per day. Can't tolerate it. Even with Zofran it's terrible. No change in pain but thats probably because I'm taking so little.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BONNIE | 65-74 | Female | Patient
9/25/2016
Condition: Disorder characterized by Stiff, Tender & Painful Muscles
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I WAS PUT ON FULL DOSAGE RIGHT AWAY NO GOOD. SUFFERED BY THE 5 DAY, DIZZY, FLUSHING, HEADACHES, HIGH BLOOD PRESSURE, SWOLL.EN FEET. BLURRED VISION, FAST HEARTBEAT I WENT TO 7 DOCTORS NO ONE COULD FIGURE OUT WHAT WAS WRONG WITH ME I FIGURED ME OUT. I'M WORKING WITH MY DOCTOR TO WEAN MYSELF OFF THIS TERRIBLE DRUG . NOW THAT I'M DOWN TO 12.5 MG A DAY I STAY ITCHY ALL THE TIME. I CAN'T WAIT UNTIL THE DAY COMES WHE I'M COMPLETELY OFF IT. AND I HOPE I HAVE NO OTHR SIDE EFFECTS

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jess | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/5/2015
Condition: Disorder characterized by Stiff, Tender & Painful Muscles
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This helps me more then anything else i have taken. Im currently taking 100 mg a day. So far so good!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dogwood | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/22/2015
Condition: Disorder characterized by Stiff, Tender & Painful Muscles
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have taken 6.5 wks & am up to 200 mg/day. Savella replaced cymbalta. Pain levels WORSE. insomnia, face flush, sweating, dry mouth & dry eyes. Mouth so dry I got horrible mouth ulcer. Eyes miserable. Neuro wants me to stay on for 3 mos to give it a chance to work & side effects to subside. They are getting worse. I will give it 1 more week. Do not think I can deal with side effects with absolutely no pain relief. Glad it is helping a few people. I'm 67 & have had fibromyalgia 40 yrs so I have tried almost everything. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/22/2015
Condition: Disorder characterized by Stiff, Tender & Painful Muscles
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year |
1/25/2015
Condition: Disorder characterized by Stiff, Tender & Painful Muscles
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Love Savella for my Fibromyalgia pain! But had to stop after a year from developing heart palpitations and SEVERE sweating. Wish I could find something that works as well as Savella without the side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
justmeandb | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/2/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Savella for Fibro has been my wonder drug!! It doesn't work for everyone though.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Savella | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/7/2014
Condition: Disorder characterized by Stiff, Tender & Painful Muscles
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have fibromyalgia. My brain was always hazy and I could sleep 14 hrs and still felt dead tired. I noticed within a couple weeks of taking it that I could remember things and felt good when I woke up after 6 hrs of sleep. It has been a great drug for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More